shadow of the emperor [Updated October 2005]

2005 WBC Report     

 2006 Status: pending December Membership Century Vote

Arthur Field, SC

2005 Champion

Offsite links:

AREA Ratings


Event History
2005    Arthur Field     20


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Arthur Field       SC    05     20
  2.  Tom Lynch          PA    05     12
  3.  Kevin Walsh        NY    05      8
  4.  John Haba          CT    05      6
  5.  Evan Tannheimer    MA    05      4
  6.  Scott Smith        FL    05      2


2005 Laurelists

Tom Lynch, PA

Kevin Walsh. NY

John Haba, CT

Evan Tannheimar, MA

Scott Smith, FL

Virgin Territory ...

In the Shadow of the Emperor is a brand new strategic Euro loosely modeling Germany in the late middle ages. Several aristocratic families seek to acquire the crown of the Emperor, but the decision lies in the hands of seven electors. The players use their aristocrats, knights, and cities to influence the electors and to win the game. Rio Grande Games sponsored this new WBC event to coincide with the game's release in the U.S. It is a difficult game suited to the player who enjoys the heavier Euros. It was scheduled for early in the week, and considering it was a new game and finished by Thursday, it is not suprising that only 20 players participated.

Tuesday kicked off with a demo and the first heat. The second and last heat was Wednesday. All winners would advance to the semifinals, and the Finals immediately followed. The Tuesday heat had three 4-player games and one 3-player table. Arthur Field, Tom Lynch, Evan Tannheimer, and David Platnick won their games and advanced. The second heat had three tables. Keith Layton, Kevin Walsh, and John Haba and Scott Smith (tied for first in their game) all won and advanced.

That created two 4-player tables in the semifinal. Arthur Field edged John Haba, Evan Tannheimer, and David Platnick at one, There was a good deal of table talk in this game, and I wondered if the game would make the time limit, but the players got to it after a gentle warning. Tom Lynch beat Kevin Walsh, Scott Smith, and Keith Layton at the other table. I advanced two players from each table to the Final, and so John Haba, Kevin Walsh, Arthur Field, and John Haba played one more game for the title. Game play was furious with the emperor seat changing hands almost every turn. In the end, Arthur Field edged Tom Lynch 33-28 for the victory.

 GM      Stan Hilinski [1st Year]   NA 
    NA   NA

2005 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page