can't stop   

Updated 11/15/2011
2011 WBC Report  

 2012 Status: pending 2012 GM commitment
Rob Drozd, IL
2011 Champion



Event History
2006    David Burkey     104
2007    Rob Winslow     116
2008    Anne Norton     148
2009    Danny Lewis     184
2010    Elaine Pearson     178
2011    Rob Drozd     172

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Rob Drozd          IL    11     30
  2.  Elaine Pearson     NC    10     30
  3.  Danny Lewis        DE    09     30
  4.  Anne Norton        NJ    08     30
  5.  Rob Winslow        NY    07     20
  6.  David Burkey       PA    06     20
  7.  Sean McCulloch     OH    11     18
  8.  Marco DeLaurentis  PA    10     18
  9.  Brian Hanechak     MA    09     18
 10.  Ted Drozd          IL    08     18
 11.  Jeff Mullet        OH    11     12
 12.  Mary Ellen Powers  VA    10     12
 13.  Anna Marion        PA    09     12
 14.  Cheryl Burkey      PA    08     12
 15.  Nick Page          on    07     12
 16.  Jay Fox            NJ    06     12
 17.  Josh Githens       SC    11      9
 18.  Eric Monte         NY    10      9
 19.  Evan Cagwin        PA    09      9
 20.  Ben Gardner        VA    08      9
 21.  Jordan Flawd       PA    07      8
 22.  Legend Dan Hoffman MD    06      8
 23.  Anna Marion        PA    11      6
 24.  Doug Galullo       MD    10      6
 25.  Larry Lingle       PA    09      6
 26.  Paul Bean          MA    08      6
 27.  Lance Fogel        PA    07      6
 28.  Steve Cameron      PA    06      6
 29.  Patrick Shea       VA    07      4
 30.  Matthew Amitrano   VA    06      4
 31.  Ralph Gleaton      SC    11      3
 32.  Aaron Fuegi        MA    10      3
 33.  Chris Greenfield   NY    09      3
 34.  David Bohnenberger PA    08      3
 35.  Nate Hoam          OH    07      2
 36.  David Fritsch      VA    06      2

2011 Laurelists                                                 Repeating Laurelists: 0

Sean McCulloch, OH

Jeff Mullet, OH

Josh Githens, SC

Anna Marion, PA

Ralph Gleaton, SC

Past Champions

David Burkey, PA

Rob Winslow, NY

Anne Norton, NJ

Danny Lewis, DE

Elaine Pearson, NC

Ben Gardner and Lissa Rennert renew old Juniors battles as graduates of the WBC Juniors program.

Harry Flawd and the Bells are obviously playing some sports variation of Can't Stop.

Playing the WBC Lottery

Let's see ... six tournaments ... 36 laurelists. Welcome to the WBC Lottery where your odds of winning are akin to hitting the jackpot. When Can't Stop was first introduced to WBC in 2006, we thought it might get 20 or 30 people, and be a nice distraction at the end of the night. Instead it has exploded into a huge night-closing event which threatens to break 200 entrants. The 2011 edition continued this fine tradition, with lots of games starting late because we ran out of copies and had to double up. The Ballroom was rocking as roving crowds of people watched each game and yelled at each player "YOU CAN'T STOP!! DON'T STOP!!". Even if the player was a stranger, they still drew a crowd screaming "YOU CAN'T STOP!! DON'T STOP!!" With that kind of peer pressure, lots of players pushed their luck a lot further than they should have. The normal response from the crowd was to groan, make an embarrassed mumble of "Guess you should have stopped. Oh well." Then, the crowd would find a new favorite, and start the process anew, yelling for them not to stop.

Eventually, the tables dwindled down, and the victors assembled for the quarter-final round. The crowds had less tables to watch, so focused on a few favorites. The ruckus got even more intense as the four semi-final tables played, with the winner of each advancing to the Final. One notable entrant in the semi-finals was Adina Weiss, a charming young girl who brought her whole cheering section with her. Her backers would wander around looking at other tables, but when it was her turn, they'd all shout "IT'S ADINA'S TURN!! GO ADINA!!" and cheer her through her turn. The attention may have pushed her adrenaline levels too high though, as the conflicting advice from her backers and the overall excitement caused her to take a few too many risks, resulting in her losing the game. The beneficiary of that errant strategy, Sean McCulloch, entered the Final to a chorus of boos from the Adina fan club.

As most of the rowdy Can't Stop masses shuffled off to bed, four survivors remained and wouldn't you know that two of them would be Cabbies:

Rob Drozd, veteran attendee and powerful force to be reckoned with.

Josh Githens, a young mafiosa who proved his late-night abilities by winning the 2010 Slapshot tournament.

Sean McCulloch, still hurting inside from beating a little girl and having to deal with the boos of her family.

Jeff Mullet, who like his famous sidekick, was having an uncharacteristic down week and looking for some easy pickins'.

Josh started by best exemplifying the "Can't Stop" strategy - no matter what his numbers, he refused to stop until he finished a column. Luck deserted him, as he busted on every turn. After a few turns, Rob had a really good run, capping his second column and placing another marker one space away from his third. Rob played it safe and stopped in expectation of winning on his next turn. But Sean had a similar run, capping his second column and only one space shy from his third. Sean decided to play it safe (or, "wimp out") and hope that Rob would not be able to roll his final number on his next turn. Following them was Jeff, who went on a nice run to finish his second column, but would need a lot of help to have a chance.

After Josh busted yet again, Rob took the dice in control of his own destiny. His first roll did not produce the winning number, and hope sprang eternal around the table. But the hope was in vein, as his second roll finished his third column, and allowd him to cash his ticket to collect his second WBC wood.

The next generation gets their probability training on Wednesday night.

The littlest Wojtaszcyk holds his own vs dad, Craig Moffit and Henry Richardson.

What? Me stop?

Seamus gets his plaque from Ast GM Rich Shipley.
 Can't Stop Junior

In the Juniors event 20 kids showed very little procliviy to stop at anything until Seamus Parauda had won it all. Nipping at his heels were Wes Lewis, Dagny Lytle, Brett Fox, Mandy Mossman and Adam Wojtaszczyk.

 GM      Open  NA  
    NA   NA 

2011 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page