WBC After Action Report and Top Centurions
Sneak Peek of WBC Winners

WBC Event Winners
WBC Event Reports

WBC Yearbooks
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Event History and Laurels
WBC Medals
WBC Boardmasters


Catan (CTN) WBC 2022 Event Report
Updated March 23, 2023
71 Players Ryan Romanik 2022 Status 2023 Status Event History
2022 Champion & Laurels

Romanik Becomes First 2-Time Winner Of Catan!

It was nice to see familiar faces back at the tournament after three years. We had 17 tables in the first round, 13 in the second, and 8 tables of competitors in the third. When the dust settled, no one had three wins, but three had two wins and a second place: Matt Lahut, Bob Wicks Jr, and Herman Dupre.

Everyone with two wins advanced to the semi-finals, as did everyone with a win and two second places. Of the 10 people who had a win and a second, four made it in based on tiebreakers.

Matt Lahut won the first semi-final by two points over Russ Burden. Jamie Tang took the second semi with Bob Wicks and Steve Scott just one back. Anne Norton won the third game by three over Kirk Porteous. Ryan Romanik filled out the final table with a three-point win over Natasha Metzger.

The final had the usual die roll anomalies with a very productive 4 forest and many rolls of 11 that no one had a settlement on. The tournament rules came in handy clarifying that trades cannot exchange the same resource type. That trade thwarted, eventually a settlement was built that used eight ore.

Ryan Romanik won by playing a knight to claim Largest Army, building two roads to claim Longest Road, and having two victory point cards. Anne Norton was second with 7 points and Jamie Tang and Matt Lahut were at 6 points. Congratulations to Ryan for becoming the first 2-time winner of the event!

2022 Laurelists Repeating Laurelists: 1
Anne Norton Matt Lahut Jamie Tang Bob Wicks Steve Scott
2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th
GM  Rich Shipley [7th Year]