great campaigns of the american civil war   

Updated 11/15/2011
2011 WBC Report  

 2012 Status: pending 2012 GM commitment
Chris Withers, CA
2010-2011 Champion



Event History
1993    Ed Beach*      22
1994    Ray Rooks*      22
1995    Bruno Passacantando*      22
1996    Paul Tisevich *      27
1997    Jeff Otto*      22
1998    Bruno Passacantando *      13
1999    Ken Lee*     18
2000    Chris Withers**     19
2001    Chris Withers**     20
2002    Chris Withers**     18
2003    Chris Withers**     19
2004    Chris Withers**     16
2005    Chris Withers***     26
2006    Chris Withers     19
2007    Chris Withers     22
2008    Ed Beach     17 
2009    Ed Beach     20
2010    Chris Withers     18
2011    Chris Withers     17 

* Stonewall Jackson's Way      ** Combined into GC2      ***Combined GC2 & GC3 into GCA

PBeM Event History
2000    Ed Beach      17
2010    Ed Beach     51

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Chris Withers      CA    11    393
  2.  Ed Beach           MD    11    255
  3.  David Cross        VA    10    109
  4.  Rob Doane          MD    11    108
  5.  Mark Booth         VA    10    107
  6.  B. Passacantando   CT    03     84
  7.  Paul Nied          KS    04     78
  8.  Steve Likevich     OH    08     66
  9.  Justin Rice        VA    11     59
 10.  Michael Pacheco    CA    10     46
 11.  Scott Spurgeon     on    00     39
 12.  Pat Duffy          NJ    02     29
 13.  Doug Smith         PA    11     18
 14.  Patrick Pence      FL    10     15
 15.  Ken Lee            PA    09     15
 16.  Dennis Mason       ME    04     15
 17.  Robert Dwyer       NJ    04     15
 18.  Jim Pyle           VA    00     15
 19.  Ted Drozd          IL    10     12
 20.  Jay Meyers         CA    07      9
 21.  Steve Sandy        OH    02      9
 22.  Buck Karpowitz     DC    01      9
 23.  David Dockter      MN    00      9
 24.  Allen Hill         MD    10      6
 25.  Brad Merrill       ME    10      6
 26.  Brad Anderson      OH    02      6
 27.  William Cooper     NJ    00      6
 28.  Mike Metcalf       NC    11      3
 29.  Rod Coffey         MD    05      3
 30.  Dennis Nicholson   NY    04      3
 31.  Marty Musella      VA    03      3
 32.  Forrest Speck      MD    01      3
 33.  Mike Metcalf       NC    01      3
 34.  Hugh Mater         NJ    00      3
 35.  Doug Pratto        MA    00      1

2011 Laurelists                                            Repeating Laurelists 

Doug Smith, PA

Rob Doane, MD

Ed Beach, MD

Justin Rice, VA

Mike Metcalf, NC

Past Winners

Ed Beach, MD
1993, 2008-09

Ray Rooks, MD

Bruno Passacantando, CT
1995, 1998

Paul Tisevich, FL

Jeff Otto, OH

Ken Lee, PA

Chris Withers, CA
2000-2007, 2010-11

Ken Lee and Dave Cross

Michael Metcalf and Nathan Hill

The King is Still the King

The year 2000 brought change to The Great Campaigns of the American Civil War (GCACW) series tournament play. Instead of trying to pack an ever expanding series of games into a five-day tournament it was decided to consolidate down to two events. Additional campaign games were added for those who love truly looonnnng games. The first tournament was titled '1862' which encompassed four games: Stonewall Jackson's Way, Here Come the Rebels,  Stonewall in the Valley and On to Richmond. The remander of the series covered the later years of the war and was contested under the label 1863.

In 2005, the two events were merged into one due to declining attendance and now covers the entire series.






New faces or old veterans - it doesn't seem to matter. Chris Withers defeats all challengers.

Withers vanquished his eighth different Final challenger to win his 11th Great Campaigns wood, this year blasting event newcomer Doug Smith's Union forces in "Battle of Chickamauga," the 3-turn tournament Final which was resolved after just one turn.

Forrest's cavalry led Hood and Walker's infantry over the northern bridges and swarmed through, around and over Steedman's reserve corp. With Polk pinning a good portion of the Union right, the rebel cavalry handed the Union left a large number of VP casualties, and Forrest took Chattanooga by rolling a +3 on a +0 attack.

By the end of the first turn, the Rebels had 56 VPs, with nearly 20 from the difference in casualties. That was enough to force an early concession from Doug.

Though the Final didn't go Doug's way, his march to the championship round was clearly the story of the tournament. We made a slight format change this year, reducing the number of preliminary rounds from four to three, with plans to advance all players who won any two of those first three games.

Doug - who had just learned GCACW in the previous year - defeated veterans Dave Cross and Greg Tanner in the first two rounds (Crossing Chickamauga Creek and Battle of Chickamauga) to secure a spot in the quarter-finals. Chris beat Mike Metcalf in the third round (Sheridan Rides South) to finish with the only 3-0 qualifying record and secure his customary No. 1 seed in the elimination rounds (and the bye that came with it).

The new format also made the third preliminary round exciting, with several veterans facing win-to-get-in showdowns.

Joining Chris and Doug in the elimination rounds were Dave Cross, Rob Doane, Justin Rice, Ed Beach, and Mike Metcalf. Rob defeated Dave, Ed topped Justin, and Doug beat Mike in the quarter-finals (McLemore's Cove). Chris then eliminated Rob while Doug beat three-time champion Ed in Wilderness to make the Final. Doug was our only player without a previous AREA rating to reach the elimination rounds, making our "Risen From the Ranks" award a no-brainer.

In the third year of Battle Above the Clouds scenarios at WBC, we're starting to compile some balance statistics on the three scenarios we've deemed tournament appropriate. Balance is looking pretty solid: Crossing the Chickamauga, Union takes 18 of 34; Battle of Chickamauga, rebels own a thin 8-7 advantage; McLemore's Cove, rebels win 6 of 11. Clearly, the playtesting and tweaking really paid off in the development process.

Expect more of the same in 2012: Stonewall Jackson's Way II is well into playtesting, and we are optimistic next year's Great Campaigns tournament at WBC will include some of its revamped scenarios.

Tom Beach and Allen Hill

Ted Drozd and Chris Withers
 GM      Justin Rice [3rd Year]   3229 Lancaster Ring Road, Fredericksburg, VA 22408   540-840-9267

2011 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page