Updated Nov. 12, 2014

2014 WBC Report  

 2015 Status: pending 2015 GM commitment

James Pei, VA

2014 Champion


Event History
2012    Daniel Hoffman    42
2013    Daniel Hoffman    36
2014    James Pei    40


 Rank  Name              From  Last  Total
   1.  Daniel Hoffman     NC    13     80
   2.  James Pei          VA    14     48
   3.  Lyman Moquin       DC    14     28
   4.  Tom Drueding       MA    14     28
   5.  James DuBose       NY    14     24
   6.  Ewan McNay         NY    13     24
   7.  Rob Winslow        NY    12     24
   8.  David Metzger      NY    13     16
   9.  Scott Burns        uk    13     12
  10.  Lachlan Salter     on    12     12
  11.  Todd Treadway      VA    14      8
  12.  Jeff Burdett       NY    14      4
  13.  Graeme Tate        uk    13      4

2014 Laurelists
Repeating Laurelists:  

James DuBose, NY

Lyman Moquin, DC

Tom Drueding, MA

Todd Treadway, VA

Jeff Burdett, NY

Past Winners

Daniel Hoffman, NC

James Pei, VA

 Jacob Shor is one of four victims of finalist James DuBose.

the master again ...

Attendance remained stable - a good sign in the era of fascination with the cult of the new. With the 2nd edition published, there were no game shortages, and nobody was turned away without a match.

After three rounds, five players remained unscathed with perfect 3-0 records, allowing eight to advance to the elimination rounds.

The Sekigahara tournament was again distinguished by an unusual array of prizes. James DuBose won a statue of Toyotomi Hideyoshi for winning the largest battles, averaging 85 impact in his victorious confrontations. (Others won big battles, but nobody came close to this monster figure.) Todd Treadway won a samurai horseman for killing the most enemy leaders -- 7 in his last three games. (There was a 3-way tie for this mark, but Todd won the tiebreaker.) About 15 competitors won 'honor prizes' for winning their third round game, regardless of the outcome of their first two matches.

Leader selection was almost balanced between Tokugawa and Ishida, with a slight preference for Tokugawa. The two sides finished about equally in match play, as well, though several players expressed a strong preference one way or the other.

In the semifinals, James Pei and Lyman Moquin fought an epic battle that turned on a 5th-week clash at Gifu castle James won with 47 impact to Lyman's 44. James DuBose defeated Tom Drueding in a tough match, in the other semi. (Tom had earlier denied defending champion Daniel Hoffman, breaking an epic 10 game winning streak in tournament play. Daniel's 3-year WBC record is still an intimidating 12-1.)

For the Final, Pei took Tokugawa (for a bid of zero) and DuBose took Ishida. The early turns favored Pei, with Tokugawa winning castles and resource areas in every turn (until the end). BuDose carefully recruited a third gun unit into the Uesugi army and held fast on the northern fringe the whole game.

Throughout the game, despite being down in cards and units, DuBose tenaciously found ways to stay alive. When the final turn arrived, he still had a shot to win the match. In the last half of the concluding week, Pei led, as he had all game, but DuBose would have the last shot to capture castles and resources. Tokugawa forces gambled on a major battle at the Tokaido-Nakasendo crossroads, hoping to catch Ishida in person, but he was not to be found. That left the flanks open for opportunistic attacks, and three such avenues were now wide open -- win all three and DuBose would have a stunning comeback victory.

Two of the three battles were simple, but on the other, DuBose's forces were vulnerable (he could launch a winning attack, but not defend it against a loyalty challenge). At precisely the right moment, Pei played such a loyalty challenge and reversed the critical game-deciding battle. On the last turn of the game, it had come down to a single victory point, and the deciding battle down to a single card, but Pei held on to be the 2014 Sekigahara champion. For James DuBose, who played an extraordinary tournament, an incredible comeback fell just short.

The GM (and designer) generously supported the event with unique prizes beyond mere wood.

Walter MacEachern and Frank McNally battle in the preliminaries. A total of 53 games were played in the event.

 GM     Matt Calkins  [2nd Year]   NA   NA 

2014 Previews | View the Icon Key | Return to main BPA page