kremlin 

KRM   
  16     17  
  17    14  
  9   17    20  

  Lancaster    Paradise Terrace, Table #3

Pete Stein, OH

2006 Champion

2nd: Chris Geggus, UK

3rd: Sean McCulloch, OH

4th: Joe Delaney, NY

 5th: Greg Tanner, AZ

 6th: Martin Davis, CT
Event History
1991      Jim Fuqua      25
1992      Sean Cousins      20
1993      Jim Fuqua      49
1994      Caleb Cousins      42
1995      Sean Cousins      36
1996      Sean Cousins      20
1997      Tracy Graf      46
1998      Chris Geggus      46
1999     Bruce Glassco     38
2000     Tom McCorry     45
2001     David Buchholz     51
2002     Steve Cuccaro     50
2003     Llew Bardecki     56
2004     Steve Cuccaro     48
2005     Steve Cuccaro     40
2006     Pete Stein     39

Steve Cuccaro, MD

2007 GM

  Laurels

Laughing at the Cold War …

What’s the best part about playing KREMLIN? Hard to say…There’s nothing quite like having the KGB chief purge half of the Politburo, except maybe killing them by rolling low on the health die. A trial that sends the Party Chief to Siberia can give you a warm glow, too. It’s all good.

KREMLIN is a tongue-in-cheek look at the old Soviet Politburo. Each player controls a Communist party faction, and has (secret) influence over 10 of the 26 current Politburo members and up-and-coming politicians. Your goal is to get your people into the office of Party Chief and keep them there long enough to wave three times at the October Parade; failing this, you must hold the top office when the curtain comes down at the end.

You will need to figure out which politicians your opponents control and purge them when you can, play an Intrigue card or two to protect your own people, let your opponents move your secret supporters into position, and when all else fails, hope for a handy epidemic to shake things up. This will require both skill to get enough votes to win the Party Chief position and luck on the purge and illness die rolls. However, your opponents are all trying to do the same… and there’s no guarantee that the man you are guiding to the top is really under your control.

*****

We will use the standard MESE tiebreaking rules as given in the GM guidelines to determine who qualifies for the semi-finals. There will be three tables of 6, 5, or 4 players, meaning that 18, 15, or 12 people will advance from the qualifiers and alternates. (To be perfectly clear: If 16 qualifiers/alternates are present when the semi-finals start, only the top 15 will play.)

Places in heats will be determined solely by number of waves. The following chart will be used to help determine all places after first in semi-final and Final games. If there are still ties, places will be determined per the tournament rules in the GM guide.

Points are to be awarded to each player based on the following:

Each successful wave 4 points
Each unsuccessful wave 1 point
if it would have been a 3rd wave +1 point
Each turn your Party Chief is in the Cure
during the Parade Phase 1 point

If the game is not decided by waves:
If based on the sheets you control a Politician that is:
Party Chief at anytime on the last turn 10 points
At the 1st level Politburo on the last turn 3 points each

Points are cumulative.

NEW: In games decided on waves, a 2nd (or lower) place tie may be broken by counting the control points for Politician control.

*****

There will be a set of House Rules on the exact meanings of the various intrigue cards. The GM will have several copies available at the tournament, but anyone who is interested may request the email of a .DOC file from the address below. In addition, the following FAQ and errata will be in effect:

3/3.2 The Defense Minister may not call a Trial to resolve a Spy Investigation against himself or investigate himself.

5. The Foreign Minister must (not may) nominate a Politician from the 2nd Level if there are no other Politburo members on the 1st level. A Foreign Minister in the Sanatorium can be nominated to become the party chief. However, he will not become Party Chief if two nominations fail ( it would be the nominating politician ).

D. Random Recipients—Delete the last sentence: “If a random … 1 to 6".

D. Q. If Intrigue card 17 results in a tie for most influence on a politician, is it really fair to give control to the player declaring first since the player with the card has an advantage in knowing he should declare first? A. In a case like this, resolve the matter by high dice roll as cited in the rules for simultaneous declaration.

Declaring IP: IP declarations will be considered simultaneous as long as there are no actions (die roll, a player adds influence, another vote announced, etc.) taken in between. EXAMPLE: Green starts Turn 4 in control of Industry Minister Nikotin with 4 IP. During a trial of the Defense Minister, Green directs Nikotin to vote Guilty. Blue then declares 4 IP on Nikotin, but this does not change control since Green placed the IP first. Blue then declares 5 IP and changes Nikotin’s vote to Not Guilty. If, before the next politician votes, Green declares 5 IP on Nikotin, this is considered a simultaneous declaration, and the tie would be broken per the rules. Note that if a tie is broken at a particular IP, it is too late for another player to tie at that IP.

Cure Phase: A sick politician in his strength may be sent to the Cure, even if he wouldn’t age anyway.

Purge Phase: If two or more players attempt to play 1st Purge cards in the same turn, the player with the highest die roll gets to play his card. Players must signify which 1st Purge card they want to play, but do not have to show it face-up until after the die roll.

Health Phase: Any flu cards must be played at the start of this phase. In other words, the flu must affect all Politburo members.

Replacement Phase: The Party Chief may perform any side-to-side or up and down movement unless the rules state otherwise (i.e., politicians may not move up or down more than one level per sponsor).

Parade Phase: Attempting to wave is not optional.

Add Influence Phase: In order to prevent a number of potential problems, you may not play Intrigue Cards, nor may you declare already-recorded IP during this phase unless you are declaring 10+ on a politician. In this phase, IP declarations are sequential, not simultaneous.

HOW TO WIN: Q: Does the game really end with no winner if after turn 11, the highest active Politburo member is not controlled by anyone? A. Yes.

 GM      Steve Cuccaro (2nd Year]   NA
    cuccaro@fastmail.fm   (NA)
View the Icon Key | Return to Preview List
Boardgame Players Association Last updated 5/14/07 by kae.
© Copyright 2007 by the Boardgame Players Association.
Trademarks are property of their respective holders.