Demonstration: Monday 17 @ Exhibit Annex Table 2
Heat 1: Monday 18 @ Wintergreen
Heat 2: Wednesday 10 @ Wintergreen
Heat 3: Friday 9 @ Wintergreen
Heat 4: Friday 19 @ Wintergreen
Semifinal/Final: Sunday 9 @ Wintergreen
As we make the move to Seven Springs, there are also changes in store for March Madness. Opening up the convention to the full week and dropping pre-cons allows us to move a heat of March Madness to the first Monday. Keep in mind that our friendly GM is not going to run five heats. It is a Final Four after all, which means the heats have shifted slightly. So, do not wander in half-asleep in the middle of the week to find that you are the only hoopster on the parquet floor. You are hereby forewarned: Check the schedule!
On the plus side, I have generated a number of new teams to celebrate the move into a new arena. They will fit perfectly into our existing March Madness format, and include a few nearby squads to add a dash of local flavor.
In case you have not played MMS at WBC any time in the past decade or so …
Again this year, we will stay away from pre-generated brackets in order to have everyone playing immediately and less downtime between rounds. The teams will continue to be organized so that they compete in their traditional regions - UCLA in the west, Indiana in the Midwest, etc. If we are fortunate enough to have say, 15 or 16 players in a heat, pre-generated brackets can still work. What I intend is, after all teams have been selected, to re-do the brackets if there is not such an easily bracketable number. This is a very simple procedure, as all teams will be pre-ranked going into the regional -- they just wont be pre-assigned to play seed #5 or #12 or whatever.
So, regardless of whether we have 18 or 12 or 20 players pr heat, I will match all of them in the first round - which means that instead of the top seeds immediately getting a bye [or worse, multiple byes], #1 will play the bottom seed, #2 will play next-to-lowest, and so forth. Lower seeds that spring upsets will still be rewarded with their quarter of the bracket opening up.
Since we have brackets - albeit not pre-generated ones - there will not be excessive ducking. If anything, ducking opponents or teams will be less than usual, since a player will not know for sure which team he will play in Round 1 until all of the picks are made, which if anything, should speed up the picks. By the way, the GM will no longer allow the practice of dropping down to select a later pick. If you are picking third, you are picking third, I do not care if you select the 20th seed.
After team selections are completed, the GM will finish the brackets, and off we go. If byes become necessary, we do them according to WBC rules [former champs first, etc]. The key is that we will inevitably have fewer byes, which keeps things moving quickly. And more importantly, we get everyone playing from the start - more fun, less down time.
This procedure has worked well for more years than I can easily count, so I am sticking to it. The Final Four will once again be scheduled at the convenience of the players if possible, with the Sunday times serving only as defaults. Good luck.
Additional Prizes: The GM usually awards a basketball-related item such as a book to the winner.
12.4) What happens to cards removed by a Withdrawn Strategy Card?
A.) They are returned to the player's hand.
12.7) Can a Coaching Move negate an opposing Timeout re-roll of a scoring resolution?
A.) No. The scoring resolution, including all re-rolls, must be completed before the Player whose turn it is may take a Coaching Move.
12.8) If both players have a Timeout available and the potential need to use it, which player has to declare if he is using a Timeout first?
A.) The resolving player must declare if he is using a Timeout first.
12.9) What is the penalty for an F shooter who gets into foul trouble since he cannot lose a letter grade?
A.) The player he is guarding is eligible for a +1 die roll modifier.
13) How many coaching moves do you get in overtime? Where is the timer set?
A.) Take the original coaching rating minus all technical fouls on the coach and divide the result by two, rounding up. Clock is set at 5 minutes.
14.1) Box and One cards state they can be used once per half. If I have two of these cards, may I use each card once per half?
A.) No. The Box and One effects can only be employed once per half, no matter how many such cards you have. Furthermore, the card is considered used as soon as it is played - even if withdrawn before the position is resolved.
14.2.5 How is the Key Sixth Man card used?
1) If the Key Sixth Man is already played on a position which suffers a foul, it eliminates the effect of the foul during that resolution.
2) If Key Sixth Man is played immediately after suffering a second foul, it can be used to prevent fouling out (though it would not affect the scoring resolution for that position). This tactic can be prevented if the player resolving the position immediately takes a Coaching Move to prevent the immediate response.. The card cannot be played on a position that has already been resolved in that half.
3) Key Sixth Man may be played on a position face-up to remove a foul at that position, in which case, the Key Sixth Man card is discarded and the foul removed. However, this requires that there be a slot available - if there are already two cards on that position, the card cannot be played there unless one of the other cards is removed. Playing the Key Sixth Man card requires that the player use a normal move or coaching move, just as when normally playing any other card. However, playing the Key Sixth Man on a position and subsequently discarding it does not prevent the play of other cards on that position in that half; i.e. the limit is two cards on a position at a time, not a half.
14.2.6) Does the 4-point bonus for Clutch Free Throws apply to an already existing foul? To a foul that is immediately removed by a Key Sixth Man or Zone Defense? To a foul that is negated by a Timeout roll?
A.) No. Yes. No, unless the re-roll also results in a foul on the opposing player.
14.3.6 & 14.3.7) Can a Controlling The Boards and Boxing Out affect other positions before the position they are played on is resolved? After?
A.) Yes. No.
NOTE: A Clutch Free Throws card is never negated, just as it states on the card. This is true even if the opponent has played a Box and One card on that position. Of course, the opponent must foul for the Clutch Free Throws card to score any points.
For the latest rules clarifications, see http://www.nktelco.net/bdmonnin/mms_rules.html