Trial Ballot Results
WBC Orphans/Preliminary Event List
WBC Tournament Previews
WBC Scheduling Tools
BPA Open Gaming
BPA Game Library
WBC Preregistration
Icon Key

Kremlin (KRM) Email GM Updated June 30, 2023
Class B: Beginning Players Welcome You may play if you have read the rules, played previously, or participated in a scheduled demo. Be on time for the scheduled demonstration. The GM will remain for only 15 minutes if no one is present.
Schedule GM: Steve Cuccaro (16th Year)
Round Day Start Time Duration Location
Demo 1/1Tu171Exhibit Hall Annex Table #8
Heat 1/3Mo93Grand Ballroom
Heat 2/3Tu213Grand Ballroom
Heat 3/3We163Grand Ballroom
2023 Tournament Format  Heats Most Wins - Points

Laughing at the Cold War …

What’s the best part about playing KREMLIN? Hard to say…There’s nothing quite like having the KGB chief purge half of the Politburo, except maybe killing them by rolling low on the health die. A trial that sends the Party Chief to Siberia can give you a warm glow, too. It’s all good.

The WBC Kremlin tournament will be run according to the Advanced Rules from the 1988 Avalon Hill edition. For those who have the Jolly Roger version which came out in 2014, the basic and advanced Avalon Hill rules can be found at Boardgame Geek (the exact path may differ, so I suggest using your favorite search engine with the string "boardgamegeek kremlin rules" to find where to download copies of the Basic and Advanced rules.

There are several differences between the AH and JR rules, the most important being the victory conditions:

  1. The first player whose faction gets three waves at the October Parade wins.
  2. At the end of Phase 6 of any turn, if there are fewer than eight Politburo members, the player controlling the highest active Politburo member wins. (If this Politician is uncontrolled, no player wins.)
  3. At the end of the 5th phase of Turn 10.5, the player who controls the Party Chief wins. (If the Party Chief is uncontrolled, no player wins.)

Over the years, we have developed a set of House Rules on the exact meanings of the various Intrigue cards and a list of errata and clarifications for the rules themselves. This will be made available at the tournament, along with a summary of the differences the GM has found between the AH and JR rules (no promises that this is complete!). If you'd like these documents to be emailed to you before the tournament, let the GM know by email and it will happen.

The Tournament is Heats Most Wins - Points and this year there will be three heats, after which six players will advance to the Final round.

We will use the following point system to determine place in a Heat game:

  • Each turn a controlled Party Chief waves in the Parade Phase +4 points
  • Each turn a controlled Party Chief fails to wave (any reason) +1 point
  • The Party Chief position is vacant or uncontrolled in the Parade Phase 0 points

All players tied for second with a non-zero score will be credited with a second-place finish. In the case that only the winner of a Heat game has a non-zero score, no other players will gain points for Final eligibility. (A winner may have a lower score than an opponent; they are still the winner. The highest-scoring opponent will be awarded second place, etc.)

Additional bonus points will be used as tiebreakers for the Final. After the winner is determined, all players will reveal any remaining hidden Influence on the Politburo, and the player with the most Influence for each position will gain 1 point (ties are not broken, so multiple players may earn points from the same position). Any remaining ties will be broken by high die roll.


  1. Most Wins (e.g., total in all heats entered)
  2. Total Points – Players earn the following pints in each heat they entered:
    • 1st Place - 1,000 points
    • 2nd Place - 100 points
    • 3rd Place - 10 points
    • 4th Place - 1 points
    • All other places - 0 points
    • e.g. player has a 1st, 2nd, and 4th in three heats: total points would be 1,101
  3. GM Specific Tie-breaker - None Specified
  4. High dice roll.