we the people [Updated April 2006]

wtp     
 
   
    9   12   14   16   19    21

  Lampeter

Chris Byrd, CT

2005 Champion

2nd: George Young, VT

3rd: Paul Gaberson, PA

4th: Rob Taylor, MI

5th: Jim Eliason, IA

6th: John Faella, RI
Event History
1994    Andy Lewis      60
1995    Roger Taylor      56
1996    George Seary      54
1997    Thomas Drueding      40
1998    James Pei      40
1999    Marvin Birnbaum     32
2000    Brian Mountford     45
2001    Brian Mountford     32
2002    Marvin Birnbaum     54
2003    George Young     41
2004     John Poniske     43
2005     Chris Byrd     43

AREA Ratings:

GM: Don Chappell

A More Perfect Union

We The People... has always had a strong presence at WBC for good reasons. It is the fastest to play and simplest to learn of the ever expanding genre of Card Driven Games (CDG). So if you've ever wondered about CDG's, this will be your best chance to give it a try. Both newcomers and our returning competitors continue to be drawn by WTP's uncomplicated rules and fast play (games are expected to be decided within two hours); just the thing we all need after a week of coping with the mind numbing details of more complex games. But the real attraction of WTP is the fact that luck plays an astonishingly small role in the outcome -- it is entirely possible for a player with a well executed strategy to lose every single battle and still win the war. If that doesn't remind one of the American Revolution, nothing will! On the other hand, the turn of a single card can either derail a fragile strategy or reward a daring chance and thus generate excitement levels equal to any game.

WTP is a coached event, but within limits. Anyone wishing to play competitively should consider the event to be a Class A event. Those wishing to learn from scratch will be enthusiastically accommodated. It is the GM's policy to use WTP to introduce CDGs in the WBC environment where players can have a "try before buy" experience. However, rookies WILL NOT be put in a situation where they will slow up or otherwise interfere with competitive play and the enjoyment of the event by our cherished veterans. The way we achieve this balance is that concurrent with the play of the first round, the GM and approved volunteer assistants will teach the game to all newcomers. The newcomers will not get credit for this first round regardless of whether or not they win their learning game. Those that successfully demonstrate to the GM that they will be able to keep up with the competitive pace will be inserted into the second Swiss round (see below). Historically players with three victories in the four Swiss rounds have advanced to the Single Elimination rounds, so it is mathematically possible, but unlikely, that a talented rookie could advance to the SE brackets. The remaining coached players will stay in their own bracket, receive coaching for the remainder of the event, and while not eligible for BPA Laurels, they will be eligible for the Minuteman Militia Prize, provided by the GM, as the best Citizen-Wargamer to answer the call to arms. Rookies are also eligible for the WTP Sportsman Nominee award.

We The People uses the Swiss - Elimination format. A sufficient number of opening rounds are played (probably four but the exact number is determined by the number of entrants) to fill a bracket of eight quarter-finalists. In the Swiss format portion, players score two points for a victory and one point for a draw. After each round, players with like records are randomly matched for the subsequent round. Once the field has been trimmed so that eight players have like scores, they will begin the Single Elimination portion of the tournament. Three SE rounds will result in a champion.

In each game, players will bid for sides. Bidding is a two stage process. First, each player will take a PC counter and, covering it with one hand, will turn up either the American side or the British side. The side facing UP corresponds to the side the player wishes to play. If the PCs show opposite sides, then the players each get to play their desired side and no bonus PCs are used. If both players wish to play the same side, then they secretly write on their 'Player Record Form' (GM provided) a bid in the form of the number of bonus PCs that they give their opponent to play the opposite side. For example: Bill and Tony both prefer to play the Americans. Bill thinks he can still win as the American if he gives Tony 3 bonus British PCs, so he writes "British + 3" on his form. For his part, Tony is convinced that he has the perfect American plan and is really unwilling to play the British. He writes "British +7" on his form. Because he is willing to give up 7 PCs to Bill's 3 PCs, Tony "wins" the bid and will get to try out his American perfect plan. Bill will play the British and, immediately after the American Committees of Correspondence PCs are placed, he will get to place the 7 British PCs Tony offered.

