WBC After Action Report and Top Centurions
Sneak Peek of WBC Winners

WBC Event Winners
WBC Event Reports

WBC Yearbooks
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Medals
WBC Boardmasters


Broadhorns (BRH) WBC 2018 Event Report
Updated October 17, 2018
29 Players John Coussis 2018 Status 2019 Status History/Laurels
  2018 Champion   Click box for details. Click box for details.

Mississippi Trade Routes Lead to Seven Springs

Broadhorns, the new Rio Grande Games title about trading on the Mississippi, made its debut at the 2018 WBC. As a new game, the demo was well-attended, and the GM also provided quick instruction to additional players before each heat. Although there were many rules questions, the only actual dispute arose in the final. Rounds started promptly thanks to registration help provided by the AGM, Deb Yaure.

The first heat comprised 22 players and 6 tables, four with 4 players and two with 3 players. Heat winners were Pete Staab (77 points), David Borton (72, biggest margin at 19 points), Peggy Pfeifer (68), Luke Koleszar (65), Diane Mountford (61, smallest margin at 4 points and only 15 points separating 1st from 4th), and John Coussis (58). Heat two had 19 players, including 7 new players, for five games, one with 3 players. Three of the returning players had won their first heat and decided to play again – perhaps for more practice, or maybe just because they enjoyed the game. Second heat winners were Curt Collins II (79, 19 point margin), Bruce Bernard (75), Mike Polcen (64), Diane (52, only two-heat winner, again the closest game with a 1-point margin), and Mike Horne (51).

A game of Broadhorns ends the round the 16th city is fully supplied with goods. As a result, the number of player turns is similar regardless of the number of players, but the number of turns per player, and thus typical scores, is higher with fewer players. Three of the five highest scores in the heats were in 3-player games; Curt’s top score of 79 is more impressive in that it came in a 4-player game.

With 29 entrants, the semifinals were limited to the top 14 players in four games. Eight of the ten heat winners appeared for the semifinal, along with one qualifier with a 2nd place. Only four alternates showed up, so we went forward with 13 semifinalists. The winners were Bruce (84, 11 points ahead of Curt), John (19 points over Jack Wolff), Diane (68, 3 points over Tricia Wolff; once again Diane’s was the closest game), and Peggy (58, 8 points over Pete). All four winners played in both heats – clearly the extra experience helped.

The final ended quicker than some of the players anticipated and resulted in the largest margin of victory of the tournament. John scored 61 points to win by 21 over Bruce (40). The battle for 3rd was close, Diane (31) taking it by 1 point over Peggy (30). In addition to the first place plaque, John received a copy of the cover art signed by the game designer, Jim Harmon.

2018 Laurelists Repeating Laurelists: N/A

Bruce Bernard Diane Mountford Peggy Pfeifer Jack Wolff Curt Collins II
2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
GM Chris Yaure teaching Broadhorns to players



GM    Chris Yaure [1st Year]   NA