Updated Nov. 16, 2015

2015 WBC Report

2016 Status: pending
December 2015
Membership Trial Vote

Jim Kramer, PA

2015 Champion

Event History

2001 Peter Staab 54
2002 Kevin Youells 36
2003 Ken Gutermuth 44
2004 Arthur Field 44
2005 Arthur Field 48
2006 Thomas Browne 52
2007 Bruce Reiff 40
2008 Bruce Reiff 45
2009 Bruce Reiff 40
2010 Bruce Reiff 48
2011 Sean McCulloch 40
2012 Sean McCulloch 36
2013 Sean McCulloch 40
2014 Bruce Reiff 48
2015 Jim Kramer 44


Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
  1.  Bruce Reiff        OH    14    117
  2.  Sean McCulloch     OH    14     96
  3.  Arthur Field       SC    09     52
  4.  Aaron Fuegi        MA    14     52
  5.  Kevin Youells      FL    10     36
  6.  Ken Gutermuth      TX    05     36
  7.  Barrington Beavis  uk    11     30
  8.  Peter Staab        PA    01     30
  9.  Chris Yaure        PA    11     22
 10.  Jim Kramer         PA    15     20
 11.  Jason Levine       NY    10     20
 12.  Thomas Browne      PA    06     20
 13.  Jonathan Miller    DC    02     18
 14.  John Leggat        CA    01     18
 15.  James Tyne         NJ    07     18
 16.  Samantha Berk      OH    15     16
 17.  Kate Taillon       SC    09     16
 18.  Lyman Moquin       DC    15     12
 19.  Michael Sosa       FL    15     12
 20.  Rob Kilroy         PA    14     12
 21.  Brad Raszewski     MD    13     12
 22.  Jeff Mullet        OH    12     12
 23.  Bill Banks         KY    07     12
 24.  Mike Nagel         NJ    05     12
 25.  Andrew Cummins     uk    01     12
 26.  Gordon Rodgers     PA    15     10
 27.  Cliff Ackman       PA    01      9
 28.  Greg Staton        PA    15      8
 29.  Steve Raszewski    PA    12      8
 30.  Eric Filipkowski   MD    11      8
 31.  Craig Melton       VA    10      8
 32.  Greg Kulp          NJ    07      8
 33.  Keith Schoose      CA    05      8
 34.  Austin Walzl       VA    08      6
 35.  Andy Latto         MA    06      6
 36.  Richard Irving     CA    04      6
 37.  Carol Caler        PA    03      6
 38.  Kaarin Engelmann   VA    01      6
 39.  Chris Greenfield   NY    14      4
 40.  David Rennert      MD    13      4
 41.  Doug Galullo       MD    12      4
 42.  Rob Kircher        RI    11      4
 43.  Eric Kleist        MD    08      4
 44.  Alan Kaiser        OH    06      4
 45.  Stuart Tucker      MD    04      4
 46.  Lance Fogel        PA    03      3
 47.  Gordon Elgart      CA    01      3
 48.  William Austin     VA    14      2
 49.  Matthew McCracken  PA    13      2
 50.  Joseph Yaure       PA    09      2
 51.  David Burkey       PA    08      2
 52.  Mike Stanley       OH    06      2
 53.  Tom Powell-Bullock OH    05      2
 54.  Laurie Wojtaszcyk  NY    04      2
2015 Laurelists Returning Laurelists: 0

Lyman Moquin, DC

Greg Staton, PA

Michael Sosa, DE

Samantha Berk, PA

Gordon Rodgers, PA

Past Winners

Peter Staab, PA

Kevin Youells, FL

Ken Gutermuth, TX

Arthur Field, SC

Tom Browne, PA

Bruce Reiff, OH
2007-10, 2014

Sean McCulloch, OH

Jim Kramer, PA

Attendance remains stable for
our longest running trial event.

Natasha Metzger vs Steve Packwood

The winners of the last eight tournaments wear their "Loser" brands.

GM McCulloch overcomes his shame
to watch the real finalists.

The Ballad of Big Jim Kramer ...

