Updated Nov. 12, 2014

2014 WBC Report    

 2015 Status: pending December, 2014 Membership Trial Vote

Dave Meyaard, NY

2013-14 Champion

Event History
2001    Jeff Paull    27
2002    Bob Runnicles    46
2003    Dan Dolan Sr    42
2004    Dan Dolan Sr    48
2005     Bob Runnicles    47
2006    Bob Runnicles    50
2007     Dave Meyaard    53
2008     Dave Meyaard    64
2009    Brandon Bernard    64
2010    Dave Meyaard    65
2011    Dan Dolan Sr    67
2012    Brandon Bernard    76
2013    Dave Meyaard    58
2014    Dave Meyaard    56


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Dave Meyaard       CT    14    126
  2.  Dan Dolan Sr       NJ    14     86
  3.  Brandon Bernard    PA    14     62
  4.  Bob Runnicles      FL    06     62
  5.  Rebecca Hebner     CO    14     48
  6.  Jeff Paull         OH    06     42
  7.  James Carvin       PA    13     38
  8.  Jon Gemmell        CT    13     28
  9.  Josh Githens       SC    14     26
 10.  Dan Dolan Jr       NJ    12     25
 11.  Bill Edwards       VA    06     16
 12.  Jonathan Barnes    CA    14     14
 13.  Andres Dunn        MD    10     14
 14.  Alexandra Henning  CT    13     12
 15.  Seth Kirchner      KY    07      8
 16.  Roger Taylor       VA    03      8
 17.  Andrew Maly        MD    09      6
 18.  Vince Frattali     WA    01      6
 19.  Scott A. Smith     PA    11      4
 20.  Alex Bell          MD    10      4
 21.  Rich Irving        CA    07      4
 22.  Lance Fogel        PA    05      4
 23.  Alex Bove          PA    04      4
 24.  Steve Cameron      PA    03      4
 25.  Lynn Ribeiro       NH    01      4
 26.  Roy Gibson         MD    02      3
 27.  Kevin Youells      FL    02      3
 28.  Alexander Metzger  NY    11      2
 29.  Greg Zegalia       PA    10      2
 30.  Bruce Monnin       OH    08      2
 31.  Sam Brosius        MA    07      2
 32.  Phil White         MD    05      2
 33.  John Tighe         NC    04      2
 34.  Robert Eastman     NV    03      2
 35.  Nicholas Kramer    PA    02      1

2014 Laurelists                      Repeating Laurelists: 

Brandon Bernard, PA

Jonathan Barnes, CA

Rebecca Hebner, CO

Dan Dolan Sr, NJ

Josh Githens, SC

Past Winners

Jeff Paul, OH

Bob Runnicles, FL
2002, 2005-06

Dan Dolan Sr, NJ
2003-04, 2011

Dave Meyaard, CT
2007-08, 2010, 2013-14

Brandon Bernard, PA
2009, 2012

These playing pieces get more lifelike every year.

Rebecca Hebner beats Dan Dolan Jr across the river.

Get thee back to Advanced Civilization says two-time champ Brandon Bernard.

James Carvin still can't get past the Head Moose ... three-time champ Dan Dolan Sr.

Grand Strategy Worthy of a Legacy

56 Elk still in the Herd ...

Here we are, once again, looking across the smoking ruins of the riverbank, surveying the horrid, wretched carnage that we cannot turn away from. Here we are, once again, looking down at the one moose that survives the annual crossing of the Mighty River.

The 2014 Elchfest championship saw 56 players come to the playing stream, two less than last year. The drop could have been much worse given King of Tokyo's debut event at WBC only an hour away, so we can all thank the Great Antlered Gods for our strong numbers.

Six rounds were played over the course of the night as the river claimed its toll. As the first three rounds passed, new contenders stated their claims opposite some very familiar faces. However, experience won out and by Round 4 the contenders for the rank of Lord or Lady of the Elks were made up of previous years' Laurelists sporting scars of past battles. Round 4 resulted in a fury on the banks of battle, filled with several pulse pounding moments as meeses slipped, slid and headbutted their way past each other on the rolling stones of the river. The fifth round separated the contenders from the pretenders until at last only multiple win champions remained: Brandon Bernard and David Meyaard.

The two Elchen Warriors stared each other down as they had in previous years. It was "Experience vs. Youth," as the Elkfather, Dan Dolan Sr., called it. The rumble in the tundra started with an uneventful first game victory for David Meyaard. The second round was where the real tension mounted. Brandon Bernard brought forth the age old "Passing of the Stone" tactic to try and tie the final but David Meyaard's advance across the river, though slow, could not be denied. His moose almost reached the river bank but was off by mere dust particles, giving Brandon Bernard one last chance to hold off his opponent. However, David Meyaard perfectly lined up his shot on his next turn and got his elk to the river's edge. Going t2-0 in the Final, David Meyaard took home the title of Elchfest Champion and Lord of the Elks for the fifth time as Brandon slunk off to lick his wounds and plot his revenge for the next crossing of the river.

Flickers with class use tablecloths.

Aidan is a rockstar among the junior flicking set.

 Elchfest Junior

It was a good year for Elk. A veritable flood of 34 Elk calves tried to cross the river under the harried watch of GM Laurie Wojtaszczyk (pictured at right with the winning moose) who took time off from her role as Junior Room Monitor to don her GM role. The six fastest were:

~ 1st: Holly Saccenti, age 11

~ 2nd: Aidan McNay, age 11

~ 3rd: Tegan Powers, age 10

~ 4th: Linsey Sacceni, age 10 - who was also fourth last year

~ 5th: Nick Koehler, age 12

~ 6th: Ben Waterhouse, age 11

 GM     Alex Bell  [1st Year]  NA
   NA   NA 

2014 Previews | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page