In a distant galaxy, far, far away
Returning after a one-year hiatus to the Trial ranks thanks
to a combination of the 2006 membership vote and Legacy rules
changes which thinned out the competition ...
Join the few, the proud, the hopelessly outclassed -- Princess
Ryan's Star Marines! Tired of sci-fi games where everybody has
the body of Schwarznegger, the brains of McGiver, the savvy of
Bond and dresses like a '57 Buick with lasers (and fins?) Then
join up with Princess Ryan's Star Marines, a group of third-rate
auxilliaries from a backwater planet (Earth) who, armed with
war surplus equipment are about to attempt to rescue a young
princess from the clutches of the evil (or at least improperly
motivated) Black Guards!
As a marine you are part of a cooperative team of up to five
players who will fight side by side against the dastardly and
crafty -- but lonely -- Black Guard player. As marines you will
venture forward through an ever-changing map filled with minefields,
fire bases, jungles of death and -- shudder -- Interstellar Shopping
Malls and Theme Parks. Fight against time and the varying array
of usually superior guards to reach the Royal Suite for that
last battle, if you can. As you advance shoulder to shoulder,
however, remember to look behind you -- for although all five
marine players have to cooperate to make it to the end, only
can win the glory (and the game).
A game routinely ends in about two hours. Play is fast, furious
and fun -- and there are no dice. The game is very easy to learn.
The juniors and non-juniors play by the same rules. The Juniors
play on Friday at 9 in Chase in a different tournament only to
give the adults a fighting chance. Everybody plays two games
and the winner is based on total points scored in those two games.
The following official FAQ and errata from the old Avalon
Hill will apply:
4.5 When Eric Sanne uses his skill to negate the flag
value of a reinforcement card, does it also negate the effects
of the other attributes of that card such as Hold, Kill, etc?
4.5 Can Bob Liebl cancel the reinforcement draw of
an "S" card? A. Yes.
4.5 When Chris Border-Bruegge uses her skill to see
a hidden Guard, does any Guard summoned by a Reinforcement icon
on that hidden Guard have to be revealed before the Marines commit
their weapons? A. No.
4.8/7.32 Does the "Replace with site from Network
after one skirmish" icon mean that even after winning the
skirmish, the marines must fight another skirmish on the new
site before advancing? A. No. If the Marines win the original
skirmish, the icon has no effect whatsoever. If the Marines lose
the original skirmish, that site is replaced with another from
the Network before the Guard checks to see which of the two 7.32
5. Can Dispatches be played at any time? A. Yes,
although some have to be played in combination with other cards
or circumstances to allow their use.
5.2 Is there any order of play when playing skirmish
cards? A. No ... it is a free for all.
6.3 Does the "one extra Guard card can be drawn
from the Barracks as a Reinforcement on this site" icon
limit the Guards to one, and only one, Reinforcement on this
site? A. No.
8.4 Can you do a Ballistic Insertion from Drop Zone
Alpha? A. Yes
8.42 When the Marines lose a Ballistic insertion, can
they still move forward from their current location behind the
insertion site since they did not lose the skirmish there? A.
Yes - assuming they were otherwise able to move forward from
there before the insertion.
8.42 When doing a two column Insertion jump, do the
marines fight two skirmishes if they lose both checks? A.
No. If the first check fails, there is no need for the second
8.42 Does the Radar Site require a two-column jump
to check two times or four times for an unopposed landing? A.
8.43 Once the marines have safely landed, can any of
the marines fight in the eventual skirmish in that site? A.
Yes. Only the opposed landing check skirmish must be fought
by only the landing party.
9.4 Are the Repair Bay cards shuffled before or after
adding them to the cards in the Weapons Locker? A. After.
10.2 What is the maximum amount of weapons a Marine
can have during Do or Die; two or four? A. Two. Promotion
Points cannot be used to buy weapons during a partial regroup.
If the Marines win on the "Climb Mount Yamaguchi" site,
can they reveal and move the contents of all remaining On Deck
circles or only those of columns 13 and 14? A. 13 and
Are the captives freed after the initial win on the Prisoner
Pens site? A. Yes.
Is the Royal Suit unable to draw a Reinforcement in the first
skirmish? A. No. The reference to Reinforcements in this
site means only that all subsequent skirmishes here after the
first will automatically receive a Reinforcement.
McLaughlin will also offer a Juniors tournament on Saturday
at 9 AM in the Heritage Room for those 12 and under. See http://www.boardgamers.org/yearbkex/jnrpge.htm