Big Jim Kramer walked into the Marietta Room one stormy Friday and surveyed the land. “This looks like a likely spot for a game of cards,” he thought to himself as he pawed his graying beard. He moseyed up to the table and asked to play a hand or two. The barkeep, an imposing man named Reiff, exclaimed “Whoa there, partner! This here’s the Battle Line tourney. Can’t say as I’ve seen you here before. Don’t you know that for nigh on ten years, this plaque has been the property of the Ohio gang? Do you think to challenge us, sonny?”

Big Jim gave Reiff a steady stare, and said “Mayhap.”

Reiff snorted and said “You’ve got gumption, sonny, I’ll give you that. Your first games are in the back. Escape those, and maybe I’ll see you in the Final.”

Big Jim moseyed to the back, to his first game where he was paired against the GM himself, Sean McCulloch. “Reiff’s the face of the Ohio gang, but I run things now. Let me show you how we do things here, stranger”.

I’m sad to say that it was a dark time for Big Jim. He forgot that a flush loses to three of a kind, and took his beatings. He emerged bloodied, but game for his next challenge. He wouldn’t lose again.

Next up was the bearded menace, Rabid Rob Kilroy who had taken third last year. Big Jim dispatched Rabid Rob with such ease that Rob found new respect for the new gun in town. “I like your style, stranger”, he said. “Tell you what—I’ll take out some of the Ohio gang for you”. And so he did, eliminating that fiend McCulloch in the very next game, allowing Big Jim to defeat Chase Johnson and emerge from the group of four victorious.

Meanwhile, on the other side of the room, another commotion was heard. As we all know, pride goeth before the fall, and the pride of the Ohio gang took another blow as Reiff was taken down by a young lass named Sara Ward. I wasn’t there to see it, but the stories that are told say that she looked him in the eye, and said in a steady voice “Your Ohio gang has run things for too long!”, and shot him dead with a breakthrough.

Sensing an end to the depravities of the Ohio gang, encouraged challengers emerged from their groups to join Big Jim and Miss Sara in search of the town’s wood. Bjorn von Knorring, Gordon Rodgers, Paul Owen, Brad Raszewski, Lyman Moquin, Michael Sosa, Samantha Berk, Greg Staton, and Thomas Tu all advanced to stake their claim in the coming elimination rounds.

Big Jim met his first opponents: Brad Raszewski, and Samantha Berk, who in past years saw their hopes dashed at the hands of the Ohio gang. The demise of the Ohio gang made no difference…the result was the same, as Big Jim dispatched them in order. Meanwhile, a plaintive cry was heard from the next table—it was young Sara Ward, who had fallen victim to another stranger…Greg Staton. “I’ll avenge ye, miss”, drawled Big Jim, who rose with fire in his eyes. And so the semifinal against Greg was set. Big Jim got his promised vengeance, then had to await his last challeng upon the result of an epic struggle between Sosa and Moquin. Moquin started strong with several high card straight flushes, but Sosa battled back, before falling.

A hush settled over the Marietta room as the two finalists stared at their cards. A tumbleweed blew across the tables. Then, quick as a flash, Lyman drew first blood. But Big Jim was crafty, and saw that in his zeal to score the first hit, Lyman bared his flank Big Jim exposed the opening, forcing Lyman into ever more desperate defensive maneuvers. Lyman threw down tactics cards to escape, but Big Jim calmly responded with the correct counter tactics. ┬áIn the end, there was but one man left standing. As Big Jim sauntered off into the sunset to collect his plaque, there were mutterings from the Ohio gang. Before he stepped out the door, he was stopped by a call from that petty black-hearted rogue, McCulloch, who shouted “We’ll see you next year! Don’t you forget it was I who gave you your only defeat!” The journeyman shrugged, and with a twinkle in his eye, silently walked away savoring his first WBC title.

(Thanks to everyone who played, and congrats to Jim Kramer! I’m going to post the transcript of the Final to the Battle Line folder on Boardgamegeek. Hope to see you all next year at the new saloon!)

GM Sean McCulloch [1st year] NA NA

2015 Previews | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page