WBC After Action Report and Top Centurions
Sneak Peek of WBC Winners

WBC Event Winners
WBC Event Reports

WBC Yearbooks
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Medals
WBC Boardmasters


Championship Formula Racing (CFR) WBC 2017 Report
Updated March 20, 2018 Icon Key
30 Players Kevin Keller 2017 Status 2018 Status History/Laurels
2017 Champion Click box for details. Click box for details.

New Championship Formula Racing Replaces Its Predecessor Speed Circuit

Over three days at WBC, 30 drivers competed to qualify for the final on day 4. There were several new faces, due to the re-release of the game under the new name, Championship Formula Racing. And all of the familiar faces from the years as Speed Circuit were in attendance as well. By the time the dust settled on the final race, it was Kevin Keller who took home the win yet again, for a record fourth time.

The first qualifying heat’s tracks were well-rounded: Mexico and Sao Paulo. The second day’s tracks were an eclectic mix: Istanbul, Monte Carlo, and Melbourne. The final qualifying heat tracks were Rouen, Monza, and Hockenheim, with lots of three-wide straights.

The Final track was Sochi, which debuted in one of the qualifying heats last year. The track itself was three wide for the entire race, which is a bit atypical. However, there are several really tricky spots both at the beginning and the end which require some smart navigation.

The first lap saw several people challenging for the lead early on. Jim, Chris, Kevin, Randy, and Josh all jumped around in the lead pack. As we headed into the second lap, Kevin out-pushed the others down the straight and then Randy got jammed in the second corner which ended up stuffing Chris and Jim as well. This ended up being decisive by the end of the game, because with no one to continue challenging Kevin, he was able to leverage his remaining wear and stay a turn ahead of everyone else.

Meanwhile in the chase pack, Don ran a slow and steady race, spending wear conservatively and saving up for the final lap. This would have worked out even better if Kevin hadn’t run away from all challengers. But even still, Don was able to leverage that wear advantage into second place. Brian, Tim, and Bruno all caught up to a damaged Chris at the final corner of the last lap. There weren’t enough spots for everyone in the corner, so Tim spun and Chris crashed, both in an attempt for third place. Third wound up going to Brian, and Bruno came away with fourth to round out the plaque winners.

2017 Laurelists Repeating Laurelists: 3
Don Tatum Brian DeWitt Bruno Passacantando Tim Mossman Randy Needham
2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
This race has the cars spread out What should I play next?
This track has some tight turns Championship Formula Racing Finalists
GM  Chris Long [5th Year]  NA
 chris.long@gmail.com  610-223-6420