Updated 4/23/2010

17 18 19 20 21 22 23  

    Ballroom B

Lisa Gutermuth, NC

2009 Champion

2nd: Jeff Mullet, OH

3rd: Meredith Mattingly, PA

4th: Dan Hoffman, MD

5th: Jonathan Gemmell, MD

6th: Rob Kircher, RI
Event History
2002    Debbie Gutermuth

2003    Richard Jones     132
2004     Dan Hoffman     130
2005     Jennifer Drozd     123
2006     Katie McCorry     149
2007     Robbie Mitchell       77
2008    Robbie Mitchell       84 
2009    Lisa Gutermith       59 

Tom McCorry, VA

2010 GM

2008 GM of the Year


AREA Boardgamegeek Laurels Rio Grande Games

Meeples wobble, but they don't fall down...

The southern French city of Carcassonne is famous for it's unique Roman and medieval fortifications. The players develop the area around Carcassonne and deploy their followers on the roads, in the cities, in the cloisters and in the fields. The skill of the players to develop the area will determine who is victorious. Carcassonne is considered one of the "gateway" games that opens the world of boardgames to many new players and spawns many sequels and imitators.

The big news in 2010 is the addition of a mulligan round. This gives players two guaranteed chances to play. And it is nice to have another major Euro event which can be played to conclusion in one day on the final weekend of WBC. It makes up to some degree for all the events which get missed by weekend visitors who are shut out by the Euro scheduling which attempts to reduce conflicts at the expense of those who only attend late in the week.

The 2010 Carcassonne Tournament will start with a multi-player mulligan round using the base set and the Inns and Cathedral expansion. Winners in the mulligan round will receive a bye into Round 2.

The main tournament will begin immediately after the mulligan round and will be a two-player single-elimination format using just the base set with one straight tile removed. Non-winners from the Mulligan Round and new entrants are allowed to play again in Round 1. Winners from the Mulligan Round are allowed to play in Round 1 but will be seeded as eliminators (i.e. Mulligan Round winners will not play each other in Round 1).

Farm Scoring (current Rio Grande Rules): 3 points for each city adjacent to a farm for the player(s) with the majority of farmers in the field.

 GM      Tom McCorry  [4th Year]   NA   NA

View the Icon Key | Return to Preview List