17   9     18 (1856)
   12    18 (1870)     13 

   Strasburg      Paradise Terrace, Table 5

Bruce Beard, MD

2005-06 Champion

2nd: Mark Neale, RI

3rd: Jim McDanold, TN

4th: Hervert Gratz, Austria

5th: Pierre LeBoeuf, MD

6th: Barrington Beavis, UK
Event History
1991    Mark Giddings      34
1992    Dave Harshbarger      46
1993    Robin Barbehenn      84
1994    Todd Vander Pluym      84
1995    Mark Giddings      51
1996    Christian Goetz      45
1997    Dan Vice      50
1998    Jon Kwiatkowski      45
1999    Barrington Beavis     32
2000    Barrington Beavis     28
2001    David Fritsch     33
2002    Jon Kwiatkowski     36
2003    Paul Hakken     32
2004     Rick Fox     37
2005    Bruce Beard     29
2006    Bruce Beard     37

Pierre LeBoeuf, MD

2007 GM

one Top Six GM nomination


... 1830 ... 1856 .... 1870 along with 18GL, 1846, 18EU

This year's event will again include the best-known 18xx games:1830: (Northeastern US and Southeastern Canada),1856 (Upper Canada) and1870 (the American Southwest), along with three newer 18xx games, 18GL (Great Lakes), 1846 (US Midwest), and 18EU (Europe).  There will be four preliminary rounds, a semi-final, and a final round.1830can be played in any prelim, but1856players are encouraged to play in the second preliminary, the three newer games in the second and third preliminary, and1870in the fourth.  Emphasis will be placed on making all games four-player whenever possible, as this will be the format for the semi-final and final games.  [For example, if 23 players appear for a round, with nine players for1856and 14 for1830, the games will be apportioned as follows:1856: a 4- and a 5-player game;1830: a 4-player and two 5-player games. If eight of those 23 players want to play1856, the division becomes1856: two 4-player games;1830: three 4-player and a 3-player game.]  Players will be placed in games at random, except that players that have met in previous rounds will be moved where possible.

The top seeded winners, plus alternates, of all preliminary rounds will advance to the sixteen-player semi-finals.  If there are fewer than sixteen preliminary round games, enough runner-ups (seeded by the MESE criteria given below) will advance to make sixteen semi-finalists.  Semifinalists will be asked to choose which game they wish to play from among1830,1856, and1870.  If four choose another game, then at least one semi-final will play that game instead of1830.  If more than four choose an alternate game, a drawing will be held from among those players to put four in that game.  All other semi-finals and the final will be played using1830.  Except for those players choosing games other than1830, semi-final groupings will be seeded by the MESE criteria, and placed in the four semi-final games according to 1st -8th -9th -16th, 2nd -7th -10th -15th, 3rd -6th -11th -14th, and 4th - 5th -12th -13th.  The winners of the four semi-final games will advance to the four-player final.  If necessary, semi-finalist runners-up can move up (again, seeded by percentage of the winning total) to ensure a four-player final.

The WBC Multiple Entry-Single Elimination (MESE) seeding criteria are: 1) Win in 1st heat entered; 2) Most wins; 3) Win in 2nd heat entered; 4) Win in 3rd heat entered; 5) Win in 4th heat entered; 6) percentage of winning score; 7) average finish in all heats entered; 8) high dice roll.  For all ties, criteria will be checked in order.

Optional rules in force for each game will be announced by email to all who inquire, and before the beginning of each round.  The time limit for the first three preliminary rounds, the semi-final, and the final round is six hours. The time limit restrictions for the fourth preliminary round will be relaxed, to give opportunity for beginning players to not be pressured by the clock.  In all other cases, no stock round will begin within 30 minutes of the round conclusion.  In the last 15 minutes of a round, only route running, revenue collection, and train purchases may be conducted (tile placement, tile upgrade, or token placement will not be permitted).  Unless there is a player bankruptcy, rounds conclude at the end of that series of operating rounds.

 GM      Pierre LeBoeuf  [8th Year]   3043 Telegraph Rd, Elkton, MD 21921-2333
    Pierreleboeuf@verizon.net   NA
View the Icon Key | Return to Preview List
Boardgame Players Association Last updated 5/5/07 by kae.
© Copyright 2007 by the Boardgame Players Association.
Trademarks are property of their respective holders.