liar's dice  

Updated 11/15/2011
2011 WBC Report     

 2011 Status: pending 2011 GM commitment
Kevin Wojtaszczyk, NY
2011 Champion



Event History
2003    Josh Githens     140
2004    Lucimara Martins     145
2005    Legend Dan Hoffman     132
2006    Dan Hoffman     145 
2007    Thomas Browne     195
2008    Josh Lanham     212
2009    Bernard Beckerman     183
2010    Richard M. Shay     216
2011    Kevin Wojtaszczyk     213

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Josh Githens       SC    11     48
  2.  Daniel Hoffman     NC    06     36
  3.  Kevin Wojtaszczyk  NY    11     30
  4.  Richard M. Shay    MA    10     30
  5.  Bernard Beckerman  NY    09     30
  6.  Kathy Kilroy       PA    09     30
  7.  Josh Lanham        MD    08     30
  8.  Thomas Browne      PA    07     30
  9.  Legend Dan Hoffman MD    05     30
 10.  Lucimara Martins   bz    04     30
 11.  Andrew Emerick     CT    11     18
 12.  Nick Henning       CT    10     18
 13.  Peter Staab        PA    09     18
 14.  Scott Buckwalter   MD    08     18
 15.  Matt Calkins       VA    07     18
 16.  Doug Galullo       FL    05     18
 17.  Richard Curtin     NY    04     18
 18.  Fabio Tola         MD    03     18
 19.  Greg Thatcher      FL    10     15
 20.  Dale Long          NJ    10     12
 21.  Haim Hochboim      is    08     12
 22.  Vasili Kyrkos      NY    07     12
 23.  Patrick Shea       VA    06     12
 24.  John Kilbride      PA    05     12
 25.  Craig Reece        FL    04     12
 26.  Gordon Rodgers     PA    03     12
 27.  Tim Packwood       DE    11      9
 28.  Chuck Foster       ID    10      9
 29.  Adam Nolan         VA    09      9
 30.  Jeff Meyer         MA    08      9
 31.  Danielle Zack      MD    07      9
 32.  Ken Gutermuth      TX    05      9
 33.  Robert Drozd       IL    04      9
 34.  Bill Place         PA    03      9
 35.  Jeff Plummer       NC    11      6
 36.  Chester Lanham     MD    08      6
 37.  Bruce Reiff        MD    07      6
 38.  Erik Arneson       PA    06      6
 39.  Larry Lingle       PA    05      6
 40.  Abigail Cocke      MD    03      6
 41.  Glen Pearce        on    11      3
 42.  Rod Bacigalupo     MD    10      3
 43.  Stephanie Kilroy   PA    09      3
 44.  Harry Flawd        PA    08      3
 45.  Patrick Havert     CA    07      3
 46.  Devin Flawd        PA    06      3
 47.  Ashley Collinson   MD    05      3
 48.  Jeff Mullet        OH    04      3
 49.  Peter Stein        OH    03      3

2011 Laurelists                                                 Repeating Laurelists: 0

Andrew Emerick, CT

Josh Githens, SC

Tim Packwood, DE

Jeff Plummer, NC

Glen Pearce, on

Past Winners

Josh Githens, SC

Lucimara Martins, Brazil

L. Dan Hoffman, MD

Dan Hoffman, NC

Thomas Browne, PA

Josh Lanham, MD

Bernard Beckerman, NY

Richard M. Shay, MA

Kevin Wojtaszczyk, NY

Who sez I never smile? Hugs ain't all bad.

Is Bruce that desperate?  The teens had his number anyway.

Did Host doublebook a wedding party?

Either the Martians have landed or a deperate plea for attention ...

Damn Exactors!

In it's ninth year, Liar's Dice remained one of the three late night jewels in the WBC triple crown. Again, over 200 crazed liars ended their day with hopes of becoming the ultimate fibber. The festivities started off with the traditional massed cup shake and smash to the tables. This year there was an added bonus of a special hug appeal notification for Don Greenwood, which resulted in many hugs for, and threats from, our illustrious Convention Director.

Many lied, but few were believed. 36 prevaricators stretched the truth well enough to advance to Round 2. This year your happy GM again was knocked out in the first round and spent another year on the sidelines learning how to lie with a straight face. The semis separated the politicians from the ordinary liars and six fully qualified presidential candidates emerged in the form of Josh Githens, Jeff Plummer, Glen Pearce, Tim Packwood, Andrew Emerick, and Kevin Wojtaszczyk. Josh, the inaugural champion, has now made the Final three times and if that doesn't qualify him for the oval office, nothing does. Only four other players have ever scored laurels twice, let alone three times!

Jeff made the initial challenge of Josh's bid of nine stars and drawing first blood from the former champ when the cups revealed only eight. Tim was the next to donate when his bid of ten 3's was successfully called by Andrew - costing him two dice. Jeff joined the casualty list when Glen correctly called his eight-star bid, costing him a die. Kevin then hit the jackpot when Josh called his five-stars to reveal the first exactor, costing himself and everyone but Kevin a die and leaving Kevin in possession of the only full hand.

Glen then took his exit in short order. His bid of five-stars cost him one die when Tim called, but that was nothing compared to what happened next. Jeff bid eight 5's and Glen's challenge revealed 13 so Glen lost his last four dice in one call and was left contemplating sixth place laurels.

Kevin finally lost a die with his faulty challenge of Andrew's eight 4's, but others were soon put under far greater pressure. Jeff lost two dice challenging Josh's four stars and Tim lost another to Andrew's challenge of three stars. That left both players with but a single die remaining.

Tim bought them another round by correctly bidding five 5's. Andrew's challenge revealed the second exactor, costing all but Tim and Jeff another die. Josh decided they'd hung around long enough. First, he bid four 5's and showed Jeff the door when he called. Next Tim was ushered out after challenging Josh's bid of four 4's.

The three survivors now knew they were going to get wood of some sort. Unfortunately for Josh he was behind with two dice, to Kevin's three and Andrew's four. But Andrew's advantage proved short lived. In the next round Andrew bid three 1's and Kevin's call revealed but one, making him the new leader. Josh's bid of three 2's left him with but a single die when Andrew called, costing him one. Andrew enjoyed that arrangement so much that he also called Josh's next bid of three 5's with the same result and introduced Josh to the bronze, although the newest BPA Board member remains firmly atop the LID laurels. A natural ...

Kevin led Andrew three dice to two, but that wouldn't last. Andrew bid three 5's while showing a star and re-rolling his other die. Thus encouraged, Kevin called only to find three showing so both players were now even at two dice apiece. Andrew started the bidding with two 5's and Kevin didn't fall for Andrew's bluff this time without a re-roll. His call revealed only one and reduced Andrew to his final die.

Kevin bid two 5's to start the next round. Andrew called since he had none but when Kevin's safe roll of two 5's was revealed, Andrew lost his last die and Kevin won his 14th tournament. He became the ninth different player in as many years to win the Liar's Dice championship. A career in politics can't be far behind.

Thanx to all for playing and please ignore any "Kick me" signs Don Greenwood tapes to my back next year.

No RJ ... you don't need your suit to stay up past 11 unless you're going to the Werewolf Prom.

Jon Anderson, Greg Kulp and Kevin Youells actually played the game ... heck, you'd think this was a party or something.



 Leave it to the Young 'Uns to class up the joint.

 Is this Prom wear in upstate New York?
 GM      Jason Levine  [7th Year]   NA
   NA   NA

2011 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page