Updated 11/23/2010

2010 WBC Report  

 2011 Status: pending December 2011 Membership Trial Vote

John Keating, IN

2010 Champion:

Offsite Links


Event History
2000    James Pei     96
2001    Steve Cameron     87
2002     Jon Shambeda     75
2003    Rob Winslow     60
2004    Joseph Burch     58
2005    Sean McCulloch     48 
2006    Dan Eshleman     43
2007    John Keating     46
2008    Mark Mitchell     41
2009    Joe Burch     44
2010    John Keating     41

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  John Keating       IL    10     74
  2.  Rob Winslow        NY    09     68
  3.  Joseph Burch       MD    09     62
  4.  Jon Shambeda       PA    02     58
  5.  Mark Mitchell      VA    09     48
  6.  David Buchholz     MI    08     48
  7.  Sean McCulloch     OH    05     42
  8.  Jed Shambeda       PA    08     38
  9.  Steve Cameron      PA    06     37
 10.  Martin Sample      NH    08     35
 11.  Steve Shambeda     PA    02     32
 12.  James Pei          TX    00     30
 13.  Joel Tamburo       IL    04     27
 14.  Craig Melton       VA    10     20
 15.  Dan Eshleman       NC    06     20
 16.  Rebecca Hebner     CA    10     18
 17.  Kaarin Engelmann   VA    01     18
 18.  Andy Lewis         DE    02     16
 19.  Danielle Zack      MD    08     15
 20.  Andres Dunn        MD    10     13
 21.  Rob Kircher        RI    09     12
 22.  Nick Henning       CT    07     12
 23.  Brendan Crowe      VA    00     12
 24.  Phil White         MD    05      9
 25.  Mark Geary         OH    10      8
 26.  Misha Lavrov       NC    10      6
 27.  Jon Miller         DC    00      6
 28.  Rob Buccheri       MD    09      4
 29.  Bill Place         PA    02      4
 30.  William Burch      MD    04      3
 31.  Rick Young         NC    03      3
 32.  Anthony Musella    VA    01      3
 33.  John Ellsworth     IL    00      3
 34.  Tim Evinger        PA    09      2

2010 Laurelists                                                Repeating Laurelists: 0

Rebecca Hebner, MD

Mark Geary, OH

Misha Lavrov, NC

Andres Dunn, MD

Craig Melton, VA

Past Winners

James Pei, TX

Steve Cameron, PA

Jon Shambeda, PA

Rob Winslow, NY

Joe Burch, MD
2004, 2009

Sean McCulloch, OH

Dan Eshleman, NC

John Keating, IL
2007, 2010

Mark Mitchell, VA

GM Mark Mitchell still finds an audience to learn Galaxy in his demo 11 years after its release.

Bob Wicks does his Mark Mitchell imitation and harasses Stein with a gallblader attack card.

Its a Felowi Universe

All told, there were 22 games played this year and, as usual, the competition level was high but, at the same time, balanced among all of the participants. In fact, it was so even that, once again, there was a player that made it to the Final who had just learned how to play the game at the demo four days earlier. Every year there is an average of about ten people that learn the game on the spot and this year was no exception. Misha Lavrov, a fellow dookey Blue Devil, brought along by Lisa Gutermuth picked the game up quickly during the instruction and proceeded to come in third in his first two attempts to get a heat win. Undaunted, he arrived at the third heat where he managed to pull off an exciting one-point win in a high scoring game and what's more, he did it without eliminating a single world. It is encouraging to see that there is still a lot of interest in this game and that it is possible to become competitive in it with only a few plays. Misha and another Blue Devil newcomer, Michael Wei, both made it to the semi-finals after learning the game in the demo. Even more amazing was the play of the young Max Duboff. Not far removed from playing in the Juniors events, he pulled off a win in the third heat against some pretty tough competition. His opponents were 2007 champ John Keating, Dave Buchholz and Andres Dunn - perennial semi-finalists every year so for a youngster like Max, that's quite an achievement.

The Final generated our second two-time champion in John Keating with Rebecca Hebner coming in a close second. So close, that for the THIRD year in a row, the title was decided on a tie breaker! On the last play of the game, Rebecca took a shot and eliminated the Felowi in the hopes that it was John's secret base. However, he had chosen the Kha'Farjimmn which survived the game and gave John his second shield in the WBC Galaxy. Both finished with nine points but John had 76 tie breaker points to Rebecca's 63. At least this year she made it to the Final. In two previous years she finished sixth in the tournament which is the highest finisher to not get to play in the Final - and sadly, doesn't earn an honorary fez cap. So, once again, she had to settle for the position of "always a bridesmaid and never a bride". Maybe next year Rebecca.

This year the Felowi was the world that survived the most games by a wide margin. It survived 15 times while no other world even made it to double figures. As for the world that surrendered the most, seven of the eight worlds were within a radius of four eliminations with the E-Cups edging out the Cylor 17 to 16. The world that was chosen the most for a secret base was the Felowi. There were two worlds chosen the least as secret bases. The E-Cup, which was eliminated the most, and the Divergence, which had three other worlds surrender more than it, but there were also three others that tied with the same number of eliminations. So overall, unless you chose the Felowi as a secret base, chances are you were not happy about the ending to your game.

So is Jason Fisher a sandman or does he just like to wear a fez?

GM Mitchell rides herd on his finalists.
 GM      Mark Mitchell  [6th Year]   NA    NA  

2010 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page