WBC After Action Report and Top Centurions
Sneak Peek of WBC Winners

WBC Event Winners
WBC Event Reports

WBC Yearbooks
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Medals
WBC Boardmasters


Pericles: The Peloponessian Wars (PER) WBC 2018 Event Report
Updated November 16, 2018
23 Players Jonathan Squibb 2018 Status 2019 Status Event History
  2018 Champion   & Laurels

Pericles Debuts At WBC

This year was the inaugural running of the Pericles (GMT Games 2017) tournament. Twenty-three competitors refought the two-turn tournament Archidamian War scenario in three rounds. Due to the two faction versus two faction nature of the design Players who won the game received 3 tournament points, low faction score for the winning side and top score for the losing side received 1 tournament point, with a one tournament point bonus if the high score was on the losing side of the war.

In the first and second rounds Brian Mountford scored 6 tournament points with Aurelia Albert, Jonathan Squibb, and Evan Harris scoring 4 tournament points to edge out a strong field to make the finals.

The final confrontation saw Jonathan Squibb (Aristocrats) and Aurelia Albert (Demagogues) of Athens take on Brian Mountford (Eurypontids) and Evan Harris (Agiads). In the first of two six year turns both sides declared war on each other with the main action focused in the West (Aetolia, Corcyra, and Sicily). While Athens won several battles the Spartans tenuously held onto Sicily. The score at the end of the first turn was Athens 34 to Sparta’s 17 (Demagogues 22/Aristocrats 12, Agiads 13/Eurypontids 4). Any score that is less than twenty points difference is very close in Pericles.

Due to the Spartan defeats in turn 1 a Peace party had arisen in Sparta that led to an early Peace with Jonathan Squibb (Athens Aristocrats) reaping the benefits from the cessation of hostilities to edge out Aurelia Albert by 4 points for the victory. I look forward to seeing my stalwart Greeks in the second running of this tournament in 2019.

2018 Laurelists Repeating Laurelists: N/A

Aurelia Allbert Brian Mountford Evan Harris Richard Beyma Chris Byrd
2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
A look at a new WBC addition. Runner-up Aurelia Allbert dressed for the occasion.
GM Mark Herman teching some of the
WBC veterans his new game.



GM    Mark Herman [1st Year]   NA