can't stop

Updated Nov. 16, 2015

2015 WBC Report

2016 Status: pending 2016 GM commitment

Phil White, MD

2015 Champion

Event History

2006 David Burkey 104
2007 Rob Winslow 116
2008 Anne Norton 148
2009 Danny Lewis 184
2010 Elaine Pearson 178
2011 Rob Drozd 172
2012 Sceadeau D'Tela 161
2013 Ben Collinson Jr 205
2014 Greg Zegalia 229
2015 Phil White 245


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Phil White         MD    15     30
  2.  Greg Zegalia       PA    14     30
  3.  Ben Collinson Jr   MD    13     30
  4.  Sceadeau D'Tela    NC    12     30
  5.  Jay Fox            NJ    12     30
  6.  Rob Drozd          IL    11     30
  7.  Elaine Pearson     NC    10     30
  8.  Danny Lewis        DE    09     30
  9.  Anne Norton        NJ    08     30
 10.  Rob Winslow        NY    07     20
 11.  David Burkey       PA    06     20
 12.  Rob Murray         NJ    15     18
 13.  Mark Moore         PA    15     18
 14.  Tim Packood        DE    14     18
 15.  Lissa Rennert      MD    13     18
 16.  Sean McCulloch     OH    11     18
 17.  Marco DeLaurentis  PA    10     18
 18.  Brian Hanechak     MA    09     18
 19.  Ted Drozd          IL    08     18
 20.  Andy Latto         MA    15     12
 21.  Haim Hundal        PA    15     12
 22.  Chris Long         PA    14     12
 23.  Scott Sunderlin    NY    13     12
 24.  Dave Bohnenberger  PA    12     12
 25.  Jeff Mullet        OH    11     12
 26.  Mary Ellen Powers  VA    10     12
 27.  Anna Marion        PA    09     12
 28.  Cheryl Burkey      PA    08     12
 29.  Nick Page          on    07     12
 30.  Holiday Saccenti   MD    13      9
 31.  Josh Githens       SC    11      9
 32.  Eric Monte         NY    10      9
 33.  Evan Cagwin        PA    09      9
 34.  Ben Gardner        VA    08      9
 35.  Jordan Flawd       PA    07      8
 36.  Legend Dan Hoffman MD    06      8
 37.  Ryan Romanik       MI    15      6
 38.  Trella Bromley     FL    14      6
 39.  Peter Staab        PA    13      6
 40.  Lynda Shea         CT    12      6
 41.  Anna Marion        PA    11      6
 42.  Doug Galullo       MD    10      6
 43.  Larry Lingle       PA    09      6
 44.  Paul Bean          MA    08      6
 45.  Lance Fogel        PA    07      6
 46.  Steve Cameron      PA    06      6
 47.  Patrick Shea       VA    07      4
 48.  Matthew Amitrano   VA    06      4
 49.  Richard Meyer      MA    14      3
 50.  Richard Beyma      VA    13      3
 51.  Caire Brosius      MA    12      3
 52.  Ralph Gleaton      SC    11      3
 53.  Aaron Fuegi        MA    10      3
 54.  Chris Greenfield   NY    09      3
 55.  David Bohnenberger PA    08      3
 56.  Nate Hoam          OH    07      2
 57.  David Fritsch      VA    06      2
2015 Laurelists Returning Laurelists: 1

Rob Murray, NJ

Hein Hundal, PA

Mark Moore, PA

Ryan Romanik, MI

Andy Latto, MA

Past Champions

David Burkey, PA

Rob Winslow, NY

Anne Norton, NJ

Danny Lewis, DE

Elaine Pearson, NC

Rob Drozd, IL

Sceadeau D'Tela, NC

Ben Collinson Jr, MD

Greg Zegalia, PA

Phil White, MD

It must be 11 PM.

Someone always doesn't get
the "dress up" memo.

Shira and Yoel Weiss make it a family competiion with a "deluxe" set.

Not to be outdone, Alex and
James Bell uphold the family honor.

Alyssa Bernard enjoys Andy Gardner's bust.

And then there is the handy traveling card version of the game.

Can't Stop the Symmetry ...

Oh bleep, it started without me! When I arrived at 10:45, my assistant GMs had already gotten a dozen tables underway. While congratulating myself on my expert GM skills of recruiting reliable assistants, I walked the ballroom as they continued to enter new arrivals, helping remind a few groups how to play the game. It was enjoyable watching everyone have fun in the raucous atmosphere of this event, but all too soon the games started finishing and it was time for me to go to work, recording winners and directing advancers to tables for Round 2.

As the second round got underway I noticed three different tables each had at least three players with two capped numbers apiece. It made the games go a bit longer than most, but they were fun to watch as the players were forced to play on the rarer numbers with frequent busts. Tensions slowly rose as they had to decide whether to stop or risk it all, knowing that their odds were very low for rolling the numbers they were all but forced to play.

The Final was a sight to behold, even more so because of how short it was! Our winner, Phil White, embraced the spirit of the game and didn’t stop until capping a number. As the fourth player, one might assume he was at a disadvantage, but he didn’t show it as he capped the 12s on his first turn. When it came around to him again he used the other side of the board, capping the 2s. Some comments were made about needing the 7’s for perfect symmetry, and when the dice returned to Phil after Rob Murray, Hein Hundal, and Mark Moore each failed in turn to catch our leader, it seemed very likely he would achieve that goal with a protracted run of the 7’s. Alas, he busted on the last roll before topping the column—ending his blitzkrieg of three numbers in as many turns.

But it was still his night. The 7’s fell to his bid for perfect symmetry on his next turn before any of his opponents could cap a single column—giving him his third WBC title.

Can’t Stop is WBC’s version of the lottery. The nine previous tournaments had produced only one returning laurelist—and no repeaters, This year it produced two—Mark Moore who placed third in 2012 and Andy Latto who was third last year and thus became the first repeating laurelist ever when he claimed sixth.

To the winner goes the spoils ...

and winner of
the Cutest Competitor is ...

Can't Stop Junior

The Parauda brothers, James and Tom, are educators experienced with working with children at the Blair Academy in Blairstown, New Jersey. Every year they bring a contingent of their students on a field trip to WBC. This year they again leant their considerable talents to manning one of our juniors events—always a task that earns lots of extra brownie points with Saint Peter I'm told.

This year they had their hands full with a bumper crop of 41 junior Can't Stoppers. My daughter, the elementary school teacher, says that is an apt description.

The best energizer bunny this year happened to be Linsey Saccenti, age 11, shown getting her plaque at right from GM James Parauda. She was followed in order by the following perpetual motion purveyors:

~ 2nd: Aubrey Powers, age 9

~ 3rd: Andrew Freeman, age 8

~ 4th: Luke Morris, age 12

~ 5th: Alex Freeman, age 12, 6th last year

~ 6th: Seamus Parauda, age 12

Look out adults—another class of WBC Juniors graduates is about to be unleashed.

GM Mary Ellen Powers [1st year] NA NA

2015 Previews | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page