a house divided   

Updated Nov. 23, 2012

2012 WBC Report  

   2013 Status: pending 2013 GM commitment

David Metzger, NY

2012 Champion

Event History
1999    David Metzger     18
2000    Tom Cannon     12
2001    Phil Rennert     16
2002    David Metzger       8
2003    David Metzger     12
2010    David Metzger     30
2011    John Sutcliffe     34
2012    David Metzger     21


 Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
   1.  David Metzger      NY    12    150
   2.  Phil Rennert       MD    12     63
   3.  Terry Coleman      PA    10     54
   4.  John Sutcliffe     uk    11     30
   5.  Tom Cannon         NJ    03     30
   6.  Rick Young         CA    02     26
   7.  Chris Byrd         CT    12     17
   8.  Brad Raszewski     MD    12     16
   9.  Rob Mull           CO    01     15
  10.  Trevor Bender      CA    00     12
  11.  Ben Knight         MD    99     12
  12.  Linus Park         IL    11      9
  13.  Ray Freeman        CA    10      9
  14.  Jonathan Price     NJ    03      9
  15.  Sean Conroy        VA    02      9
  16.  Barry Shoults      MI    00      9
  17.  John Teixera       VA    12      6
  18.  Jack Stalica       on    11      6
  19.  Marshall Collins   CT    00      6
  20.  Scott Sirianna     NY    12      5
  21.  Chris Bauch        LA    01      5
  22.  Bryan Van Norwick  CA    01      4
  23.  Steven Raszewski   MD    11      3
  24.  Erik Falk          MN    99      3
  25.  Roderick Lee       CA    03      2

2012 Laurelists                                              Repeating Laurelists:

Phil Rennert, MD

Brad Raszewski, MD

Chris Byrd, CT

John Teixera, VA

Scott Sirianna, NY

Past Winners

David Metzger, VA
1999, 2002-03, 2010, 2012

Tom Cannon, NJ

Phil Rennert, VA

John Sutcliffe, uk

Four-time champ Dave Metzger defeats Linus Park in the semi-finals.

The champ meets his match in Britain's John Sutcliffe.

The Union Preserved ...

A House Divided made its triumphal return as a Century event in 2012. While we only had 21 generals on the field of battle, three of the four previous champions took the field. As in previous years, we used the basic rules and the 10-turn 1861 scenario. Few players expressed any interest in using optional rules or longer scenarios. We did make two changes to the format. First, we added bidding to determine choice of side. Second, we gave players the option of using a die roll averaging system for the critical "march" die roll on each turn. Bidding for sides seemed to be well received. The majority of games resulted in a final bid of 1 victory point to play the Union. On the other hand, relatively few players chose to use die roll averaging. However, those players who chose to use this luck equalizing option felt that it was a positive addition to the game.

In previous years, the game has proven to be extremely well balanced. It has also been the case that the Union tended to win more games between novice players while the confederacy won more often between experienced players. This pattern did not continue in 2012. The Union only won a third of all games played. One general trend was that the Confederate players were far more aggressive than in the past. It appears as if the Union players were often unnerved or at least thrown off of their game by this aggressive stance. It is also noteworthy that the Confederacy won the majority of games in the first two rounds but from the Round 3 onward, the Union was back to winning its share of the games. So, this overall disparity may have simply been a case of the players being a little rusty and taking a couple of games to brush up their skills. On the other hand, these tournament statistics may call into question the wisdom of assuming that you should bid to play the Union.

The Final was played between two past champions, David Metzger and Phil Rennert. David began with the traditional "Battle of Bull Run" but then employed an extremely aggressive western strategy by moving Union armies down the Mississippi valley and through Kentucky down to Nashville. Phil responded by gathering his main Confederate army in Chattanooga as a threat to the Union advance. However, he quickly turned the tables on the Union by rapidly moving his army by rail towards Richmond in an attempt to capture Washington. David was forced to halt his western advance and focus on reinforcing his eastern army. David was able to regroup and entrench a sizable Union army at the critical Manassas Junction crossroads. In an effort to isolate Washington, Phil made an all out frontal attack on the entrenched Union Army. While the Confederates held an initial substantial advantage in numbers, the Army of Northern Virginia was unable to break the Union entrenchments and the steady stream of reinforcements from Washington, Harper's Ferry, and Front Royal turned the tide of battle. The Confederacy saw their last hope disappear on the bloody fields of Virginia and surrendered shortly after the second battle of Bull Run. Thus, for the first time in three years of tournament play, the Union was preserved and government of the people, by the people, for the people, did not perish from the earth.

Edward Rader and Terry Coleman

Linus Park and Allen Joslyn

 GM      David Metzger [2nd Year]    NA
    natashainterpreter@yahoo.com    NA

2012 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page