March Madness in August ...
Again this year, we will move away from pre-generated brackets
in order to have everyone playing immediately and less downtime
between rounds. The teams will continue to be organized so that
they compete in their traditional regions -- UCLA in the west,
Indiana in the Midwest, etc. If we are fortunate enough to have
say, 15 or 16 players in a heat, pre-generated brackets can still
work. What I intend is, after all teams have been selected, to
re-do the brackets if there isn't such an easily' 'bracketable'
This is a very simple procedure, as all teams will be pre-ranked
going into the regional -- they just wont be pre-assigned to
play seed #5 or #12 or whatever.
So, regardless of whether we have 18 or 12 or 20 players,,
I'll match all of them in the first round --which means that
instead of the top seeds immediately getting a bye [or worse,
multiple byes], #1 will play the bottom seed, #2 will play next-to-lowest,
and so forth. Lower seeds that spring upsets will still be rewarded
with their 'quarter' of the bracket opening up.
Since we have brackets -- albeit not pre-generated ones --
there won't be excessive ducking. If anything, ducking opponents
or teams will be less than usual, since a player won't know for
sure which team he/she will play in round 1 until all of the
picks are made, which if anything, should speed up the picks.
By the way, the GM will no longer allow the practice of 'dropping
down' to select a later pick. If you are picking third, you're
picking third, I don't care if you select the 20th seed.
After team selections are completed, the GM will finish the
brackets, and off we go. If byes become necessary, we do them
according to WBC rules [former champs first, etc]. The key is
that we will inevitably have fewer byes, which keeps things moving
quickly. And more importantly, we get everyone playing from the
start -- more fun, less down time.
This procedure has worked well for the past three years, so
I'm sticking to it.
The Final Four will once again be scheduled at the convenience
of the players if possible with the Sunday times serving only
12.4) What happens to cards removed by a "Withdrawn Strategy
A.) They are returned to the player's hand.
12.7) Can a "Coaching Move" negate an opponent's
"Timeout" re-roll of a scoring resolution?
A.) No. The scoring resolution, including all re-rolls, must
be completed before the Player whose turn it is may take a "Coaching
12.8) If both players have a Timeout available and the potential
need to use it, which player has to declare if he/she is using
a Timeout first?
A.) The resolving player must declare if he/she is using a Timeout
12.9) What is the penalty for an "F" shooter who
gets into foul trouble since he cannot lose a letter grade?
A.) The player he is guarding is eligible for a +1 die roll modifier.
13) How many coaching moves do you get in overtime? Where
is the timer set?
A.) Take the original coaching rating minus all technical fouls
on the coach and divide the result by two, rounding up. Clock
is set at 5 minutes.
14.1) "Box and One" or "Zone Defense"
cards state they can be used once per half. If I have two of
either of these cards, may I use each card once per half?
A.) No. The Box and One and Zone Defense effects can only be
employed once per half, no matter how many such cards you have.
14.2.5 How is the "Key Sixth Man" card used?
1) If the Key Sixth Man is already played on a position which
suffers a foul, it eliminates the effect of the foul during that
2) If Key Sixth Man is played immediately after suffering
a second foul, it can be used to prevent fouling out (though
it would not affect the scoring resolution for that position).
This tactic can be prevented if the player resolving the position
immediately takes a Coaching Move to prevent the "immediate"
response.. The card cannot be played on a position that has already
been resolved in that half.
3) Key Sixth Man may be played on a position 'face-up' to
remove a foul at that position, in which case, the Key Sixth
Man card is discarded and the foul removed. However, this requires
that there be a slot available - if there are already two cards
on that position, the card cannot be played there unless one
of the other cards is removed. Playing the Key Sixth Man card
requires that the player use a normal move or coaching move,
just as when normally playing any other card. However, playing
the Key Sixth Man on a position and subsequently discarding it
does not prevent the play of other cards on that position in
that half; i.e. the limit is two cards on a position at a time,
not a half.
14.2.6) Does the 4-point bonus for "Clutch Free Throws"
apply to an already existing foul? To a foul that is immediately
removed by a "Key Sixth Man" or "Zone Defense"?
To a foul that is negated by a Timeout roll?
A.) No. Yes. No, unless the re-roll also results in a foul on
the opposing player.
14.3.6 & 14.3.7) Can a "Controlling The Boards"
and "Boxing Out" affect other positions before the
position they are played on is resolved? After?
A.) Yes. No.
NOTE: A "Clutch Free Throws" card is never negated,
just as it states on the card. This is true even if the opponent
has played a "Box and One" card on that position. Of
course, the opponent must foul for the "Clutch Free Throws"
card to score any points.