WBC After Action Report and Top Centurions
Sneak Peek of WBC Winners

WBC Event Winners
WBC Event Reports

WBC Yearbooks
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Medals
WBC Boardmasters


18XX (8XX) WBC 2022 Event Report
Updated February 13, 2023
53 Players Bruce Beard 2022 Status 2023 Status History/Laurels
  2022 Champion   Click box for details. Click box for details.

Beard Continues His Reign over 18xx

The 2022 edition of the WBC 18xx tournament, after a two-year hiatus, featured 53 competitors which was a decrease of 10 from the 2019 tournament. We had 24 returning players who competed in 2019. We missed some of our regular international players (Herbert Gratz from Austria who passed away unexpectedly, Antero Kuusi and Mikaela Kumlander from Finland) but we also welcomed many first-time participants.

We played 40 games over the course of the tournament versus the 45 games played in 2019. By far, the most popular title was 1846 with 15 plays (same as 2019). Next was 1830 with 8 plays (down from 10). 1822MRS, 1861/67 and 1880 were each played three times (1880 was played in two of the semifinal games). 1848, 1862, and 18NY each had two plays. For the evening heats, any 18xx title is eligible to be played but only two games were selected: 18EU on Saturday night and 18USA on Sunday night.

After the first four heats were completed, there were many familiar names at the top of the leader board. Bruce Beard was a perfect 4-0-0-0 after playing 4 different titles (18NY, 1846, 1861, 1867) against 11 different people. François de Bellefeuille was also 4-0-0-0, playing 1830 in all four heats also against 11 different people. Rounding out the top 4 was Anthony Lainesse at 3-1-0-0 and Eric Brosius at 3-0-0-0. We had one very rare occurrence in the opening heats: an outright tie for first place. Kevin Rice and Chris Rericha both scored £10,610 in their game of 1822MRS. Luckily a tiebreaker was not needed to advance to the semi-finals, but we will add a tie breaker for next year to the official rules in case of a reoccurrence.

The semi-finals had 18 competitors (we had room for two more players in the semi-finals, but tie-breaker number 1 applied – you must be present to participate). Two tables chose 1880 and two tables chose 1846 which marked the first time 1830 was not played in the semi-final. Bruce played his fifth title, 1880 against three new players, and kept his perfect streak alive. François ended up in a non-1830 game (1846) which didn’t stop him from also going undefeated. They were joined by Mason Rouser (1-2-1-1) and Kelly Krieble (2-0-1-0).

For the finals, the players chose 1830. And to no major surprise, Bruce Beard took the tournament win going against 3 new to him players which brought his tournament total to wins in 6 different games played against 17 different players (32% of the total field). François, Kelly, and Mason rounded out the Top 4. In the hotly contested consolation game for 5th and 6th place in the tournament, Anthony Lainesse snuck by Chris Rericha by $74 to take 5th place. Chris’ consolation was earning the coveted Sand Plaque for 6th place.

We look forward to a bigger field next year. The impact of the 18xx.games website was noticed during the tournament in both attendance and the gameplay. There was a request to ‘log’ the finals match next year on 18xx.games which we will consider.

Thanks to everyone who participated!

2022 Laurelists Repeating Laurelists: 2

Francois de Bellefeuille Kelly Krieble Mason Rouser Anthony Lainesse Chris Rericha
2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th

1846 Game with GM Tom McCorry and 2nd place
finisher Francois de Bellefeuille.

18EU game with Eric Brosius.

Movingto the late game in 1846.

Dave Long tries to dethrone the champion in 18China.
GM     Tom McCorry [7th Year]