Three important details: First, if both player's bid the same number of PCs then the players roll a single die to randomly determine the side. The player with the higher roll may choose his side and the bid is used by the appropriate player. Secondly, the bonus PCs must be placed either in a port OR linked to a friendly PC regardless of which side the PCs belong to, i.e. BONUS American PCs can not be "paratrooped" anymore than the British. (This prohibition on American PC's does NOT apply to the Committees of Correspondence PCs nor during the course of the game.) Lastly, during the Single Elimination portion of the tournament, the player receiving PCs is awarded the victory in case of a draw. If during this stage of the tournament, both players bid zero or bid for opposite sides, then a draw will be adjudicated by a tie breaker rule distributed to all quarterfinalists at the start of the SE phase of the tournament.

Seeding for the initial round of the Swiss portion of the tournament will be semi-random. That is it will be random but adjusted to ensure that (in order): (a) players who frequently play each other at home are not paired, (b) semi-finalists from last year are not paired, and (c) former champions are not paired. Byes (if necessary) will be offered (but need not be accepted) according to the BPA bye precedence rules found in the GM Guidelines. There will be no byes during the Single Elimination portion of the tournament; the GM reserves the right to place any qualifying player from the Swiss rounds into the bracket as needed to replace drops.

Procedural rules (e.g. die rolling, deck shuffling, slow play) will be posted on the Kiosk and promulgated at the tournament. To facilitate player understanding of the game before the tournament begins, some interpretations of the game's rules are provided below. Additional questions should be posted on the ConsimWorld WTP discussion group where designer Mark Herman will either answer the question or check the answer if it is provided by another experienced player.

The GM provides additional prizes in the form of books about the American Revolution: The John Paul Jones Award to the Sportsmanship nominee. The Minuteman Militia Award to the best performing tyro. The Von Steuben Award to a deserving coach. The Valley Forge Award to a player with dogged determination and persistence despite outrageous fortune.

ERRATA: The following long standing official FAQ and errata from the Designer are in effect:

