War of the Worlds 21st Century Style …
Yes, its that time again and this year I am actually getting
to announce ahead of time a new feature to the Galaxy tournament
that I added last year but didn’t get the word out in time. Its
designed to help draw in more players. Is it a new variant to
the rules? Is it an expansion? Is it a shiny new re-release of
the game with cool plastic molded miniatures?……No, I would
never stoop to anything so low and taudry just to bring in new
players. If you come to one of my heats of Galaxy: the Dark
Ages you will have a chance to win your very own $10 merchandise
certificate from GMT Games!!!! Yes, that’s right, I’ve been reduced
to “bribing” you with the lure of cold, hard CASH!!
And what gamer can’t resist that? So, don’t hesitate, and don’t
forget to make room in your schedule generator for this can’t
The “Ender Award” will be presented to the player
who eliminates the most worlds during the tournament.
TABLE SCORING FORMS: Players will fill out the scoring form for the
table, listing the players, scores, finish, and other information. Please keep
track of the world surrender information, indicate any remarkable events that
occurred during the game, make comments about the way this tournament was run
on the back of this score sheet. Turn this form into the GM after you’ve finished
playing your game.
Revealing a secret base is done instead of placing an unplayed base. The Garrison ship is returned to your hand. (If the world has already surrendered, the Garrison ship is placed in the discard pile and is considered your ship card play.)
Spoils of victory are awarded when a world surrenders, starting with the player whose turn it is and proceeding clockwise. Once the next round has begun, no spoils of victory can be awarded for the previous round.
There is no limit to the number of cards you can hold in your hand. At the end of your turn, you may either draw one new card from the Draw pile or pick up all the card(s) in your Reserve. If the Draw pile is exhausted, you may not draw new cards.
Any undefended, visible Base on any row can be attacked by any Fleet Ship with a combat opportunity. A Base is undefended if it has no ship in the current row of the world’s column.
If you are not already governor of a world when you play your ship card, you may not use that Governor’s power that turn; however, you may use a Governor’s power in the same turn you become Governor. The ship you play need not survive the action phase to trigger use of the Governor’s power.
You don’t have to be governor of a world to use a ship’s power. If you play a ship card, you may use the power listed on the card or attack with the card, as appropriate, regardless of who is the governor of the world.
Facedown ships cannot use their ship power (even when turned face-up during the World Surrender Phase); however, facedown ships defend bases.
When the Governor of the Divergence exercises his or her power, he or she may play a second ship in the Action Phase after the first ship’s power (including attacks) is used or forfeited. The second ship may not be played in the Divergence column. If the second ship is played on a world where the player is Governor, the world’s governor power may be exercised.
Technology cards augment a player’s ability for the duration of a round (until a world surrenders), except Advanced Processing, which may be used only once.
If no player at the table can either play a card or discard
a card, the game ends, and the winner is determined by calculating
the value of the bases on all remaining worlds. As you may understand,
this means that it IS possible for a game to end with more than
three worlds surviving at the end.
updated 7/18/07 by kae.
© Copyright 2007 by the Boardgame Players Association.
Trademarks are property of their respective holders.