history of the world [Updated October 2006]  

2006 WBC Report    

 2007 Status: pending 2007 GM commitment

Craig Yope, MI

2006 Champion

Offsite links:


Event History
1993    Ben Grimes        53
1994    Gordon Bliss      102
1995    Tim Johnson      105
1996    Keith Levy      102
1997    Bruce Monnin    108
1998    Greg Crowe        72
1999    Jonas Borra        68
2000    Robert Destro       70
2001    Harald Henning       56
2002    Rolinda Collinson       52
2003    Mike Backstrom       49
2004    Haim Hochboim       55
2005     Mark Pitcavage       42
2006    Craig Yope       44


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Harald Henning     CT    03    126
  2.  Rolinda Collinson  MD    05     90
  3.  Jonas Borra        NY    02     84
  4.  Mike Backstrom     MN    03     68
  5.  Haim Hochboim    Israel  04     60
  6.  Robert Destro      NJ    00     60
  7.  Mark Pitcavage     OH    05     50
  8.  Allen Kaplan       NJ    01     48
  9.  Kevin Youells      FL    06     42
 10.  Craig Yope         MI    06     40
 11.  Jamie Tang         MD    06     36
 12.  Peter Busch        OH    04     36
 13.  Tony Cadden        MD    00     36
 14.  Bob Aarhus         NC    99     36
 15.  Joe Collinson      MD    05     30
 16.  Christina Hancock  NH    04     24
 17.  Malinda Barnes     NY    01     24
 18.  Graeme Dandy   Australia 00     24
 19.  Joe Burch          MD    99     24
 20.  Terry Coleman      BC    04     23
 21.  Bill Boynton       ME    05     20
 22.  Paul Bean          MA    00     18
 23.  Chris Hancock      NH    99     18
 24.  Duane Wagner       NJ    06     14
 25.  TJ Halberstadt     IN    06     12
 26.  Rachel Power       MI    04     12
 27.  Andrew Kutzy       NY    02     12
 28.  Greg Crowe         VA    01     12
 29.  Michael Pacheco    CA    99     12
 30.  Evan Davis         IN    05     10
 31.  Chris Trimmer      TX    06      8
 32.  Keith Altizer      FL    04      6
 33.  Richard Fox        IL    02      6
 34.  Ivan Lawson        MD    01      6
 35.  Paul McCarthy      NY    00      6
 36.  John Rinko         VA    99      6
 37.  Scott Bowling      IN    05      5

2006 Laurelists

Kevin Youells, FL

Jamie Tang, MD

TJ Halberstadt, IN

Chris Trimmer, TX

Duane Wagner, NJ

Past Winners

1993: Ben Grimes, SC
1995: Tim Johnson, MD

Gordon Bliss, MA

Keith Levy, MD

Bruce Monnin, OH

Greg Crowe, MD

Jonas Borra, NY

Robert Destro, NJ

Harald Henning, CT

Rolinda Collinson, MD

Mike Backstrom, MN

Haim Hochboim, Israel

Mark Pitcavage, OH

 one benefit of the smaller fields since the heyday of HWD is that the tournament can now conclude in two rounds instead of three.

 Opinions may vary on the relative worth of the various editions of HWD but you've gotta love those Hasbro miniatures.

The Tides of History ...

Again, only the Hasbro version of the game was used this year.  Most of the Demo time was used explaining the differences between the Avalon Hill and Hasbro versions, and I was able to teach the game to two newcomers.  Given the results, I plan on utilizing the demos again next year, and keeping History of the World as a "B" rated event.
44 players joined us for the first round.  Eight preliminary games were played, with players being split into five- and six-player games.  Six of the eight winners elected to advance, dispensing with the need for a semi-final.  David Bohenberger led all players with 221 points scored in a five-player game.  TJ Halberstadt had the highest six-player score with 204.  The highest single epoch score was Gregory Kulp's 63 with the British, using Leadership and Reallocation cards. Unfortunately for him, he lost the game when the pre-eminence markers were scored at the end.
In the Final, Craig Yope was fortunate enough to draw both the Romans and Arabs.  His use of the minor empire cards complemented his existing positions quite well.  Despite being dealt the Vikings and Aztecs/Incas in epochs 5 and 6, he held a one-point lead going into the last turn. 

Chris Trimmer drew and kept Russia for the opportunity to score first.  He got an impressive 50-point score with the Russians and set the bar for the rest to follow.  Next was Yope who had been passed the Manchu Dynasty.  Despite losing most of his army to a single unit in an ill-fated Chinese campaign, he was able to use this early-scoring empire to score 40 points based mainly on earlier gains. Jamie Tang had been passed the Netherlands by TJ.  She had the Reallocation card, but not enough troops and scored 37 which was enough to put her into third place. Jamie gave France to Kevin Youells, who combined it with a Leadership card and the Nippon minor empire to score an epoch-high 53 points, but this still left him five points behind Craig.  Duane Wagner had received Britain from Craig, as he had nobody else to pass it to.  He did his best with it, but was still unable to catch the leaders.  TJ  was the last to move, and was "rewarded" for his good score earlier by being given the United States.  As usual, the US was the touch of death, and TJ was only able to manage 36 points for the round. 

At the end of epoch 7, we scored the pre-eminence markers. Craig's final score of 191 was enough to hold on for a four-point win and his first WBC wood. Congratulations to Craig, and I would like to thank everyone who participated for making this a smooth, fun tournament to run. The only change that I forsee for next year is moving all rounds to 7pm starts.  Feel free to give me any feedback or suggestions that you have. 

 GM      Kevin Youells [1st Year]   NA
    kyouells@cfl.rr.com   NA

2006 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page