empire of the sun

Updated Nov. 16, 2015

2015 WBC Report

2016 Status: pending 2016 GM commitment

Dennis Culhane, PA

2015 Champion

Event History

2005 Bob Heinzmann 26
2006 Dennis Culhane 8
2007 Mark Popofsky 10
2008 Dennis Culhane 11
2009 Dennis Culhane 8
2010 Mark Popofsky 20
2011 Antero Kuusi 26
2012 Mark Hodgkinson 24
2013 Antero Kuusi 23
2014 Mark Popofsky 20
2015 Dennis Culhane 32


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Dennis Culhane     PA    15    110
  2.  Antero Kuusi       fi    14     86
  3.  Mark Popofsky      DC    14     66
  4.  Bob Heinzmann      FL    08     48
  5.  Craig Yope         MI    15     45
  6.  Paul Gaberson      PA    14     42
  7.  Mark Hodgkinson    bh    12     30
  8.  Pablo Garcia       ch    14     28
  9.  John Chabonneau    NH    05     24
 10.  Steve Campbell     NH    05     16
 11.  Tom Thornsen       NY    12     15
 12.  Nicholas Frydas    uk    15     12
 13.  Dave Casper        CA    05     12
 14.  James Doughan      PA    15      9
 15.  Mark van Roekel    VA    11      9
 16.  John Leggat        CA    05      8
 17.  Robert Hammond     on    15      6
 18.  Dave Long          NC    13      6
 19.  Matt Ellis         uk    11      6
 20.  Jim Mehl           VA    10      6
 21.  Peter Perla        VA    10      6
 22.  Chris Byrd         CT    07      6
 23.  Michael Sosa       FL    13      4
 24.  Mark Herman        MD    09      4
 25.  Frank McNally      MA    05      4
 26.  Tom Thornsen       NY    15      3
 27.  Jay Meyers         CA    07      2
2015 Laurelists Returning Laurelists: 2

Craig Yope, MI

Nicholas Frydas, uk

James Doughan, PA

Robert Hammond, on

Tom Thornsen, NY

Past Winners

Bob Heinzmann, FL

Dennis Culhane, PA
2006, 2008-09, 2015

Mark Popofsky, DC
2007, 2010, 2014

Antero Kuusi, fi
2011, 2013

Mark Hodgkinson,bh

Jeff Coyle meets Paul Gaberson
in Round 1.

Dave Long ponders the English
on that blue die.

Mark Popofsky downs John Stevens
in the opening round.

Doug Bryant and Craig Yope battle as Robert Malcomson engages Antero Kuusi in the background.

Record Attendance A Decade In ...

The 11th running of the EOS tournament saw 32 contestants. These numbers have not ever been seen before. It was heartening to see renewed interest after these many years. The tournament featured as always the 1943 scenario which continues to demonstrate solid balanced results. The early rounds with so many new players on hand were hard to judge, but in the later rounds the statistics were 50-50 Japanese to Allied wins with the Final between Dennis Culhane and Craig Yope decided in favor of the Japanese.

Craig's summary of the final encounter follows.

"Dennis smacked my Commonwealth super stack in Akyab with a nasty air raid that took out five of the six ground steps. That was early in the first turn and pretty much sealed my fate for the rest of the game. I fought back to take four ports in New Guinea and Rabaul by the end of Turn 2 but I stumbled in my sequencing/planning early in Turn 3 and Dennis was going to have five cards to play after I was done. Even if I had done things right and finished off New Guinea, he had plenty of chances to take back multiple places.

After my concession he talked about most likely shooting down to the South and cutting supply between the U.S. and Australia. He still had a Northern India hex he hadn't taken, any of the many New Guinea hexes, and even Rabaul or Guadalcanal depending on my final disposition.

The early resolution of the CBI allowed him to shift resources into the central Pacific. Only his weak hand in the second turn allowed me a glimmer of hope. A third turn return to ISR killed any momentum I had. Plus, I miscalculated my Biak amphibious assault based on the use of Australian 12-12 units. Again the lack of true game experience bit me as I finally realized that those units take two ASPs.

A desperate attempt to get strategic agreement was met with a quick counter of an ISR card from his hand. I resigned at that point knowing that it was untenable."

And that is how it went in our farewell to the Host. I look forward to seeing everyone next year in Seven Springs.

Richard Phares, Mark Herman, Rory Aylward, Pablo Garcia and
Gary Gonzalez enjoy the designer's live designer's notes.
GM Mark Herman [11th year] NA
MarkHerman@AOL.com NA

2015 Previews | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page