2.1 Errata: Boston should be a Port.
6.2 The European War card says that if the French Alliance isn't in effect, the strategy cards are reshuffled. Does this include the discards also?
A. Any time a card calls for a reshuffling of the Strategy Deck, ALL cards (excluding those removed as a result of play) are reshuffled, including discards.
6.2 There are three cards: William Pitt Peace Talks, Hortelez et Cie, and the European War card that under certain conditions reshuffle the Strategy Card deck, can these cards be discarded and prevent the deck from being reshuffled?
A. The William Pitt and Hortelez et Cie cards must be played, not discarded, in order for any of their effects to occur, hence if they are discarded the deck is NOT reshuffled. On the other hand, the European War card may NOT be discarded and it always causes a reshuffling of the Strategy Card deck if the French Alliance has not yet occurred in the game.
6.2 Can the Nathan Hale, Jane McCrea, or the Thomas Paine event cards be used to convert a British PC marker into an American PC marker in a space containing an American General?
A. No, each of these cards states that the space may not contain a British piece. The presence of the American General doesn't change this fact.
6.2 Can the Declaration of Independence Special Event card be used to convert a British PC marker into an American PC marker in a space with an American General?
A. No, the card allows you to place American PC markers, if possible, not convert British ones.
6.2 When the Declaration of Independence Special Event is played, is the American player required to play a PC marker if possible in each colony, or is it an option that he can exercise or not as he sees fit?
A. Yes, placement of a PC is required in every colony where there is an empty space available.
6.2 The European War card states, "two British units are removed". Who chooses which CUs are removed?
A. The person playing the card removes the two CU; hence if the British play it then they get to remove the ones they want, and if the Americans play the card, they choose.
6.2 If the European War card is played prior to the French Alliance, causing a reshuffling of the card deck, does it activate the various cards that require it to be played, such as the Don Bernardo Galvez card?
A. No, the only effect of the European War card being played prior to the French Alliance is to reshuffle the deck.
6.2 Can the Benedict Arnold card be played during the Strategy Phase, if no battle is occurring?
A. No, this card may be played prior to a battle only.
6.2 Can the Benedict Arnold card be played prior to a battle when Benedict Arnold isn't present?
A. Yes, the card doesn't require the presence of Benedict Arnold in order for the two additional Battle cards to be received. Regardless of whether Benedict Arnold is at the battle when the card is played or not he is still removed from play.
6.2 If the Benedict Arnold card is played and Benedict Arnold is the commanding American General, whether attacking or defending, when is he removed?
A. Benedict Arnold is removed the instant the card is played. He would not be used for determining Battle Card totals, nor Counterattack.
6.2 Is the John Glover Marblehead Regiment card an activation card like a Minor Campaign card or is it played in conjunction with an Operations or Campaign card?
A: It is NOT an activation card that allows a General to move but is used in conjunction with an Operations or Campaign card to increase the movement of ONE General. In the case of a Minor or Major Campaign card only ONE of the two or three Generals moved would get the movement bonus.
6.2 Does Rochambeau get the American general special abilities of interception and retreat before combat?
A. Rochambeau, as stated, acts like an American General in EVERY way. Rochambeau gets the special abilities to intercept and retreat before combat. Additionally, the British get their Regulars bonus in combat against French forces since they are treated as American units in EVERY way.
7.0 When a Campaign card is played may a specific CU be moved by more than one general?
A. No.
7.2 When a Campaign card is played can a General attempt one intercept per enemy General moved?
A. No, as stated, each General gets one intercept attempt per Strategy card played. Therefore, when a Campaign card is played each General gets ONE intercept attempt total. For example if the British played a Major Campaign card and Washington made an intercept attempt against the first British General moved, he would not be allowed to make any further intercept attempts when the second and third Generals moved. It should be remembered that a General who attempts an intercept, whether successful or not, forfeits his ability to retreat before combat until the next Strategy card is played. In this example after George Washington attempted his intercept against the first British General he loses his ability to retreat before combat for the remainder of the British movements conducted during the Major Campaign card play.
7.2 Can multiple intercepts occur when a British army enters a space?
A. Yes, but the first successful intercept IMMEDIATELY causes a battle preventing any further intercept attempts from occurring. For example, if a British General entered a space with an American PC which was also adjacent to two American Generals, each in turn could attempt to intercept the British army, but if the first attempt were successful then a battle would immediately occur preventing the second General from attempting an interception. If the first attempt failed then the second attempt could occur and if successful the second American General would fight a battle.
7.2 If an intercepting American army loses the battle it caused, must it retreat back to the space that it originated from before the battle?
A. No, an interception places the intercepting American general in the space as if he were there prior to the British move. His retreat options are calculated as if he were in the space prior to the British attempt to enter it and the normal retreat options would prevail.
7.2 Can an American army intercept into a space that already contains another American army?
A. Yes, but one of the Generals must be removed prior to the battle. Remember, Washington is never the one removed.
7.2 If an American army attempts to intercept into a space that already contains another American army and fails, does this prevent the other American army from attempting a Retreat Before Combat?
A. No, because the intercept of one General doesn't prevent the other from attempting a Retreat Before Combat. However, if the intercept is successful then a Battle is immediately conducted preventing any further attempts at Retreat Before Combat.
7.2 If an American army fails to Retreat Before Combat, can another American army then attempt to intercept into the space?
A. No, because after a failed Retreat Before Combat a Battle is immediately conducted preventing any further attempts at interception.
7.2 Can an American General alone, intercept into a space containing American CU that are about to be attacked?
A. No, the interception pre-condition requires an army (i.e., a General and a CU), not a General alone.
