Updated 11/15/2010

Grognards Pre-Con
2010 WBC Report  

 2011 Status: pending 2011 GM commitment

Tom Oleson, WA

2009-10 Champion

Offsite Links

AREA Boardgamegeek Consimworld Laurels 

Event History
1991    Tom Oleson        8
1992    Mike Sincavage      13
1993    Mike Sincavage      12
1994    Mike Sincavage      14
1995    Mike Sincavage        9
1996    Mike Sincavage        8
1997    Tom Oleson      10
1998    Mike Sincavage        8
1999    Mike Sincavage     12
2000    Robert Ryan     24
2001    Stephen Likevich     21
2002    Mike Sincavage     18
2003    Mike Sincavage     20
2004    Robert Ryan     22
2005    Paul Fletcher     18
2006    Paul Fletcher     22
2007    Bruno Sinigaglio     33
2008    Robert Ryan     17
2009    Tom Oleson     19
2010    Tom Oleson     20

PBeM Event History
2001    Bob Ryan     22

 Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
   1.  Robert Ryan        MI    09    204
   2.  Tom Oleson         WA    10    172
   3.  Paul Fletcher      CT    09    149
   4.  Mike Sincavage     VA    03    114
   5.  Stephen Likevich   OH    01     74
   6.  Bruno Sinigaglio   AK    10     38
   7.  Robert Frisby      VA    10     30
   8.  Carl Walling       PA    06     30
   9.  Chris Harris       VA    08     25
  10.  Mike Scott         MD    10     21
  11.  Paul O'Niel        MD    06     21
  12.  Mark Bayliss       uk    05     17
  13.  Bill Scott         VA    09     10
  14.  Mark McCandless    LA    10      9
  15.  John Clarke        FL    08      9
  16.  John Grant Jr      CT    01      8
  17.  Randy Heller       NH    06      6
  18.  Frank Sinigaglio   NJ    05      6
  19.  Walter Garman      MD    99      4
  20.  Vince Meconi       DE    10      3
  21.  Bill Riggs         VA    09      3
  22.  Steve Foren        FL    07      3
  23.  Brian Addison      VA    05      3
  24.  Bryan Jackson      NY    01      2
  25.  John Ellsworth     IL    01      1

2010 Laurelists                                            Repeating Laurelists 

Robert Frisby, VA

Mike Scott, MD

Mark McCandless, LA

Bruno Sinigaglio, AK

Vince Meconi, DE

Past Winners

Tom Oleson, WA
1991, 1997, 2009-10

Mike Sincavage, VA
'92-'96, '98-'99, '02

Robert Ryan, MI
2000, 2004, 2008

Stephen Likevich, OH

Paul Fletcher, CT
2005, 2006

Donald Webster and Alan Arvold discuss the oldies in the Grognard pre-con.

Mark McCandless and Alan Hayes try a Sicily scenario from Tom Oleson's revised game options.

Year 11 of the Renaissance

Venerable grognard Tom Oleson once again devoted his efforts, time, dedication, and innovation to the Anzio experience as he continues to polish new scenarios, and rules for the classic hex wargame. During the Open Swiss Phase preliminaries a total of 25 games were played by 20 different participants. At 5 PM on Friday the four highest scoring players entered into the single elimination portion of the tournament. Those four players were: Mark McCandless: 76 points, defending champ Tom Oleson: 60, Mike Scott: 47 and Robert Frisby: 39.

Although the advanced game was played, it was over quickly with Mike Scott's Allies invading at Naples. Tom's Germans crushed the invasion, game over. The Brits had invaded at Gela in Sicily, the US at Golfo di Napoli. The latter invasion being a high-risk, high-reward play, with 50% chance of effectively winning on the first turn and the same chance of losing on that turn. The US activated the Napoli port on first turn. The Germans counterattacked at 1-1 and 2-1, one of which succeeded in advancing and destroying the port, at which point the Allied player resigned.

The 15-Turn Basic Game was played in the other semi. Mark 's Allies invaded at Salerno and advanced steadily north. By the last turn they had captured Salerno, Foggia and Naples, and advanced within a couple of hexes of Termoli as the Germans fell back. On the last turn the Allies launched their second invasion at Terracina. The assault on the German defenders there failed, and the Allied invaders were thrown back into the sea. Robert also held Termoli, thus securing a German victory.

The 15-Turn Basic Game was played. Robert placed Herman Goering and the Nebelwerfer Brigade at Vesuvio, which discourages a Salerno invasion and the 16th Panzer Division near Terracina, ruling that out as a viable invasion beach. Tom's Allies invaded at Naples. The Allies had a 1-1 attack on the invasion turn. On a six roll, the Germans wipe out the invasion; however, a good roll by Tom killed Herman Goering. The Allies also got across the Volturno River on the coast on the September III invasion. The Loss of Herman Goering seriously hampered the German defense. The Allies invaded again on November II at Vasto, surrounding and destroying several strong divisions which were defending Termoli and getting a beachhead across the Sangro, which threatened Pescara. The Allied push up the center of the peninsula outflanked Cassino and on December II the Germans resigned, having never recovered from the September II gamble. Tom Oleson thus won consecutive Anzio Championships and his fourth overall.

Two-time champ and annual contender Paul Fletcher pushes cardboard on familar terrain. The third-ranked career Anzio laurelist is always a threat to win it all but failed to break the Top Six this summer after finishing second last year.

Tom Oleson and his ace playtester Mike Scott enjoy the full fledged new map with toe and Sicily. Tom's revised maps and scenarios published on his own dime have breathed new life into a classic wargame at WBC in combination with Free Form scheduling.
 GM      Bruno Sinigaglio  [3rd Year]   NA
    NA   NA

2010 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page