great campaigns of the American Civil War  

Updated 11/23/2010

2010 WBC Report  

 2011 Status: pending 2011 GM commitment

Chris Withers, CA

2010 Champion

Offsite Links


Event History
1993    Ed Beach*      22
1994    Ray Rooks*      22
1995    Bruno Passacantando*      22
1996    Paul Tisevich *      27
1997    Jeff Otto*      22
1998    Bruno Passacantando *      13
1999    Ken Lee*     18
2000    Chris Withers**     19
2001    Chris Withers**     20
2002    Chris Withers**     18
2003    Chris Withers**     19
2004    Chris Withers**     16
2005    Chris Withers***     26
2006    Chris Withers     19
2007    Chris Withers     22
2008    Ed Beach     17 
2009    Ed Beach     20
2010    Chris Withers     18

* Stonewall Jackson's Way      ** Combined into GC2      ***Combined GC2 & GC3 into GCA

PBeM Event History
2000    Ed Beach      17
2010    Ed Beach     51

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Chris Withers      CA    10    363
  2.  Ed Beach           MD    10    246
  3.  David Cross        VA    10    109
  4.  Mark Booth         VA    10    107
  5.  Rob Doane          MA    10     96
  6.  B. Passacantando   CT    03     84
  7.  Paul Nied          KS    04     78
  8.  Steve Likevich     OH    08     66
  9.  Justin Rice        VA    10     53
 10.  Michael Pacheco    CA    10     46
 11.  Scott Spurgeon     on    00     39
 12.  Pat Duffy          NJ    02     29
 13.  Patrick Pence      FL    10     15
 14.  Ken Lee            PA    09     15
 15.  Dennis Mason       ME    04     15
 16.  Robert Dwyer       NJ    04     15
 17.  Jim Pyle           VA    00     15
 18.  Ted Drozd          IL    10     12
 19.  Jay Meyers         CA    07      9
 20.  Steve Sandy        OH    02      9
 21.  Buck Karpowitz     DC    01      9
 22.  David Dockter      MN    00      9
 23.  Allen Hill         MD    10      6
 24.  Brad Merrill       ME    10      6
 25.  Brad Anderson      OH    02      6
 26.  William Cooper     NJ    00      6
 27.  Rod Coffey         MD    05      3
 28.  Dennis Nicholson   NY    04      3
 29.  Marty Musella      VA    03      3
 30.  Forrest Speck      MD    01      3
 31.  Mike Metcalf       NC    01      3
 32.  Hugh Mater         NJ    00      3
 33.  Doug Pratto        MA    00      1

2010 Laurelists                                         Repeating Laurelists 

Dave Cross, VA

Ted Drozd, IL

Ed Beach, MD

Allen Hill, MD

Brad Merrill, ME

Past Winners

Ed Beach, MD
1993, 2008-09

Ray Rooks, MD

Bruno Passacantando, CT
1995, 1998

Paul Tisevich, FL

Jeff Otto, OH

Ken Lee, PA

Chris Withers, CA
2000-2007, 2010

I bet your momma wouldn't approve of your using her tweezers for that.

The preliminary rounds draw the usual skirmishers.

The King Reclaims his Crown

The year 2000 brought change to The Great Campaigns of the American Civil War (GCACW) series tournament play. Instead of trying to pack an ever expanding series of games into a five-day tournament it was decided to consolidate down to two events. Additional campaign games were added for those who love truly looonnnng games. The first tournament was titled '1862' which encompassed four games: Stonewall Jackson's Way, Here Come the Rebels,  Stonewall in the Valley and On to Richmond. The remander of the series covered the later years of the war and was contested under the label 1863.

In 2005, the two events were merged into one due to declining attendance and now covers the entire series.






The Great Campaigns crown returned to familiar hands in 2010, as Chris Withers defeated Dave Cross in the Final to capture his ninth GCACW title (fifth since it was combined into one event). Chris' eight-year streak was snapped in 2008 with consecutive wins by Ed Beach, but Withers finally rebounded this year to navigate the sharks and regain his victory banner.

This year's preliminary rounds featured three scenarios from the recently-published Battle Above the Clouds. Crossing Chickamauga Creek had six Union versus four Confederate wins. The Union was 4-2 in Battle of Chickamauga, and again won both games where it was shark-on-shark action (Ed defeated Chris, and Dave Cross defeated Allen Hill). With pairings mostly settled, only two games of McLemore's Cove were completed - Chris defeated Brad Merrill, and Ted Drozd defeated Justin Rice - who conceded, so he could race back to Virginia and tend to the birth of his second child.

The tournament semi-final pairings were Dave Cross vs. Ed Beach, and Ted Drozd vs. Chris Withers. They faced off in the tense cavalry race, Sheridan Rides South.

Dave eliminated our defending champion in what Ed called his closest game of the week. Dave's initial movement rolls with Sheridan's cavalry were so poor, he was forced to leave one cavalry division behind. Still, the Union cavalry managed to score good victory points eliminating the Hanover Junction garrison, and Dave was at the gates of Richmond with 17 VPs to end Turn 3. Ed's attempts to pin the Union cavalry on Turn 4 failed, and the Union won by a single victory point.

That set up our Final, with Dave and Chris squaring off in a Grant Takes Command slugfest: Wilderness. It was Dave's first trip to the GCACW Final since 2003, when he won the 1863 portion of the then divided tournament.

Chris bid 4 to play the Union. Dave's Rebels started slowly with Hill rolling low and failing to reach Parker's Store. The Union raced to Parkers with Hancock and dug him in. Chris then began to surround Locust Grove. The Rebs came back by blocking further Union moves towards Locust Grove, and then routing the Union away from Parkers. Chris' counterattack retook the critical store, but Longstreet arrived on the scene and the VP location changed hands again. On Turn 2 - with Dave needing to offset some manpower losses - the Rebels advanced past Parkers to the crossroads beyond and routed the Union away. Chris managed to retake it, but the Rebs answered by capturing Shady Grove. This led to a series of lead changes from combat losses in minor battles. When the smoke of battle cleared, Chris' Yankees had squeaked out a one-point victory.

"Risen from the Ranks" honors this year go to Ted Drozd, whose semi-final appearance marked his best Great Campaigns showing. Congrats to Chris and Ted!

Great Campaigns 2nd BPA 2010 PBeM Tournament:

After four preliminary and three elimination rounds that sorted through a field of 51 players in 97 games, Ed Beach emerged triumphant to successfully defend his email championship in the Great Campaign series. Ed topped Rob Doane in the Rebels in the White House campaign game. His Yankees proved to be quite a speed bump to Rob's rebels. Early's raid turned to Baltimore, but Rob wasn't able to score enough victory points there to edge Beach. Also scoring laurels were Mark Booth, Patrick Pence, Mike Pacheco and Justin Rice who finished third through sixth respectively.

The next Great Campaigns PBeM tournament begins Feb 15th, 2010. The preliminary rounds will feature games from the newest games in the series; Battle Above the Clouds. Contact Justin Rice at or see for more details.

 GM      Justin Rice [2nd Year]   NA   NA

2010 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page