What’s old is new again …
Given that the past few years have been the most successful
in the history of this tournament, the format will generally
stay the same. This includes bidding for sides, which worked
well last year.
We will play the Basic version of the game with no optional or
advanced rules. The Third Edition rules from the Phalanx version
of the game are the default used for this tournament. However,
anyone who has the GDW 2nd edition (released in 1989), may also
use that game set, as the Basic game is the same.
The tournament will be Single Elimination with a Mulligan Round.
Winners of the Mulligan Round are excused from the first round
of Single Elimination play, but should check in with the GM to
advise continuation in Round 2. We will use the 1861 scenario
throughout the tournament. This scenario begins July 1861 and
runs through June 1862, for a total of ten turns.
Sides for each match will be determined by bidding Victory Points.
Players will bid for the right to play their preferred side.
Each player will roll one die. The player with the higher die
roll will make the opening bid. That player will state the number
of Victory Points he is offering and the side he wishes to play.
For example, “I bid 1 to play the Union.” An initial
bid of 0 is allowed. The opposing player must either accept or
raise the bid for the same stated side. Players alternate making
bids until one player accepts the bid. The last “Victory
Point” bid will be deducted from the bidders “Army
Maximum Size” at the end of the last turn. As a reminder,
the “Army Maximum Size” is used to determine the victor
in the game. Therefore, the bid will not have any impact if an
automatic victory is achieved during the course of the game.
1861 Scenario: The Union player wins if, at the end of the Scenario,
his Army Maximum is at least 5 > the Confederate Army Maximum;
otherwise, the Confederate player wins. In addition, the Confederate
player gains an automatic victory if he captures Washington,
D.C. or if the Confederate Army Maximum ever surpasses the Union.
If either of these conditions is met, game play stops immediately
and the Confederate player wins.
Rules Reminders & Clarifications:
* Strictly speaking, a cavalry jump cannot use naval movement
(although a Union naval jump can be done by cavalry, if the other
requirements for naval jumps have been met)
* Similarly, cavalry movement via river may not be combined with
any other type of movement, land or rail (you’d be surprised
how often people forget this one)
* Cavalry cannot jump over enemy cavalry (it doesn’t matter how
much cavalry you have vs. your opponent’s horsemen—one unit
of enemy cavalry is enough to stop you from jumping over them)
* As a courtesy, I recommend both players place cavalry units
on top of their stacks, as it makes identifying where enemy cavalry
are much easier (and speeds play as well)
* Cavalry cannot jump over an occupied space into another occupied
One of the biggest mistakes that players make when they play
AHD is to assume they control a space immediately after the combat
is over. That isn’t the case. Control comes at the end of your
Player Turn. So, you don’t control a recruiting space until after
you recruit for that turn. So, it is convenient to think of the
Turn sequence this way:
1. Union Movement
2. Union Combat
3. Union Promotions
4. Union Recruiting
5. Union Control
Followed by Confederate Turn in the same order
Exactly when control occurs is particularly critical in the early
stages of the game, where both players tend to move into Kentucky.
The Union won’t be able to recruit immediately into Louisville
the turn they capture it, nor will new Rebel forces spring immediately
from say, Bowling Green. Thus, when you make advances, you’ll
need to consider how much time (at least one additional turn)
it will take to consolidate your position—and to possibly deny
your opponent his increased recruiting base.
Cavalry and Control:
* Cavalry does control the space they end the turn in but only
while the cavalry unit is there. When the cavalry leaves, the
space reverts to its original color.
* What does this mean? It means that if a Confederate cavalry
unit takes Chicago, for example, and then moves out on a following
turn, the Windy City goes back to Union control. The only way
for the Confederates to hold Chicago (or Pittsburgh, or any other
Union city) is to 1) take it with an infantry unit, or 2) control
it temporarily with cavalry, then recruit into it but the latter
only works in cities such as Chillicothe or Cairo, which have
Confederate recruiting values.
* This same rule also affects Neutral cities, such as Louisville,
which revert to neutral after the cavalry leaves.
* When you move a unit onto another entrenched unit, the new
unit is NOT entrenched
* If you choose to pay an extra march to entrench all of the
units in the space, make sure they can legally do so. Each unit
may only spend two marches per turn, and that includes entrenchment
* If all units are in a permanent fort, such as Vicksburg or
Washington, they are automatically in the fort; but this is different
than a non-permanent entrenchment
* Finally, don’t forget that if you choose to entrench in a non-recruiting
city, it costs two marches, not one
* Units which are entrenched should be under the entrenchment
marker, and those not entrenched on top (or at least, however
you keep track of this, be fair and clear about it to your opponent)
* This works slightly differently than entrenchments
* Units attacking over a river are at a disadvantage: The first
two turns of the battle, defending units add one to their firepower
* Defending units get this bonus, even if they come in for the
second round as reinforcements (assume they are on the correct
side of the river)
* After two rounds, the bonus goes away, regardless of how the
battle seems to be going
* If a defending unit is behind a river and entrenched, it does
get both bonuses
The GM will provide a Civil War
book to the winner and runnerup.