Updated April 22, 2015

    10    21
    15     16    
       12    18

  Limerock    Wheatland      Terrace 5 

Tom DeMarco, NJ

2014 Champion

2nd: Peter Stein, OH

3rd: Dave Dentel, VA

4th: Brandon Buchanan, NC

 5th: Marc Houde, VA

 6th: John Keating, IN

Event History
1991    Jim Fuqua      25
1992    Sean Cousins      20
1993    Jim Fuqua      49
1994    Caleb Cousins      42
1995    Sean Cousins      36
1996    Sean Cousins      20
1997    Tracy Graf      46
1998    Chris Geggus      46
1999    Bruce Glassco     38
2000    Tom McCorry     45
2001    David Buchholz     51
2002    Steve Cuccaro     50
2003    Llew Bardecki     56
2004    Steve Cuccaro     48
2005    Steve Cuccaro     40
2006    Pete Stein     39
2007     Pete Stein     33
2008     Lee Rodrigues     34
2009     Ewan McNay     37 
2010    Pete Stein     41
2011    Bob Jamelli     41
2012    Dave Dentel     34
2013    John Keating     38
2014    Tom DeMarco     42

Steve Cuccaro, MD
2015 GM



Laughing at the Cold War ...

What's the best part about playing KREMLIN? Hard to say. There's nothing quite like having the KGB chief purge half of the Politburo, except maybe killing them by rolling low on the health die. A trial that sends the Party Chief to Siberia can give you a warm glow, too. It's all good.

By popular demand (as determined by polling the 2014 tourmanent participants), the 2015 tournament will be run according to the Advanced Rules from the 1988 Avalon Hill edition. For those who have the Jolly Roger version which came out in 2014, the basic and advanced Avalon Hill rules can be found at these links:

There are several differences between the AH and JR rules, the most important being the victory conditions:
1) The first player whose faction gets three waves at the October Parade wins.
2) At the end of Phase 6 of any turn, if there are fewer than eight Politburo members, the player controlling the highest active Politburo member wins. (If this Politician is uncontrolled, no player wins.)
3) At the end of the 5th phase of Turn 10.5, the player who controls the Party Chief wins. (If the Party Chief is uncontrolled, no player wins.)

Over the years, we have developed a set of House Rules on the exact meanings of the various Intrigue cards and a list of errata and clarifications for the rules themselves. This will be made available at the tournament, along with a summary of the differences the GM has found between the AH and JR rules (no promises that this is complete!). If you'd like these documents to be emailed to you before the tournament, let the GM know by email and it will happen.

ADVANCEMENT TIEBREAKERS: In Multiple Entry, Single Elimination events for multi-player games, players possibly qualify for Single Elimination play in the next round by winning any of up to four preliminary Heats. Occasionally, players may advance without winning a heat. Players can enter one or more Heats without limit. All events for most multi-player games consist of three rounds; an opening Round consisting of two to four Preliminary Heats, a semifinal and a Final. The semifinal round will advance a predesignated optimum number of players to fill the second round; i.e., 25 players for a 5-player game, 16 players for a 4-player game, etc. but in all cases will advance no more than half of all players thst participated in the Preliminaries. If insufficient players advance to warrant a semifinal round, the scheduled semifinal will instead become the Final.

Heats: Most Wins (HMWG) - Standard tiebreakers used to trim the field or identify alternates to complete the field, as listed below in the following order:

  1. Most Wins (e.g., total in all heats entered);
  2. Win in first Heat entered;
  3. Win in second Heat entered;
  4. Win in third Heat Entered;
  5. Win in fourth Heat Entered;
  6. GM specific tie-breaker, most waves (then to break any tie here, most wave attempts);
  7. Average finish in all heats entered (e.g., a 2nd and two 3rds = 2.67 and beats two 2nds and two 4ths = 3); and
  8. High dice roll.

Kremlin has no rules for ranking players other than the winner, but for the purposes of the average finish tiebreaker in the Heats, I will assign ranks based on the GM tiebreaker. In the Final round, the following chart will be used to determine 2nd through 6th place. Points are to be awarded to each player based on the following:

* Each successful wave: 4 points
* Each failed wave: 1 point
** if it would have been a 3rd wave: +1 point
* Each Parade Phase that your Party Chief is in the Cure: 1 point

If the game is not decided by waves:

* If at anytime on the last turn you control a Politician that is:
** Party Chief: 10 points
** In the 1st level Politburo: 3 points each

Points are cumulative. In a Final decided on waves, ties will be broken by counting the points for Politician control, or failing that, randomly.

 GM      Steve Cuccaro (10th Year]   NA    410-294-3127 

View the Icon Key | Return to Preview List