manifest destiny

Updated 4/23/2010

   15   20       

 Wheatland     Host A    Terrace, Table #7

Jeff Mullet, OH

2009 Champion

2nd: AJ Sudy, VA

3rd: Tedd Mullally, NJ

4th: Bill Crenshaw, VA

5th: Kevin Sudy, VA

6th: Pete Pollard, TN
Event History
2005    Harald Henning     46
2006     AJ Sudy     46
2007     Bill Crenshaw     46 
2008    Harald Henning     39
2009    Jeff Mullet     31

Bill Crenshaw, VA

2010 WBC

the game's designer


Laurels Rio Grande Games Rio Grande Games

Another Entry in the Card Driven Series ...

Welcome to the sixth year of Manifest Destiny at WBC. Last year, perennial finalist Jeff Mullet won the crown as Pennsylvania, besting AJ Sudy, (Virginia), Tedd Mullally (Mexico), Bill Crenshaw (Quebec), and Kevin Sudy (Louisiana).

Manifest Destiny is a card-driven, multi-player strategy game for the entire family that is intended to capture the spirit of America. There are opportunities for both cooperation and competition. Let's keep it clean and fun.

Rules: The two most important rules are: (1) have fun; and (2) no whining! The rest of the rules are in the Rule Booklet and in GMT's Living Rules at

No experience is necessary to play, but all players must have either played previously, read the rules, or attended a teaching demonstration (the Demo is Thursday at 2 pm). The Reference Book has a description of the cards and product payouts, which may be helpful as the game proceeds.

Game Length: The game takes 3-4 hours to play. After approximately 3.5 hours I reserve the right to end any game at the end of the next Acquisition Phase. Players will save a lot of time if they plan ahead, particularly in the Acquisition Phase. Each player has their own set of deeds and players can allocate money for purchases of progressions and tokens ahead of time, which will save time. To speed play, in competition attacks the attacker will roll all dice.

NEW IN 2010: The third heat and semi-final round have been dropped. The path to wood has been stream-lined.

ADVANCEMENT TIE-BREAKERS: The Final will have five players. All players with two wins advance. Remaining slots filled in an alternating fashion by: (1) winners with best two-game scores, based on margin of victory/closeness of defeat (max +/- 5); and (2) margin of victory in a single game.

Past Finals:

2009: Jeff Mullet (Pennsylvania 30 VPs/$30), AJ Sudy (Virginia 27 VPs/$65), Tedd Mullally (Mexico 27 VPs/$0), Bill Crenshaw (Quebec 26 VPs/$20), Kevin Sudy (Louisiana 26 VPs/$5).
: Harald Henning (Quebec 38 VPs/$30), Bill Crenshaw (Mexico 32 VPs/$55), Arthur Field (Va., 30 VPs/$105), Jeff Mullet (Pa. 30 VPs/$55); John Coussis (La. 30 VPs/$50).
2007: Bill Crenshaw (Virginia32VPs/$30), Harald Henning (Quebec 28VPs/$20), Kevin Sudy (Mexico 27VPs/$15), Arthur Field (Pa. 24VPs/$35) and Kate Taillon (Louisiana 21VPs/$30).
2006: A.J. Sudy (Virginia 33VPs/$40), Bill Crenshaw (Mexico 30 VPs/$45), Kevin Sudy (Louisiana 30VPs/$25), Ed Rothenheber (Quebec 29 VPs/$0), Pete Staab (Pennsylvania 26 VPs/$60)
2005: Harald Henning (Quebec 31 VPs/$15), Ted Simmons (Louisiana 30 VPs/$60), Brett Mingo (Pennsylvania 30 VPs/$40 cash), Pete Pollard (Virginia 29 VPs), David Nicholson ( Mexico 23 VPs )

Prizes: GMT will provide merchandise certificates for the top three laurelists in this event.

 GM      Bill Crenshaw  [6th Year]   NA   NA

View the Icon Key | Return to Preview List