WBC After Action Report and Top Centurions
Sneak Peek of WBC Winners

WBC Event Winners
WBC Event Reports

WBC Yearbooks
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Medals
WBC Boardmasters


18XX (8XX) WBC 2019 Event Report
Updated September 23, 2019.
63 Players Bruce Beard 2019 Status 2020 Status History/Laurels
  2013-2019 Champion   Click box for details. Click box for details.

18xx Continues To Increase In Attendance

The 2019 running of the 18xx tournament at the World Boardgaming Championships (WBC) shared a lot of similarity with past events, the most important being great sportsmanship and fun gaming. The field of players was truly international (there were 31 countries with players attending the WBC this year) and we continue to grow the number of 18xx tournament participants (63) and total games played (45) over the course of three days.

The format was like previous years with 2 rounds played each day on Saturday and Sunday leading to Semifinal and Final/Consolation games on Monday. The eligible games for this year were 1822 (5 plays 2 of which were the Mexico version), 1830 (7), 1846 (14), 1861/67 (3), 1862 (1), 1880 (4), 18CZ (1) and 18NY (2). The final round on Sunday any 18xx that had at least four players interested could be played. This year games of 1817 and 18Cheaspeke were played.

Twenty-nine different people won games during the heats, with 7 multi-heat winners. The Robber Barron Award for largest margin of victory went to Barrington Beavis at 45.2% in his bankruptcy win of 1830. The “Bank Error in your Favor” award for smallest margin of victory went to Matt Clark ($10,434) who beat Kevin Rice ($10,323) for a winning margin of 1.1% in their game of 1822. We nominated York Dobyns for the Sportsmanship Award this year for his incredible grace in his very first 1822 game. York quickly grasped the mechanics of the game but unfortunately got caught with too many minors when an aggressive train rush started. There is no bankruptcy in 1822 and York played the entire game despite a significant loan debt that was not retired by game’s end. He took everything in stride and remained engaged in the game throughout with not one complaint.

At the start of the semifinals, 25 of the 29 heat winners appeared passing tie-breaker number 1 (You must be present to participate.) That meant 4 heat winners did not make the cut based on number of wins and personal round of first win. The four semifinal games played were 1822, 1830, 1846, and 1861. Emerging victorious from the semifinals were Bruce Beard (1861), Michael Brazinski (1830), Jay Anderson (1822), and Anthony Lainesse (1846).

The Consolation Game for the 5th and 6th place plaques was 1830 played by Mark Geary, Akihisa Tabei, David Hewitt, and Eric Brosius. Unlike the finalists, the game went to the very end with Akihisa claiming 5th place overall and 18xx designer and Chattanooga Rail Gaming Challenge organizer Mark Derrick claiming the coveted 6th place “Sand Plaque”.

The Final game of 1830 ended quickly in a bankruptcy when frequent finalist Anthony took a gamble that the other players made sure did not pay off. Once again congratulations go to Bruce Beard for going undefeated in the six rounds, playing 5 different titles (1846 x2, 1861, 1867, 1880, 1830) against 17 different opponents. This marks his 14th tournament win in the last 15 years.

Thanks to all the participants and we look forward to an even bigger turnout next year and maybe even a new champion at the top (or not)!

2019 Laurelists Repeating Laurelists: 2

Jay Anderson Michael Brazinski Anthony Lainesse Akihisa Tabei Mark Derrick
2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th

Former GM Pierre LeBeouf watches as 1846
game progresses.

Finalist Jon Anderson in 1846 game.

Bill Peeck examining the board in 1822.

Rick Dutton is all smiles in his 1846 game.

Finalist Anthony Lainesse finds time to check
messages in 1830 game.
GM     Tom McCorry [6th Year]   NA
   tommccorry@gmail.com    NA