Updated 11/26/2010

2010 WBC Report  

 2011 Status: pending December Membership Trial Vote

Andy Latto, MA

2010 Champion

Offsite Links



Event History
2008    Nate Hoam     42
2009    Cally Perry     49
2010    Andy Latto     38

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Andy Latto         MA    10     20
  2.  Cally Perry        MA    09     20
  3.  Nate Hoam          OH    08     20
  4.  Chris Yaure        PA    10     12
  5.  Rob Flowers        MD    09     12
  6.  JR Tracy           NY    08     12
  7.  Alfred Smith       NC    10      8
  8.  Daniel Eppolito    NV    09      8
  9.  Scot Palenshus     OH    08      8
 10.  Henry Dove         MD    10      6
 11.  Davyd Field        SC    09      6
 12.  Chris Trimmer      TX    08      6
 13.  Eric Brosius       MA    10      4
 14.  Rob Kircher        RI    09      4
 15.  Paul Bean          MA    08      4
 16.  Bob Wicks          CT    10      2
 17.  Eugene Hourany     CA    09      2
 18.  Matt Peterson      MN    08      2

2010 Laurelists                                                  Repeating Laurelists: 0

Chris Yaure, PA

Alfred Smith, NC

Henry Dove, MD

Eric Brosius, MA

Bob Wicks, CT

Past Champions

Nate Hoam, OH

Cally Perry, MA

Andy Latto, MA

Andy Latto, Lynda Shea, Eic Freeman and Tom McCorry ride camels.

GM Jeff Mullet oversees his finalists.

While the Cat's Away ...

Last year, we barely had enough games for everyone. Only after a few people went back to their rooms to get their copies, were we able to let everyone play. Thankfully, the lesson was apparently learned and we actually had more games than were needed this year. Your GM thanks you! That definitely cuts down on the stress level. It also helped - in a bad way - that attendance was the lowest ever for this event ... less players means less games needed. How much of that is attributable to the "newness" wearing off or the lack of a demo is anyone's guess. However, the fact that we've failed to have a single multi-year laurelist in three tournaments suggests that the game is not drawing back the same players for repeat plays. Perhaps a game this short really needs a demo session and cannot rely on experienced players only to survive the WBC numbers game. To that end, we really need more GMs to step forward and champion a game rather then rely on the same few running multiple events if games like Yspahan are to prosper at WBC.

There basically have been two strategies employed in this game. About half the players concentrate on getting all of their buildings early and placing as many cubes in the shops as they can to score points. The other half have concentrated more on moving the Supervisor and using the Caravanserai to hoard and use cards, while placing as many of their cubes as possible in the caravan.

This year, the vast majority of winners used the Supervisor/Caravanserai combo to achieve their victory.

We had nine winners return for the sem-finals, so we contested three boards with Alfred Smith, Andy Latto and Christopher Yaure moving on to the Final. Chris and Andy battled it out for Caravanserai supremacy while Alfred had a bit of bad luck and slowly fell behind. In the end, Andy topped Chris for the win. The scores were Alfred, 70 points, Chris 89 and Andy 95. The 2009 champion, Cally Perry, just happens to be Andy's girlfriend. Sadly, Cally couldn't make it to WBC this year so Andy usurped her title. Hopefully, next year they can both attend, so that we can find out for sure which one is the best Yspahan player.

Next year Bob Wicks has volunteered to take over the GM duties for Yspahan.

 GM      Jeff Mullet (3rd Year)  NA  
    jamullet@frognet.net   NA

2010 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page