7.2 Can an American General intercept into a space that a moving British army is entering, if besides the presence of an American PC marker there is also another British army?
A. No, an intercept assumes that the American army was in the space prior to the British move which the prior presence of a British army would preclude.
7.2 Does the American player receive an extra Battle Card for intercepting into a space already containing American CUs or only for a battle caused by a successful interception?
A. Yes, the act of interception gives the one card bonus whether the battle would or would not have happened without the interception.
8. Can reinforcements for both sides be placed in a space that only contains an enemy General, and if so is that General captured?
A. Yes and Yes.
9.1 When can the British get Battle Cards for the Navy in the Charleston, SC space?
A. The only time that the British get Battle Cards for the Navy in the Charleston, SC space is when they are the original defender in that space and there is a British PC marker present with no French navy.
9.2 Does a player have to cancel an attackers' Battle Card if he can or can he choose to play another card and lose the battle?
A. A player can play any card he desires, if the one played fails to cancel the attackers' Battle Card he loses the battle. The fact that the defender had the proper card to cancel the attack is immaterial.
9.2 Can a CU without a General perform a retreat?
A. Yes, a General is necessary for movement NOT retreat. Obviously, a general is required to attempt retreat BEFORE combat.
9.2 Can the British retreat from a Port that they are attacking into?
A. No, the attacker must always retreat back to the space from which they attacked. Therefore the British can only retreat from a Port space that they are defending.
9.2 Can the British attack from a port space into an adjacent space, lose the battle, which places them back in the original port space, and then retreat by sea to another port space?
A. No, they would fall back into the port space, but NOT into the port and then by sea somewhere else. The retreat by sea only occurs if you are in a port space not retreated into one.
9.2 Can the British retreat from a Port space that they are defending which has an American PC marker in it?
A. Yes, regardless of the presence (or absence) of a British or American PC marker, the British can retreat from the Port space (assuming the French navy isn't present). However, the space they retreat into must be either empty or have a British PC marker and in all cases neither space can contain the French navy.
10.1 The American player cannot use Ops cards to place PC when the Continental Congress is dispersed, but can the American still convert British PC due to the presence of a General when the Continental Congress is dispersed?
A. Yes. If the Continental Congress is dispersed, the American player can still use an OPS card to flip PCs (one or more as appropriate) in spaces where he has a General present.
10.1 If the Continental Line Mutiny Card is in play, can the American still convert British PC due to the presence of a General?
A. Yes. The effects of the Continental Line Mutiny Card in this regard are the same as dispersing the Congress. An OPS card can still be used to FLIP a PC in a space under one or more generals (as appropriate) and PCs may still be placed if mandated by the play of an EVENT card.
10.1 For purposes of playing a British PC marker or determining political isolation, would Falmouth be considered adjacent to Quebec and vice versa?
A. No, the Quebec-Falmouth line represents one of the greatest winter marches in all history. Its only use is to allow Benedict Arnold to have an historically important capability that offsets the fact that you can't trust him. It has no effect on any other game system other than those stated on the map and in the rules.
10.1 Can the British player place a PC marker during the strategy phase using an operations card in an area occupied by a British Army but not adjacent to an already existing British PC?
A. No.
10.1 Can the British player flip a PC marker during the strategy phase using an operations card in an area occupied by a British Army but not adjacent to an already existing British PC?
A. Yes.
10.1 Can the British player place a PC marker during the strategy phase using an operations card in an area occupied by an American General without CUs that is adjacent to an already existing British PC?
A. Yes.
10.2 Can the British player place or flip a PC marker in areas occupied by a British Army during the political control phase, regardless of whether the army is adjacent to an existing British PC?
A. Yes.
10.2 Can the American player place or flip a PC marker in an area occupied only by an American General without CUs during the political control phase?
A. No.
10.2 Can American PC markers be considered un-isolated if they can trace through other American PCs to a British PC space that contains an American CU or general?
A. In all cases the American CU or general piece must be in an empty or American PC space. It cannot be in a British PC space to fulfill the requirement. The same concept would go for the British army.
10.2 If a British PC is located in a port blockaded by the French Navy, can it trace to an adjacent neutral space or army to avoid isolation?
A. Yes.
10.2 For purposes of tracing for isolation, is a space containing an enemy CU but not an enemy PC considered "empty"?
A. No, it is not considered "empty" as that term is used in 10.2. Nor is it considered "empty" when occupied by an American general without any CUs. However, such a space IS considered "empty" if it is occupied by a British general without any CUs.
11 ADDITIONAL RULE: Single CUs are no longer immune to Winter Attrition. During the Winter Attrition Phase, the owning player must make an attrition die roll for all non-winter quarters spaces north of the Winter Attrition Line containing a single CU with no general. On a die roll of 1-3 there is no effect. On a die roll of 4-6 the CU is eliminated.
12 Does control of Detroit and either Quebec and Montreal give that player control of Canada?
A. No, in order to control Canada a player must possess both Montreal and Quebec. The value of controlling Detroit is that it counts when determining who has more PC markers in Canada for militia purposes.
12 In cases of PC marker total ties the American player controls a colony for victory purposes at the end of the game. If Detroit has no PC marker in it and the Americans control either Montreal or Quebec and the British control the other does the American player control Canada due to the PC total tie?
A. No, Canada isn't a colony, as stated, the American player needs to control both Quebec and Montreal in order to count Canada for Victory purposes. In cases where the American player controls either Quebec and Montreal without the other then the British control Canada by default.

 GM      Don Chappell  [4th Year]   3604 Ruidoso Drive. Arlinton, TX 76017 
    don.chappell@lmco.com   NA

2005 Results Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page
Boardgame Players Association Last updated 5/9/06 by kae.
© Copyright 2006 by the Boardgame Players Association.
Trademarks are property of their respective holders.