Updated 11/15/2011
Grognard Pre-Con: 2011 WBC Report  

  2012 Status: not eligible for December Membership Trial Vote
Steve Packwood, MN
2011 Champion


  GM Site

Event History
1993    Mark Miklos

1994    Steve Packwood

1995    Steve Packwood

1996    Rod Coffey

1997    Steve Packwood

1998    Rob Beyma

1999    Steve Packwood

2000    Steve Packwood

2001    Steve Packwood

2002    Rob Beyma

2003    Steve Packwood     10
2004    Steve Packwood     15
2005    Steve Packwood     18
2006    Steve Packwood     11
2007    Steve Packwood     11
2008    Steve Packwood     17
2009    Rod Coffey     16
2010    Robert Frisby     11
2011    Steve Packwood     12

PBeM Event History
2003    Jan Orband     20

  Rank Name             From  Year Total  
   1.  Steve Packwood    MN    11   176  
   2.  Robert Frisby     VA    11    80  
   3.  Rod Coffey        MD    09    57  
   4.  Matt Burkins      MD    11    36  
   5.  David Dockter     MN    11    31  
   6.  Jan Orband        bg    03    30  
   7.  Rob Beyma         MD    04    29  
   8.  Doug Pratto       MA    04    18  
   9.  Bob Jamelli       PA    09    16  
  10.  Greg Tanner       AZ    11    16  
  11.  Chuck Leonard     PA    08    12  
  12.  Jim Lawler        NY    07    12  
  13.  John Barrett      MN    05    12  
  14.  Stan Buck         MD    04    12  
  15.  Dave Metzger      NY    02    10  
  16.  Bruno Sinigaglio  AK    09     9  
  17.  Jim Engler        MD    04     9  
  18.  Mike Sincavage    VA    02     9  
  19.  Stu Bieber        WI    04     6  
  20.  Brad Frisby       MD    99     6  
  21.  Patrick Mirk      FL    11     5  
  22.  Greg Smith        FL    08     4  
  23.  Richard Beyma     VA    10     3  
  24.  Dale Long         NJ    06     3  
  25.  Phil Rennert      MD    05     3  
  26.  Mark Miklos       GA    03     3  
  27.  Gilbert Collins   on    10     2  
  28.  Frank Sinigaglio  NJ    08     2  

2011 Laurelists                                           Repeating Laurelists 

Robert Frisby, VA

David Dockter, MN

Greg Tanner, AZ

Matt Burkhins, MD

Pat Mirk, FL

Past Winners

Mark Miklos, GA

Steve Packwood, MN
94-95, 97, 99-01, 03-08, 11

Rod Coffey, MD
1996, 2009

Rob Beyma, MD
1998, 2002

Robert Frisby, VA

Packwood Triumphant One Last Time ...

In the first semi-final game, Greg Tanner bid 14 strategic towns to play the British against Robert Frisby. Tanner had defeated Frisby's British forces two days earlier in the Preliminaries. In this meeting, the armies spent most of the game maneuvering for position and fought few battles. The most notable combat prior to the last turn took place in Boston when a Continental force of 9 SPs cleared Boston by eliminating 4 entrenched British SPs. The game also featured two naval battles. Early on the Continental fleet blockaded Philadelphia and then survived an attack from one British battle fleet. The Continental fleet then impeded British naval movement a second turn before a second British assault knocked it hors de combat. The British brought in most of their additional boots in Philadelphia and fanned out from there, occupying 14 towns on the last turn. The Continental forces reached a handful of British controlled strategic towns. In the first battle, the Continentals eliminated the British garrison in Fort Stanwix in an attack at favorable odds, making it unnecessary to resolve the remaining battles, all of which involved less favorable prospects.

Steve Packwood bid 14 to play the British against David Dockter in the other semi. On Turn 1 the British abandoned Quebec and the Continentals soon thereafter abandoned Fort Ticonderoga and sent their main army to New York. The British responded by deploying most of their troops in the northern regions while removing virtually all of their British regulars from the southern regions until the last quarter. By the last turn, they controlled 16 strategic towns, including all of the strategic towns in New England. Concluding that only two of the 16 British controlled towns were vulnerable to attack on the last turn, the Continentals conceded.

The Final between Steve Packwood and Robert Frisby was a rematch of the last two even-numbered Finals. Packwood defeated Frisby in 2008 forhis 12th title and Frisby returned the favor in 2010 to earn his first 1776 title. This year, Packwood bid 15 for the British. The armies did not fight any major battles until the last turn by which time the British occupied 19 strategic towns. The Continentals mustered enough troops to attack five of the 19, needing to eliminate the entire British garrison in all five to win. They had a 4-1 (-1 DRM) in Wyoming; a 2-1 in Norwich; a 3-2 in Hartford; a 3-2 (-1 DRM) in Richmond; and a 3-2 (-1 DRM) in Hillsboro. The Continentals lost the battle at Hillsboro when they obtained an "NE" following an adverse tactical card result. The British victory there made it unnecessary to resolve the other four battles and Steve Packwood thus won his record 13th 1776 title after a two-year absence.

This year the players bid either 14 or 15 strategic towns to play the British in all 14 games. The bid was 15 in eight games and 14 in six games. The British won five of the eight games where the bid was 15. The British won three of the six games where the bid was 14. The bid was 14 in both semi-final games, and the British went 1-1. The bid was 15 in the Final, and the British prevailed. It thus appears that we can achieve reasonable play balance with bids in the 14-15 range. None of the players used chess clocks this year, even though the event preview provided for their use. This did not seem to cause any problems; therefore, we will likely stop providing for their use in the tournament rules and procedures.

However, this may prove to be the last year for 1776 at WBC. The Board has voted to eliminate from the membership ballot all events which have failed to draw the required minimum participation in seven of its last ten years. 1776, while proving, for whatever reasons, to be a perennial vote getter has failed to attract sufficient players to actually compete repeatedly, and in the final analysis that is what it's all about. If enough players do not participate, the slot is best opened for a more worthy candidate to get its chance in the limelight. It's only path to return in 2012 is via sponsorship.

Grognard GM Bruno Sinigaglio and
1776 "Get Out the Vote" promoter Dave Docktor.

Defending champ Robert Frisby loses
his rematch with 12-time champ Packwood.
 GM      Robert Frisby  [1st Year]   10086 Tummel Falls Drive, Bristow, VA 20136
    frisby100@aol.com   703-220-1277

2011 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page