titan 2   

Updated Nov. 23, 2013

2013 WBC Report    

 2013 Status: pending 2013 GM commitment

Aaron Fuegi, MA

2013 Champion

Event History
1994    Paul Goliwas      26
1995    Bruno Wolff      26
1996    Brian Sutton      17
1997    Brian Sutton      29
1998    Ed Rothenheber      39
1999    Jason Ley     32
2000    Brian Sutton     36
2001    Andrew Gross     30
2002    Dan Strock     36
2003    Aaron Fuegi     25
2004    David des Jardins     24
2005    David des Jardins     24
2006    John Sharp III     26
2007     Sean McCulloch     22
2008    Aaron Fuegi     29
2009    David desJardins     30
2010    Aaron Fuegi     30
2011    Aaron Fuegi     24
2012    Michael Pustilnik     20
2013    Aaron Fuegi     25


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Aaron Fuegi        MA    13    235
  2.  David des Jardins  CA    13    179
  3.  Dan Strock         PA    13     91
  4.  Brian Sutton       MD    13     87
  5.  Jason Ley          WA    12     68
  6.  David Finberg      MA    11     57
  7.  Sean McCulloch     OH    10     57
  8.  Andrew Gross       WA    03     49
  9.  Ed Rothenheber     MD    12     33
 10.  John Sharp III     FL    06     32
 11.  Michael Pustilnik  NY    12     30
 12.  Clifford Smith     PA    05     28
 13.  David Platnick     VA    09     27
 14.  Bruno Wolff        WI    09     26
 15.  Jeff Cornett       FL    06     18
 16.  Steve Koleszar     VA    13     17
 17.  Bill Dufton        CA    02     16
 18.  Masahide Hisanaga  jp    07     12
 19.  Ben Foy            MD    02     12
 20.  Chuck Nail         GA    02     12
 21.  Larry Lingle       PA    01     12
 22.  Geoffrey Pounder   on    07      9
 23.  Dave Burkey        PA    04      4
 24.  Arthur Wines       PA    13      3
 25.  Akihisa Tabei      jp    10      3
 26.  Nick Page          on    08      3
 27.  Rick Northey       MA    05      3
 28.  Jason Russ         VA    99      2

2013 Laurelists                                          Repeating Laurelists:

David des Jardins, CA

Dan Strock, PA

Steve Koleszar, VA

Brian Sutton, MD

Arthur Wines, PA

Past Winners

Paul Goliwas, MD

Bruno Wolff, WI

Brian Sutton, MD
1996-1997, 2000

Ed Rothenheber, MD

Jason Ley, WA

Andrew Gross, WA

Dan Strock, PA

Aaron Fuegi, MA
2003, 2008, 2010-11, 2013

David des Jardins, CA
2004-2005, 2009

John Sharp III, FL

Sean McCulloch, OH

Michael Pustilnik, NY

Marc Berenbach vs Dave des Jardins

Aaron Fuegi vs Steve Koleszar

 Dave Finberg vs Sean McCulloch

 Ed Rothenheber vs Justin Thompson as Grant Dalgliesh observes.

Mutual Destruction as a Strategy ...

6s and mutuals are part of 2-player Titan lore. It often helps to roll consecutive 6s at the beginning of a match. Steve Koleszar rolled four 6s in a row at the start of his quarterfinal game against 2007 champ Sean McCulloch and won the game on the next roll. Julie Ehlers also rolled four 6s to start her Round 1 game vs Bruno Wolff, but this did not lead to an immediate win. The game ended only after both players had gained titan teleport and Julie rolled another 6 to teleport into the last battle. More on mutual eliminations will be forthcoming shortly.

6s are also hits in all battles against all opponents. Failure to roll a hit can turn a battle. In his semifinal against David desJardins, Steve entered with a superior stack, titan, two behemoths, two gorgons and a warlock against David's wyvern, three rangers and three trolls. Failure to get timely hits swung the tide of the battle and Steve lost his titan and the match in a battle he was favored to win. In another example of probability distribution and the "tail," Aaron Fuegi moved two wyverns next to a ranger and had a hydra range strike, 19 dice total needing either a 5 or a 6 to hit, and hit the ranger only once.

In the semifinal between Aaron and Dan Strock, Dan was ahead on points and his 8-high titan caught Aaron's 7-high titan. Aaron defended with two hydras, two griffons, a guardian and a lion. In support, Dan had four gorgons, a behemoth and a Cyclops. The Cyclops was left off the board to ensure a spot for the angel upon summoning. The battle came down to titan vs titan and both rolled enough hits to cut down the opponent. When a mutual occurs, there is a single roll to determine the winner. It would be too time consuming to ask the participants to play the match over again. Dan rolled and lost the rolloff, sending Aaron to the Final.

The Final was a nine-hour marathon between Aaron and David, with neither opponent able to gain an advantage. By the time the final titan on titan battle took place, David attacked with a 10-high titan against Aaron's 11-high titan. Aaron defended in the swamp with two hydras, a griffon, a ranger and a warlock. David attacked with three hydras, a griffon and a warlock. David had an angel to summon; Aaron had the fourth turn recruit of a Hydra. In the next to last round, Aaron moved and placed a hydra on a hydra, a hydra on the angel, and his titan on the warlock. The two hydras each scored nine hits on each other in two strikes. Aaron's hydra killed the angel in two blows, receiving seven hits damage in return. The titan killed the warlock in a blow, but the warlock earlier had range struck the titan for two and now, with two more, put Aaron up to four. David's unwounded titan moved in, with ten dice to get seven hits for the win. Only four resulted, putting Aaron at eight out of 11. Aaron struck for five hits, moved in the hydra that had finished off the angel and completed the task. David easily got the last three hits for the mutual. Since David was the attacker, he rolled the dice. Not enough hits were scored, so Aaron won on the mutual rolloff, becoming the first champion to have a mutual in each of his last two games, and with the further unusual result that he was the defender in both final battles.

If its true that you have to be good to contend and lucky to win, Aaron has now been lucky five times.

Jonathan Barnes vs Brian Sutton

GM Rich Atwater watches his finalists in action.

 GM      Rich Atwater  [10th Year]  NA 
    kmarma@comcast.net   NA

2013 Previews | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page