thurn & taxis   

Updated Nov. 23, 2012

2012 WBC Report  

   2013 Status: pending 2013 GM commitment

Randy Buehler, WA

2012 Champion

Event History
2006    Anne Norton       37
2007     Andy Latto     104
2008     Andy Latto     100
2009     Andy Latto       68
2010    Aran Warszawski       99
2011    Kyle Smith     112
2012    Randy Buehler     127

Euro Quest Event History
2006    Rod Spade     41
2007    Rob Kircher     33
2008    Raphael Lehrer     42
2009     Cliff Ackman     47
2010    Rob Kircher     37
2011     Jim Castonguay     45
2012    Sceadeau D'Tela     40


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Andy Latto         MA    12    124
  2.  Anne Norton        NJ    10     75
  3.  Rob Kircher        RI    11     72
  4.  Randy Buehler      WA    12     61
  5.  Amy Rule           MD    12     48
  6.  Kyle Smith         PA    12     42
  7.  Jim Castonguay     PA    11     42
  8.  Tom DeMarco        NJ    09     40
  9.  Raphael Lehrer     MD    08     32
 10.  Aran Warszawski    is    10     30
 11.  Rod Spade          MD    06     30
 12.  Alex Bove          PA    11     27
 13.  Nick Henning       CT    10     27
 14.  David Meyaard      CT    12     32
 15.  Sceadeau D'Tela    NC    12     23
 16.  Cliff Ackman       PA    09     20
 17.  Karl Henning       VT    09     18
 18.  Eric Brosius       MA    06     18
 19.  Phil Rennert       MD    06     18
 20.  Michael Thompson   PA    09     16
 21.  Daniel Eppolito    NV    11     15
 22.  Vien Bounma        NJ    12     12
 23.  Haim Hochboim      is    11     12
 24.  Steven LeWinter    NC    11     12
 25.  Romaine Jacques    qc    10     12
 26.  Sarah Beach        MD    09     12
 27.  Bill Murdock       NY    08     12
 28.  Charlie Kersten    OH    06      9
 29.  Phil Taylor        NJ    06      9
 30.  Robert Murray      NJ    12      8
 31.  Ray Pfeifer        MD    07      8
 32.  Chris Gnech        NJ    12      6
 33.  Cary Morris        NC    11      6
 34.  Mike Turian        WA    10      6
 35.  Arthur Field       SC    10      6
 36.  Tom Stokes         NJ    08      6
 37.  Tom Dunning        NY    08      6
 38.  Larry Loiacono     PA    07      6
 39.  Thomas Browne      PA    06      6
 40.  Sara Hagen         VA    06      6
 41.  Jay Fox            NJ    12      4
 42.  Bill Zurn          CA    10      4
 43.  Sean Vessey        VA    08      4
 44.  Ted Bohaczuk       PA    07      4
 45.  Skip Maloney       NY    07      4
 46.  Alexandra Henning  PA    11      3
 47.  Chad Weaver        PA    10      3
 48.  Ivan Lawson        MD    09      3
 49.  Jon Gemmell        CT    08      3
 50.  David Gagne        qc    06      3
 51.  Tom McCorry        VA    06      3
 52.  Hillary Smith      MD    12      2
 53.  Norman Rule        MD    10      2
 54.  Lee Mewshaw        MD    09      2

2012 Laurelists                                                Repeating Laurelists:

Amy Rule, MD

Andy Latto, MA

Vien Bounma, NJ

David Meyaard, NY

Jay Fox, NJ

Past Champions

Anne Norton, NJ

Andy Latto, MA

Aran Warszawski, Israel

Kyle Smith, PA

Randy Buehler, WA

Carol Haney and Emily Bacon

GM Andy Latto and Chris Kizer
Changing of the Guard ...

Better Late Than Never ...

A change to a 3-heat format for 2012 meant that either two wins or a win in the first heat entered and a second in another heat were needed to qualify for the semifinals. There was one no-show in the top 16, so five of the six players with a first-heat win and a second joined ten double winners and three-time winner Alex Bove in the semifinals. The competition was tough; the three former champions in attendance all qualified, along with two other former finalists, a 2-time Euroquest champion, and two former Euroquest semifinalists. That added up to half the field having been former players at a BPA Final.

The semifinals presented a difficult GM problem. Shortly after one of the games had concluded, the players realized that the winner, Randy Buehler, had used the Cartwright on his last turn despite having no cards in hand, while the rules specify that the Postmaster is the only option with an empty hand. Other players had not scored their final route, knowing that there would be another chance because Randy could not Cartwright (and then forgot this detail a moment later when he used the Cartwright anyway). Disqualifying Randy and awarding the win to the runner-up wasn't a reasonable option, because the score of the player who failed to score his final route, knowing that the game could not end, was artificially low. And the game could not be reconstructed accurately enough to determine what would have happened if Randy had made a legal move and the game continued. Perhaps the only thing that could be done would be to say that the time for correcting errors had expired when the score was agreed to by all, but it felt wrong to award the win based on an illegal move that gave a player a strong advantage. Finally, all the players in the semifinal agreed to call the game a "no result" and play a second game. Randy proved that his ability was not dependent on misunderstanding the rules, as he won the replay as well, and we had our four finalists, albeit much later. I commend all players in this semifinal for their sportsmanship in agreeing to what I think was the fairest resolution of a difficult situation.

But the replay delayed schedule, and those involved only agreed to replay if this would not conflict with their ability to play in the Saint Petersburg elimination rounds. So there was a break, while Amy GM'ed the aforementioned tournament and Randy and Vien played in it. I knew I had found the best solution to the problem when I had found a way to proceed where the only person inconvenienced by the solution was the fourth finalist and GM, me. While the other three finalists were free after the Saint Pete tournament (also won by Randy) was over, this meant that I would have to play and GM the Final of the Thurn and Taxis tournament while simultaneously GM'ing the Innovation tourney.

Occasionally, one player enjoys seemingly perfect luck and coasts to a win, but the Final was marked by bad luck for all four players. Vien had to discard a route, and this put him out of contention. All three of the other finalists at some point used the Administrator to discard six cards to get a look at six new ones, and found the choices poor enough that they opted to take a random card from the deck instead! The key moment came early, when Randy completed his third route; an 8-city monster that scored bonus chits for green, red-orange, and all colors, in addition to the 4-point chit for the first 7-city run. While Andy ultimately scored more bonus chits, Randy's were scored earlier, and counted more. Amy also had an impressive pile of scoring chits, but a couple of extra houses left unplayed spelled her demise, and Randy completed his busy day of winning the T&T semifinals, then winning them again because he didn't want to advance based on an illegal move, and winning the St. Pete tournament, by winning the championship in a 27-26-25 squeaker.

Once again the advantage was with players who went earlier in the turn order. Out of a total of 51 games played, 18, or 35.3 %, were won by those who went first and third, with only nine games, or 17.6 %, won by the fourth-place player. Combining this with data from three previous years, we have a total of 161 games, with first, second, third and fourth to play winning a total of 31%, 22.3%, 27.3% and 19.2% respectively. This is a large enough disparity that I will institute bidding victory points for seating order in the elimination rounds in the future.

Roni Breza and Eric Brosius

Jenn Mongold and Katherine McCorry
2012 Euro Quest Laurelists

Sceadeau D'Tela, PA

Kyle Smith, PA

Robert Murray, NJ

Chris Gnech, PA

Amy Rule, MD

 GM      Andy Latto (4th Year)  NA   508-369-4170

2012 Preview Page | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page