WBC After Action Report and Top Centurions
Sneak Peek of WBC Winners

WBC Event Winners
WBC Event Reports

WBC Yearbooks
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Medals
WBC Boardmasters


Command and Colors Ancients (CCA) WBC 2017 Report
Updated February 21, 2018 Icon Key
28 Players Bill O'Neal 2017 Status 2018 Status Event History
2016-2017 Champion Click box for details. Click box for details.

O'Neal stays on top of Ancients

This year we had 28 players contend for the title. This meant after the first round of 7 pods where everyone is guaranteed 3 games we would drop to 8 players and go into single elimination. So winning your pod was more critical for advancing as only 1 second place would advance. We actually had two pod winners drop which would prove very fortuitous for the lucky dogs of Bill O’Neal and Michael Vanya.

Zama was used for all three games in the pod. Side selection was handled by players bidding victory banners. Rome won overall 28-12-2, but if one had to bid a banner to play Rome, the odds were in Carthage’s favor 9-7 instead of 21-3-2 with no banners.

Next came the single elimination portion. These were two match battles between the same two players who were seeded by their preliminary round results. The battle for the quarterfinals was Argigentum.

The first quarterfinal saw Brian Conlon vs. Michael Vanya. Both won as the Romans, but Michael was the better Carthagians 3-2. In the 2nd quarterfinal, Marc DePaul faced off against Bill O’Neal. Bad luck for Marc who had defeated Bill in the opening round to draw him again. Bill won as both sides to advance. Mike Stanley faced Sam Gattoin quarterfinal #3. Mike won as both sides to advance. The final quarterfinal was Joe Harrison vs. Chris Crane. Joe also won as both sides.

The three previous champions who made it to the quarters all advanced and they were joined by Mike Stanley who would break his laurel drought in this event. The semifinals battle was Magnesia from the first expansion. Bill O’Neal took on. Mike Stanley in the first semifinal. Bill took the Selecuids in the first battle and took a 7-5 victory. The Selecuids won the second battle as well but Bill was able to collect 7 banners as the Romans and won 13-12. In the second semifinal, Joe Harrison battled Michael Vanya. Joe being the higher seed selected to play the Romans first. We won 8-3. In the rematch, Joe captured 4 banners and Michael honorably conceded defeat.

The final battle was Gaugemala from the first expansion. Before the seminal battles began, the players were asked and all agreed to carry on the new tradition raised the year before by the players that since the event is a 3, the vanquished would battle it out on the battlefield for the third place wood.

In the third place match, Mike took the Macedonians in the first battle and eked out a 7-6 victory. In the rematch, Michael was able to hold Mike off just that much for a 7-5 victory and an overall win 13-12. The battles were so close the total number of blocks killed which was the first tie-breaker was 50-53. Congratulations to Michael and he owes his ride Marc DePaul an assist for hanging out.

So it was all down to the finals. Joe Harrison, one time champion, versus four time and current defending champion Bill O’Neal in a rematch of the 2014 finals which Joe won. Joe selected to play Macedonians first. Joe won 7-5. However, Bill’s Macedonians proved to be the strongest of the day and achieved a 7-3 victory to give Bill his fifth championship in the 12 years of the event.

So in the end, the championship and third place went to players who were able to advance when two pod winners didn’t play on. Sometimes it takes more than the dice gods to be on your side. Also, it pays to stick around and see if alternates are needed.

2017 Laurelists Repeating Laurelists: 3
Joe Harrison Michael Vanya Michael Stanley Brian Conlon Marc DePaul
2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
The Ancient battles begin Battling at the Foggy Goggle
Mike Stanley moves from Napoleonics to Ancients Command & Colors: Ancients Finalists
with GM Andy Lewis
GM  Andy Lewis [11th Year] NA
 alewis161@mchsi.com NA