speed circuit   

Updated Jan. 17, 2013

2012 WBC Report  

 2013 Status: pending 2013 GM commitment

Bruce Rae, bc

2012 Champion

Event History
1991    Scott Goehring      24
1992    Mike Fitzgerald      18
1993    Chris Hancock      16
1994    Andrew House      29
1995    Lane Hess      23
1996    Trevor Bender      26
1997    Robert Kircher      25
1998    John Weber      38
1999    Kevin Keller     27
2000    Gerald Lientz     28
2001    Scott Cornett     29
2002    Lance Ribeiro     35
2003    Douglas Schulz     32
2004    John Welage     30
2005     Dennis Nicholson     37
2006    Kevin Keller     32
2007     Terry Schulz     33
2008    Gerald Lientz     24
2009     Doug Schulz     31
2010    Lane Newbury     27
2011    Tim Carnahan     29
2012    Bruce Rae     30


PBeM Event History
2012    Doug Schulz     37



Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Scott Cornett      FL    11    166
  2.  Doug Schulz        MD    12    134
  3.  Terry Schulz       PA    12    116
  4.  Kevin Keller       MD    11    107
  5.  Gerald Lientz      VA    09     81
  6.  Jimmy Fleckenstein VA    12     78
  7.  Lane Newbury       TX    10     66
  8.  John Welage        OH    12     64
  9.  Dennis Nicholson   NY    09     60
 10.  Bruce Rae          bc    12     56
 11.  Lance Ribeiro      NH    02     52
 12.  Jeff Cornett       FL    12     48
 13.  Don Tatum          MD    12     46
 14.  Tim Carnahan       MD    11     40
 15.  Tim Mossman        MD    12     37
 16.  John Shaheen       MA    12     34
 17.  Chris Hancock      PA    06     32
 18.  Trevor Bender      CA    02     32
 19.  Darin Morley       NC    04     26
 20.  Mike Aubuchon      PA    11     24
 21.  Seth Kirchner      KY    07     24
 22.  Robert Kircher     RI    10     21
 23.  Lane Hess          PA    00     16
 24.  Jason O'Donnell    OH    01     13
 25.  Bruno PassacantandoCT    08     12
 26.  John Sharp III     FL    06     12
 27.  Robert Rund        MA    10      9
 28.  Franklin Haskell   NH    03      9
 29.  Turyko Suky        it    12      8
 30.  Dan McGowan        ME    01      8
 31.  Dave Anderson      PA    00      8
 32.  Doug Galullo       MD    10      6
 33.  Guiseppe Incorpora it    12      4
 34.  James Fleckenstein VA    02      4

2012 Laurelists                                                Repeating Laurelists:

Terry Schulz, PA

Tim Mossman, MD

Jimmy Fleckenstein, VA

John Welage, OH

Don Tatum, MD

Past Winners

Mike Fitzgerald, CT

Chris Hancock, NH

Andrew House, MD

Lane Hess, PA

Trevor Bender, CA

Robert Kircher, RI

John Weber, MD

Kevin Keller, MD
1999, 2006

Gerald Lientz, VA
2000, 2008

Scott Cornett, FL

Lance Ribeiro, NH

Doug Schulz, MD
2003, 2009

John Welage, OH

Dennis Nicholson, NY

Terry Schulz, PA

Lane Newbury, TX

Tim Carnahan, MD

Bruce Rae, bc

Past champ John Welage, future champ Bruce Rae and defending champ Tim Carnahan.

The different track configurations every year makes the event special.

 Chris Hancock and Bruno Passacantando in the far turn.

 Another heat ready to start.

18th Champion ...

For the second year in a row, the car Build Table was updated. This time we attempted to make the 80mph acceleration option more balanced by making the sacrifices more meaningful. However, a bigger change was the different tracks run for each qualifier. We had two tracks for each and assigned those tracks randomly at the start of the event. The tracks provided were Yeongam, Spa, Monaco, Sao Paolo, Istanbul and Valencia for the qualifiers, and Yas Marina for the Final.

The Final proved to be another exciting race. Schulz and Keller bid highest for starting positions, with Newbury, Tatum, Hancock, Rae, Long, Fleckenstein, Nicholson, Welage, Mossman, and Passacantando behind them in that order.

Schulz used his high start speed and solid line to break away early, then rolled a chance in Corner 3 with his red skill chip and made it, giving him a huge lead. In Corner 5, Long over-plotted to gain initiative and the line, which allowed him to jump into third temporarily. Two corners later, Tatum force passed Long and took over the position.

By Lap 2, Schulz was running low on tire wear and Keller caught him on Corner 3. Long, Tatum, and Hancock had also caught the leaders. In Corner 4 the leaders both slowed to block the chase pack, but Long force passed through that corner and took the lead. By the next corner, Long and Schulz made it through safe, but Keller slowed and sat on the line. That turned out to be a bad choice though, because Hancock attempted to force pass him and slammed into the back of his car, causing both cars to spin. Schulz then over-plotted in Corner 7, successfully rolling on the chance table to make it through the corner and once more take the lead.

Heading into the straightaway in Lap 3, it was Schulz, Long and Tatum, with Rae right behind them. Rae, however, had more wear and was able to make it through Corners 4 and 5 faster, thus taking the lead. Long was blocked out of Corner 5, had to late-brake and missed the die roll, causing him to spin. This allowed Fleckenstein and Mossman to slot in behind the leaders heading into the final corners. Rae, with his superior tire wear, outraced Schulz to become our 18th different champion in 21 years.

Christina Harley, Mike Aubuchon, Christina Hancock and Rob Kircher enjoy pit row.

 Play By Email 2012

37 drivers competed over two heats to qulify 12 of their number for the feature race on the new Montreal circuit. Three hard laps forced only one retirement - and that was just before the last corner of the final lap. Jeff Cornett led for most of the race only to be passed on the last straight by usual WBC GM Doug Schulz for the win. John Shaheen took third place laurels followed by Tim Mossman with a pair of Italian drivers, Turyko Suky and Guiseppe Incorpora, taking 5th and 6th place laurels respectively.

The other finishers were Curt Collins, Doug Galullo, Rob Kircher, Bert Schoose and Chris Brandt in that order. Mike Aubuchon, the only other qualifier, finished last and had to withdraw due to brake failure.

 GM      Chris Long  [1st Year]   NA 
   radynski@yahoo.com    NA

2012 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page