seven wonders   

Updated Nov. 23, 2012

2012 WBC Report  

 2013 Status: pending 2013 GM commitment

Andrew Emerick, CT

2012 Champion

Event History
2011    Matthew Beach     170
2012    Andrew Emerick     165

Euro Quest Event History
2011    Bill Zurn     80
2012     Luann Stubbs     61


 Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
   1.  Andrew Emerick     CT    12     58
   2.  Matthew Beach      MD    11     50
   3.  Luann Stubbs       PA    12     30
   4.  Bill Zurn          CA    11     30
   5.  Dominic Blais      qc    11     30
   6.  Lissa Rennert      MD    12     24
   7.  Robbie Mitchell    VA    11     20
   8.  Randy Buehler      WA    11     18
   9.  Chris Bert         PA    12     16
  10.  Chris Terrell      VA    11     15
  11.  Jason Porta        PA    12     12
  12.  Ben Scholl         PA    12     12
  13.  Alyssa Poletti     NJ    11     12
  14.  Ken Schlosser      PA    11     10
  15.  Lawrence Solomon   VA    12      9
  16.  Rodney Davidson    AZ    11      9
  17.  Mario Arnold       MD    12      8
  18.  Ian Streeb         NC    12      6
  19.  Chris Gnech        PA    11      6
  20.  Karl Henning       VT    11      5
  21.  Patrick Murphy     CT    12      4
  22.  Dan Mathias        MD    12      3
  23.  Jacob Nixon        WV    11      3

2012 Laurelists                                                Repeating Laurelists: 0 

Lissa Rennert, MD

Chris Bert, PA

Ben Scholl, PA

Mario Arnold, PA

Patrick Murphy, CT

Past Winners

Matthew Beach, MD

Andrew Emerick, CT

Nearly 400 player starts were generated from one continuous play starting time.

Don't fall for it Rodney. She just wants to sneak a peek at your big hand.

My, what little hands you have.

The finalists avoid eye strain while assessing opposition holdings.

Still Wonderful ...

In another great turnout, 165 would-be civilization builders gathered for the preliminary round of 7 Wonders. Everyone played two games back-to-back, advancing the top 42 to six 7-player games. The top three in each game advanced to three 6-player games in Round 4. The winner and runner-up of each game finished the gauntlet to arrive at the Final.

Andrew Emerick, the eventual champion with 66 points, dominated his first game in the preliminary round, scoring 76 points for the highest score in the tournament while winning by 18. He only placed 5th in the second game but his initial win was strong enough to win his table. He went on to win his quarterfinal and placed second in the semifinals.

Lissa Rennert, the eventual runner-up with 60 points, won her first game (58-57-55-51-51-38-36) and was second in the next preliminary game to win the combined score. She went on to place third in the quarterfinal and won her semifinal.

Third-place laurelist Chris Bert scored 58 points and improved the further he advanced until he regressed in the Final. He placed second at his preliminary table with a pair of thirds, second in the quarterfinal and won his semifinal.

Ben Scholl placed fourth overall with a score of 56 by placing first and third in the Preliminary rounds to take his table. He then won his quarterfinal game and placed second in the semifinal.

Mario Arnold claimed fifth place laurels with a Final score of 53 points by winning his first round over Chris Bert, and following with a second to take his original table. He placed third in the quarterfinal and won his semifinal over eventual champion Andrew -- proving yet again that timing is everything.

Patrick Murphy's Final score of 52 took sixth by finishing 1-2 in the Preliminaries, but only fourth in the quarterfinals. He got a second life when another qualifier opted out to play another event, allowing him to reach the semifinal where he finished second.

The average score during the preliminary rounds was 49.73; rising to 51.26 in the quarterfinals; 52.61 in the semifinals and 57.5 in the Final. In all rounds, the greatest percentage of points was in the blue Civilian buildings: 27.34% prelims, 28.05% quarterfinals, 28.72% semis and 24.35% Finals. The next most popular category for scoring was Science, followed by the Wonder and Guilds although the latter two reversed their order in the last two rounds. Then came Military, Money and Commerce, except in the Final where the order was Money, Military and Commerce.

Playing games in Lilliput with the Asmodee display version.

Asmodee supported the tournament with numerous extra prizes.

2012 Euro Quest Laurelists

Luann Stubbs, PA

Andrew Emerick, CT

Jason Porta, PA

Lawrence Solomon, VA

Ian Streeb, NC

 GM     Kathy Stroh [2nd Year]   NA   NA

2012 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page