great campaigns of the American Civil War   

Updated Nov. 23, 2012

2012 WBC Report  

 2013 Status: pending December 2012 Membership Trial Vote

Rob Doane, MD

2012 Champion

Event History
1993    Ed Beach*      22
1994    Ray Rooks*      22
1995    Bruno Passacantando*      22
1996    Paul Tisevich *      27
1997    Jeff Otto*      22
1998    Bruno Passacantando *      13
1999    Ken Lee*     18
2000    Chris Withers**     19
2001    Chris Withers**     20
2002    Chris Withers**     18
2003    Chris Withers**     19
2004    Chris Withers**     16
2005     Chris Withers***     26
2006    Chris Withers     19
2007     Chris Withers     22
2008     Ed Beach     17 
2009     Ed Beach     20
2010     Chris Withers     18
2011    Chris Withers     17 
2012    Rob Doane     10

* Stonewall Jackson's Way      ** Combined into GC2      ***Combined GC2 & GC3 into GCA

PBeM Event History
2000    Ed Beach      17
2010    Ed Beach     51


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Chris Withers      CA    12    395
  2.  Ed Beach           MD    12    259
  3.  Rob Doane          MD    12    118
  4.  David Cross        VA    12    112
  5.  Mark Booth         VA    10    107
  6.  B. Passacantando   CT    03     84
  7.  Paul Nied          KS    04     78
  8.  Steve Likevich     OH    08     66
  9.  Justin Rice        VA    11     59
 10.  Michael Pacheco    CA    10     46
 11.  Scott Spurgeon     on    00     39
 12.  Pat Duffy          NJ    02     29
 13.  Doug Smith         PA    11     18
 14.  Patrick Pence      FL    10     15
 15.  Ken Lee            PA    09     15
 16.  Dennis Mason       ME    04     15
 17.  Robert Dwyer       NJ    04     15
 18.  Jim Pyle           VA    00     15
 19.  Ted Drozd          IL    10     12
 20.  Jay Meyers         CA    07      9
 21.  Steve Sandy        OH    02      9
 22.  Buck Karpowitz     DC    01      9
 23.  David Dockter      MN    00      9
 24.  Greg Tanner        AZ    12      6
 25.  Allen Hill         MD    10      6
 26.  Brad Merrill       ME    10      6
 27.  Brad Anderson      OH    02      6
 28.  William Cooper     NJ    00      6
 29.  Mike Metcalf       NC    11      3
 30.  Rod Coffey         MD    05      3
 31.  Dennis Nicholson   NY    04      3
 32.  Marty Musella      VA    03      3
 33.  Forrest Speck      MD    01      3
 34.  Mike Metcalf       NC    01      3
 35.  Hugh Mater         NJ    00      3
 36.  Doug Pratto        MA    00      1

2012 Laurelists                                        Repeating Laurelists: 

Greg Tanner, AZ

Ed Beach, MD

Dave Cross, VA

Chris Withers, CA


Past Winners

Ed Beach, MD
1993, 2008-09

Ray Rooks, MD

Bruno Passacantando, CT
1995, 1998

Paul Tisevich, FL

Jeff Otto, OH

Ken Lee, PA

Chris Withers, CA
2000-2007, 2010-11

Rob Doane, MD

Jeff Coyle and Justin Rice exchange volleys.

Rob Doane beats three-time champ Ed Beach.

The King is No Longer the King

The year 2000 brought change to The Great Campaigns of the American Civil War (GCACW) series tournament play. Instead of trying to pack an ever expanding series of games into a five-day tournament it was decided to consolidate down to two events. Additional campaign games were added for those who love truly looonnnng games. The first tournament was titled '1862' which encompassed four games: Stonewall Jackson's Way, Here Come the Rebels,  Stonewall in the Valley and On to Richmond. The remander of the series covered the later years of the war and was contested under the label 1863.

In 2005, the two events were merged into one due to declining attendance and now covers the entire series.






Victory at Last ... Albeit a Small Skirmish ...

A Great Campaigns bridesmaid no longer! Rob Doane has his place among our tournament champions. Doane beat Greg Tanner in the Retreat to the James Final, earning his first Great Campaigns title. He's our first champion not named "Withers" or "Beach" since 1999, and his victory ended a long run of laurels but no wood. The 4th ranked Doane was third in 2011, fourth in '09, second in '08, third in '07, fourth in '06, and second in '05.

This was a Union year, featuring games from 1862, a tribute to the sesquicentennial of the Civil War. For preliminary rounds, we played Seven Pines from On To Richmond (Union won three of five), Warwick Line from the same game (Union won three of four), and McDowell from Stonewall in the Valley (Union won two of three).

Five players won two preliminary games to advance to the elimination rounds --top seed Ed Beach, Tanner, Dave Cross, Doane and Chris Withers-with Beach, Cross and Tanner receiving byes to the semifinals.

Doane eliminated perennial champion Withers in the play-in game of Johnston's Retreat from OTR, and then ousted the only other champion this event has seen in this century by topping Beach in their semifinal showdown of Jackson's March, played with the revised rules from Stonewall Jackson's Way II. No one can claim Doane's path was easy, but with his two wins and Greg Tanner's victory over Dave Cross in the other semifinal, we were assured of a new champion, quite an exciting prospect for all of us who have been knocked out of contention by Chris or Ed at some point over the last decade.

Doane took McClellan's Yanks in the Final. The scenario covers McClellan's attempt to disengage from near Richmond and pull back to a secure base around the James River (from where the Union army would eventually be withdrawn to Northern Virginia). On the first turn, the Union initiative rolls were good, and Doane was able to establish a good fish hook line running from the James to Portuguese Tavern. The Union gunboats were a factor, disrupting two Confederate units, and an assault by Jackson on II Corp was turned away.

On Turn 2, the dice turned in Tanner's favor. A string of initiatives and attacks allowed the Rebels to surround the Union II Corp, and a grand assault by Lee caused 11 casualties in one attack. Before that assault, Greg trailed by ten points; afterwards, he had a one-point lead.

Turn 3 saw another shift in the dice. Heintzelman led a counterattack in the center to force a Confederate retreat, Porter joined in the fun, and Keyes helped cause some retreat losses. They were able to pull all this off, despite Little Mac going 0-for-4 on grand assault attempts. More than half the CSA army was tapped out at this point. Jackson made a last-ditch attack on the Union center, but with another roll going the Yanks' way, Tanner conceded.

As we move forward to 2013, we continue to be open to ideas to restore our participation numbers. We know many Great Campaigns players are still at WBC; we've just been unable to convince you to join us! Please do shoot me an email and let me know what changes we can make to lure you back -- whether it's tournament format, scenario selection or round timing -- and return our numbers to Century level.

Dave Cross and Michael Kunin butt heads.

Rob Doane wins it all by besting Greg Tanner in the Final.

 GM      Justin Rice [4th Year]   3229 Lancaster Ring Road, Fredericksburg, VA 22408   540-840-9267

2012 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page