thurn & taxis  

Updated 11/25/2010

2010 WBC Report  

   2011 Status: pending 2011 GM commitment

Aran Warszawski, is

2010 Champion



Event History
2006    Anne Norton       37
2007    Andy Latto     104
2008    Andy Latto     100
2009    Andy Latto       68
2010    Aran Warszawski       99

Euro Quest Event History
2006    Rod Spade     41
2007    Rob Kircher     33
2008    Raphael Lehrer     42
2009    Cliff Ackman     47
2010    Rob Kircher     37

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Andy Latto         MA    10    108
  2.  Anne Norton        NJ    10     75
  3.  Rob Kircher        RI    10     54
  4.  Tom DeMarco        NJ    09     40
  5.  Raphael Lehrer     MD    08     32
  6.  Aran Warszawski    is    10     30
  7.  Rod Spade          MD    06     30
  8.  Nick Henning       CT    10     27
  9.  David Meyaard      CT    07     24
 10.  Cliff Ackman       PA    09     20
 11.  Amy Rule           MD    09     20
 12.  Karl Henning       VT    09     18
 13.  Eric Brosius       MA    06     18
 14.  Phil Rennert       MD    06     18
 15.  Michael Thompson   PA    09     16
 16.  Romaine Jacques    qc    10     12
 17.  Randy Buehler      WA    10     12
 18.  Sarah Beach        MD    09     12
 19.  Jim Castonguay     PA    08     12
 20.  Bill Murdock       NY    08     12
 21.  Daniel Eppolito    NV    09      9
 22.  Charlie Kersten    OH    06      9
 23.  Phil Taylor        NJ    06      9
 24.  Ray Pfeifer        MD    07      8
 25.  Mike Turian        WA    10      6
 26.  Arthur Field       SC    10      6
 27.  Tom Stokes         NJ    08      6
 28.  Tom Dunning        NY    08      6
 29.  Larry Loiacono     PA    07      6
 30.  Thomas Browne      PA    06      6
 31.  Sara Hagen         VA    06      6
 32.  Bill Zurn          CA    10      4
 33.  Sean Vessey        VA    08      4
 34.  Ted Bohaczuk       PA    07      4
 35.  Skip Maloney       NY    07      4
 36.  Chad Weaver        PA    10      3
 37.  Ivan Lawson        MD    09      3
 38.  Jon Gemmell        CT    08      3
 39.  David Gagne        qc    06      3
 40.  Tom McCorry        VA    06      3
 41.  Norman Rule        MD    10      2
 42.  Lee Mewshaw        MD    09      2

2010 Laurelists                                                 Repeating Laurelists: 0

Anne Norton. NJ

Romaine Jacques, qc

Nick Henning, CT

Arthur Field, SC

Chad Weaver, PA

Past Champions

Anne Norton, NJ

Andy Latto, MA

Aran Warszawski, Israel

Ivan Lawson, David Metzger, Lee Mewshaw and Rod Davidson

Haim Hochboim, Tom DeMarco, and Karl Henning
Changing of the Guard ...

Not only did three-time defending champ Andy Latto not repeat, none of last year's top six tasted laurels again in 2010. This year's semi-finals proved to be a family affair, featuring 2009 runner-up Karl Henning and his brother Nick, and 2006 champion Anne Norton and her husband and previous finalist Tom DeMarco. Three-time defending champion Andy Latto had his streak ended by Ted Bohaczuk in the first heat. Karl could not repeat his performance in last year's semi's, leaving his brother to defend the family's honor, but Anne won her semi to return to the familiar territory of the Final table for a third time. A third semi-final game was decided by the closest of margins. Aran Warzsawski and Arthur Field finished in a tie, and the usual tiebreaker did not apply, since neither of them had triggered the endgame. But Aran was to the immediate left of David Meyaard, the player who did trigger the end of the game, and this was sufficient to break the tie and advance him. Romain Jacques of Quebec rounded out the final four, giving us an international Final with competitors from three different countries.

While Thurn and Taxis has a lot of skill, there is of course a chance element in the game too. In the Final, Nick had possibly the worst luck I have ever seen in the game. Twice he was forced to clear the board to attempt to extend his route, and in both cases, none of the 13 cards he saw (six before clearing, six after, and a desperation blind draw) was useful, and he was forced to discard his route. Romain needed Pilsen to provide a connection to Lodz for the all-countries visited bonus, and eventually obtained a Pilsen card, but only by clearing five times in succession, losing valuable time. Aran sat to Romain's left, so reaped the benefit of often seeing a set of fresh cards. This combined with good play was enough to best the former champion at the table for the title.

This year's results seem to indicate an advantage to going first; out of 35 games played, the first player won 12, compared to six wins for the second player, nine for the third player, and eight for the player going last. Combining that with last year's results, though, we have a total of 19 wins for first, 14 for second, 15 for third, and 14 for fourth, so while there seems to be a first player advantage, it is smaller than this year's results seem to imply. Oddly enough, all four semi-final games resulted in a win for the third player, and the Final was won by the player going last. The advantages of early position are obvious, with first shot at six new cards on Turn 1, and being one turn ahead in claiming bonus chits first. The advantage of the later positions, controlling the timing of the game by deciding whether to trigger the endgame or continue for an extra turn, are more subtle. Perhaps the better players in the semi-finals have discovered how to use this to balance the advantage of the first player. At any rate, any first player advantage does not seem large enough to warrant bidding for position, so we will continue to use random seating in 2011.

Carmen Petruzelli, Karl Henning, Romain Jacques and Kevin Wojtaszcyk

Attendance bounced back for T&T after an inexplicable down year in 2009.
2010 Euro Quest Laurelists

Robert Kircher, RI

Randy Buehler, WA

Andy Latto, MA

Mike Turian, WA

Bill Zurn, CA

 GM      Andy Latto (2nd Year)  22 Creighton Ave, Foxborough, MA 02035   508-369-4170

2010 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page