race for the galaxy   

Updated 9/4/2018

2011 WBC Report  

   2012 Status: pending 2012 GM commitment

Aaron Fuegi, MA

2011 Champion



Event History
2008    Robert Renaud     103
2009    Robert Renaud     139
2010    Robert Renaud       99
2011    Aaron Fuegi       78

Euro Quest Event History
2008     Mark Delano     36
2009     Doug Faust     44
2010     Andrew Yao     27

Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Robert Renaud      NJ    11    109
  2.  Aaron Fuegi        MA    11     48
  3.  Rob Kircher        RI    10     27
  4.  David Platnick     VA    11     27
  5.  Andrew Yao         VA    10     20
  6.  Doug Faust         NJ    09     20
  7.  Mark Delano        CT    08     20
  8.  Pei-Hsin Lin       NY    11     18
  9.  Nick Kiswanto      VA    11     18
 10.  Don Sutherland     CT    09     18
 11.  Mike Richey        VA    09     18
 12.  Peggy Pfeifer      FL    10     16
 13.  Charles Hickok     PA    11     12
 14.  David Finberg      MA    09     12
 15.  Eric Brosius       MA    09     12
 16.  Alex Bove          PA    10     10
 17.  Scott Anthony      PA    09      9
 18.  Ben Stephenson     MD    08      9
 19.  Nick Page          on    10      8
 20.  Richard M. Shay    MA    10      8
 21.  Bob Wicks Jr       CT    09      8
 22.  John Riston        MD    10      6
 23.  J. R. Geronimo     NY    09      6
 24.  Susan Waterhouse   PA    08      6
 25.  Raphael Lehrer     MD    08      6
 26.  Chris Ellis        FL    10      4
 27.  Rebecca Hebner     DC    10      4
 28.  Jeffrey Thornsen   MD    09      4
 29.  Alex Wolford       VA    08      4
 30.  Lyman Moquin       MD    08      3
 31.  Sceadeau D'Tela    NC    09      2
 32.  Kathy Stroh        DE    08      2

2011 Laurelists                                          Repeating Laurelists:

Nick Kiswanto, VA

Charles Hickok, PA

Rob Renaud, NY

Pei-Hsin Lin, NY

David Platnick, VA

Eric Brosius, Lyman Moquin, Lexi Shea and Rob Kircher

Jack Doughan and three-time champ Robert Renaud

A Disruption in the Force ...

Although attendance hit a new low, it was somewhat misleading since the format doubled the number of starts in each heat. The format required players to win just once in four opportunities spanning two heats to advance to the elimination rounds. Heat 1 witnessed ten four-player games for the first round and seven in the second, with players rotating tables to new competition. A few winners from the first round played a second time for the fun of eliminating other potential winners. Heat 2 generated 22 games over the two rounds. The defending three-time champion, Robert Renaud, arrived at the last minute for Heat 2 and found himself in a 5-player game the first round, coming in second to Eric Brosius. Fortunately, Renaud's second game proved to be an easier test, allowing him to advance. Perhaps most noteworthy was the success of Scott Anthony in the heats, where he won three out of four games.

With four qualifiers not showing for the quarter-finals, 28 heat winners played seven games, with all winners and runners-up advancing to the semis. Additionally, two of the third-place players advanced, based on fewest points behind the winner of their table. Eric Brosius continued his winning ways with a 13-pt. advantage over second-place Matt Peterson. Jonathan Barnes and Pei-Hsin Lin tied in their game, just 10 points ahead of Michael Crescenzi. In another close game, Aaron Fuegi beat Doug Faust by just four points and Jack Doughan by five. Scott Anthony's dominance continued, with a four-point victory over Richard Fetzer. Nick Kiswanto advanced by six points over Edward Fu. David Platnick won at the defending champion's table, but Renaud continued his surprisingly challenged title defense by placing second. In the most lopsided quarter-final game, Geoffrey Pounder blew out the competition, leaving Charles Hickok to barely edge Matt Jesser for the right to advance.

In the semi-finals, the bar was raised, with only winners advancing from the four 4-player games. Hickok took advantage of his second life to win at his table by a healthy margin. Renaud returned to form finally by running away with a 20-pt. victory over Pounder. Scott Anthony's impressive 4-for-5 run came to a sudden end in the closest semi, falling short by seven points as he finished last, while Fuegi won by a single point over Pei-Hsin. Kiswanto used a nine point advantage to advance over Platnick.

In the Final, Renaud started with Earth's Lost Colony and pursued a strategy with the Galactic Federation and Galactic Bankers. Hickok had the Alien Factory and played toward the Terraforming Guild. Fuegi started with the Imperial Warlord and exploited trade bonuses and the Prospecting Guild. Kiswanto began with New Sparta and worked toward Imperium Lords and Rebel Alliance. The first three rounds involved a lot of exploration. By Turn 4, Renaud had fallen behind with only three cards down compared to four for the others. Renaud countered on Turn 5 developing PanGalactic Research, but alas there was no Galactic Status goal in this game and Fuegi snagged the Innovation Leader goal. By Turn 7 both Kiswanto and Renaud were two cards behind the nine built by the leaders, and Fuegi had snagged the Research Leader goal. At this point Fuegi appeared to be the favorite, though Kiswanto's military strategy was about to start scoring big worlds, and Hickok was competing neck-and-neck with Fuegi for the Largest Industry goal. On Turn 9, Hickok and Fuegi reached 11 cards, while Kiswanto had nine and Renaud but eight. With one final Exploration and Settle, the game came to an end. When the last satellite had lost orbit, Renaud had 27 points, Hickok had 37, and Kiswanto 38, but Fuegi had 43 to become the first non-Renaud RFG champion. It was his second shield of the week and 12th title overall.

Scott Anthony and Pei-Hsin Lin

Matt Peterson and new champ Aaron Fuegi

 GM      Stuart Tucker (1st Year)  NA  
    econedit@aol.com   NA

2011 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page